aubrey

First Time Home Reno

hiya aubrey, pinkpetter & FLY,

Thanks for the advices, i had immediately dumped the current ID n went on to approach another ID ler.

this time we settle on Baroque D.zign....we feel alot comfortable with this new ID.

no rush, very paitent, no hard selling, its great.

though din manage to squeeze in cooker n hod n air-con hahaha.

good to know u are happy with them! just rmb to ask all u want before signing.

what do you mean squeeze in cooker n hod n air-con? like throw in FOC? :notti:

good to know u are happy with them! just rmb to ask all u want before signing.

what do you mean squeeze in cooker n hod n air-con? like throw in FOC? :notti:

Hi aubrey, finally can log into the forum ler.

yup u r rite, i was trying to get him to throw the cooker n hod for FOC (aggresive rite) hahaha.

in the end it didnt work..so no choice got to buy the cooker n hod on our own lor.

for the air-con we managed to get him to throw in at a very low price for systemx3.

the renovation work just stated last week...hopfully the reno workd can go smoothly hee

Hi aubrey, finally can log into the forum ler.

yup u r rite, i was trying to get him to throw the cooker n hod for FOC (aggresive rite) hahaha.

in the end it didnt work..so no choice got to buy the cooker n hod on our own lor.

for the air-con we managed to get him to throw in at a very low price for systemx3.

the renovation work just stated last week...hopfully the reno workd can go smoothly hee

hey shogen, saw your tblog. u are talking about installation cost of the actual hood & hob? if its hood and hob then.. :bow: so the air con he throw in for?? wow shogen u are really aggressive.. i shld use your tactics soon.. :D

well the air-con cost ard $1980 for systemx3. but we have not confirm with him cos we wanna check out if its the lowest compare to outside selling.

we are looking at non-inverters type.

actually its my wife to be who is very aggressive on all these items...i jus add in a few sentences like telling them

if they reduce the price a bit..u get the deal. if not no deal at all...that would be $0..which is better? i ask them

i know they wanna earn profits (afterall it jus another business deal), but how much do we want them to earn?..we also cannot overdo it hehehehe.

one advice...if ya ID is a guy...then get the wife to be the aggresive party then the husband be the mr nice guy....it alwys work hahaha

but if the Id is a lady...apply the same method...unless the husband looks better then brad pit :P hahahaha

finally can log in to the forum.

My reno is almost completed (in less than 2 weeks time) and I can't wait to move in. The workmanship is so nice and I love it. The total cost is $10k for the followings:-

1. Hack and remove existing kitchen cabinet;

2. Construct additional 50mm kitchen cabinet base (approx 3ft);

3. Built 22ft top and bottom kitchen cabinet;

4. solid surface 11ft for kitchen cabinet;

5. Inlet and outlet piping and installation of kitchen sink;

6. Free installation of kitchen hood and hob and s/s backing;

7. Paintng of the whole house include piping and doors;

8. General acid cleaning for the house;

9. Clear and remove debris and haulage;

10. Overlay 2 bathroom floors;

11. Construct 50mm kerb for both toilets;

12. 10mm tempered shower screen for both toilets;

13. Hacking of WC and basin;

14. Installation of all toilet sanitaries (i.e. WC, Basin, heater, accessories etc);

15. Re run all water piping for both toilet using chrome piping;

16. Change 20 casing for the electrical points, install 2 scv point and 4 new single point;

17. Built 12ft x 3.4 ft height and 10ft full height partition board in master bed room to cover the air con trunking;

18. Built 3ft full height shoe cabinet; and

19. Change all door locks.

finally can log in to the forum.

My reno is almost completed (in less than 2 weeks time) and I can't wait to move in. The workmanship is so nice and I love it. The total cost is $10k for the followings:-

1. Hack and remove existing kitchen cabinet;

2. Construct additional 50mm kitchen cabinet base (approx 3ft);

3. Built 22ft top and bottom kitchen cabinet;

4. solid surface 11ft for kitchen cabinet;

5. Inlet and outlet piping and installation of kitchen sink;

6. Free installation of kitchen hood and hob and s/s backing;

7. Paintng of the whole house include piping and doors;

8. General acid cleaning for the house;

9. Clear and remove debris and haulage;

10. Overlay 2 bathroom floors;

11. Construct 50mm kerb for both toilets;

12. 10mm tempered shower screen for both toilets;

13. Hacking of WC and basin;

14. Installation of all toilet sanitaries (i.e. WC, Basin, heater, accessories etc);

15. Re run all water piping for both toilet using chrome piping;

16. Change 20 casing for the electrical points, install 2 scv point and 4 new single point;

17. Built 12ft x 3.4 ft height and 10ft full height partition board in master bed room to cover the air con trunking;

18. Built 3ft full height shoe cabinet; and

19. Change all door locks.

wow. sounds like lots of work done and price seems right too! may i know why u chose chrome piping instead of stainless steel? I've called up zack as per your recommendation. sounds like a nice chap. hope all will proceed smoothly. :) will keep u updated.

also, how come u are doing so little?

well the air-con cost ard $1980 for systemx3. but we have not confirm with him cos we wanna check out if its the lowest compare to outside selling.

actually its my wife to be who is very aggressive on all these items...i jus add in a few sentences like telling them

if they reduce the price a bit..u get the deal. if not no deal at all...that would be $0..which is better? i ask them

i know they wanna earn profits (afterall it jus another business deal), but how much do we want them to earn?..we also cannot overdo it hehehehe.

one advice...if ya ID is a guy...then get the wife to be the aggresive party then the husband be the mr nice guy....it alwys work hahaha

but if the Id is a lady...apply the same method...unless the husband looks better then brad pit :P hahahaha

heh.. ok.. i got a ID that has some promo package which includes aircon. wanna ask him about it. me ar, just me + my mom to bargain. our skills are not quite there yet. :( altho times are bad, some dont even want to get back to you so i guess $0 suits them just fine.

ah i cant wait to see your place done up!

heh.. ok.. i got a ID that has some promo package which includes aircon. wanna ask him about it. me ar, just me + my mom to bargain. our skills are not quite there yet. :( altho times are bad, some dont even want to get back to you so i guess $0 suits them just fine.

wow. sounds like lots of work done and price seems right too! may i know why u chose chrome piping instead of stainless steel? I've called up zack as per your recommendation. sounds like a nice chap. hope all will proceed smoothly. :) will keep u updated.

also, how come u are doing so little?

ha, good on you. Hope you can get a good quote from him. He is really a nice guy. I feel pai se on him because I am working and not able to go to the site to check on the reno, but lucky he did all and keep me update everyday even though i only do a small reno. As for the chrome, cause they will paint on it, so need not use stainless steel as s/s will also get rusted and more expensive.

I can't afford to do alot because very limited budget and I only gave them 10 days to complete as I need to move in by this saturday. They started on 24/3 (my HDB completion date) and will be able to finish 90% by today except for the shoe cabinet because it was a last minute decision, I only decide to do the cabinet this Monday, so, it is also my fault but they will complete it by next monday morning. You will be amazed with their speed.

Edited by FLY

I prefer those ID that have no promo package, cos I believe that for that free aircon, the cost can charge in the quotation with other items. If not y in the newspaper u can see, free LCD TV + hob n hood + air-con, etc...They sure earn a lot so can give u free so many things.

ya sometimes they say cheap cheap cheap. once sign the contract, they will add additional items here and there telling you is necessary. for example, they will say just do normal ceiling and all. once sign they will notify you that you need waterproof ceiling or whatsoever for bla bla bla reasons. from there you will have to listen to their bidding cause you sign contract and they start hacking liao.

if wan try my lobang quite reliable also, pm me to get it. why not just get another second opinion, anyway you nothing to lose in getting another quotation to compare.

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=20227

P.S. add me if msn: cord_des@hotmail.com if you want

Edited by lObAnGkInG

@ jaskel - very true. i believe cost is elsewhere to cover up for the freebies.

@ FLY - how much are the chrome pipings? supposed to meet him tmr, hope it works out for me and him.

@ jaskel - very true. i believe cost is elsewhere to cover up for the freebies.

@ FLY - how much are the chrome pipings? supposed to meet him tmr, hope it works out for me and him.

hi, the price is $450 before discount to re-run all the inlet and outlet piping for the 2 toilets.

Glad to hear you will be meeting him. Try to tell him what is in your mind and he will try to get the best quote for you.

Edited by FLY

hi FLY,

i saw the pics of your kitchen and shoe cabinet if you are staying in semb!! :D zack is a nice guy, totally forgot we shifted our meeting from tues to mon so he called me in the office and had to wait for me :(

so far his quotes are pretty standard and he seems to be straightforward and i did tell him my irritation earlier that day with this other ID that quoted me 29k with no floor plan layout of what is to be done nor any explanation of the various costs of what was in his quote, dropped him like a hot potato.

hope that zack is the one to deliver. :)

ps: i think he said chrome piping is ex followed by s/s then cheapest is copper.

Edited by aubrey