Kari 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 My TV Feautre Wall and Console Need your advice. Do we ask the capenter to cut the hole at the top / bottom / side of the console for the wires like modem, SCV box etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 And here's my Feature Wall. Instead of a big shoe cabinet, I split the area into 2 sections. Cos I feel tat if I do not have so many shoes, it'll be a waste of space. So the first pic with the shelves facing the living room, it will be a storage area for photo albums, liquor, or watsoever Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 How does the door limit ur depth? Sliding doors for small space like mine Actuali you can check with ur ID. Sometimes some IDs willing to give you sliding doors at no additional charge. A matter of negotiation and of course how much biz you give them. Yup. I design the interior myself. The capenter did the measurements based on my drawing. He jokingly say that I very 'wu liao' haha. But then I really put in alot of effort. Open up all my present wardrobe, look inside at the things that I have, so I want to organize my stuff neatly instead of piling everything together like a mountain of rubbish. I oso took measurements of the gaps between each shelves! Cos standard off the shelf shelves' gap is 1 ft (30cm) which I hate. Cos when you put too many stacks of clothes to maximize this 1 ft space, it becomes so difficult to find ur clothes. So I prefer a smaller gap so I only can put few clothes (smaller stack). wow its hard to tell you what i mean so give me a while i draw it out for u and post it. im not keen on sliding cos when u slide to one side, u cannot access that part. so i prefer swing where i access both. i think the interior of a wardrobe is very very important! and how are u wu liao! only u know best how u organize etc. so u must design it to be functional what.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 wow its hard to tell you what i mean so give me a while i draw it out for u and post it. im not keen on sliding cos when u slide to one side, u cannot access that part. so i prefer swing where i access both. i think the interior of a wardrobe is very very important! and how are u wu liao! only u know best how u organize etc. so u must design it to be functional what.. No prob. Looking forward to ur posting! Yeah I understand sliding is not convenient but no choice when i dun want to give up more space for the door to open. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 My TV Feautre Wall and Console Need your advice. Do we ask the capenter to cut the hole at the top / bottom / side of the console for the wires like modem, SCV box etc actually your ID shld be the one to advice you on placement. have you checked with them? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 actually your ID shld be the one to advice you on placement. have you checked with them? I dun see her ard unless there's trouble lol. So since the carpenter is there, might as well talk with him directly can do on the spot. Plus he should be more experienced. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 You mean the main switch? I think got turned off. Later go double check again. I think cos you pasted the notice there, make it more tempting for one to break the rules. Guess you jus have to speak to their supervisor or your contractor that you dun want this to happen again lo. haiz.. i already gave up on the toilet part already. yday they just throw cement/plaster inside, now the bottom got residue that cannot be flushed away! i'm gonna complain to my contractor if it's still there during handover. for ur tv console right, better not to have too many holes. Heard from the carpenter it will affect the wood structure. Just decide how the cables shd run and run them all to 1 hole to the powerpoints/sockets. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 haiz.. i already gave up on the toilet part already. yday they just throw cement/plaster inside, now the bottom got residue that cannot be flushed away! i'm gonna complain to my contractor if it's still there during handover. for ur tv console right, better not to have too many holes. Heard from the carpenter it will affect the wood structure. Just decide how the cables shd run and run them all to 1 hole to the powerpoints/sockets. tats so horrible Unfinished biz still can flush away but cement! must really them! well i think i'll put a hole on the RHS of the console like those office tables with computer desktop and telephone wirings. at least it's towards the window, not so obvious. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 ya, really bad of the workers to just pour the painting stuff into my MBR WC! i really hate the painters. Heng my contractor just stick his whole hand down n stir up the cement/sand for me b4 flushing it down. He washed the WC with his bare hands! Just rembr to check all the WC and sinks when they do handover ok? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2009 ya, really bad of the workers to just pour the painting stuff into my MBR WC! i really hate the painters. Heng my contractor just stick his whole hand down n stir up the cement/sand for me b4 flushing it down. He washed the WC with his bare hands! Just rembr to check all the WC and sinks when they do handover ok? ur contractor sure power. PUt his bare hands in! [Faint] well thanks for the advice. sure will check whether any foreign objects floating ard. lol. headache right when tis kind of thing is mutual understanding, unspoken rule to keep one's house clean. haiz Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 My lightings: First, my living room downlights : Then my favourite dining light, which most prob is jus for display. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 for my MBR. for the children. Dunnoe whether you can see the horoscope designs. Very sweet hor. My sis spotted it for me. For the kitchen For the toilets For the storeroom Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kari 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 (edited) HHS Feature Wall, more or less completed: now covered up the last piece of mirror dunnoe when they will glue. Actuali need to check with you guys. When 2 pieces of wood is nailed together, there will also be 2 pieces of laminated glued to the wood surface. So when the carptenter use his tool to smooth the edges of the joint wood, the laminate may be polished off, hence exposing the wood underneath. Is tat acceptable? Havent take photos of close up yet to show. Then they use silicon to glue the exposed area, the white silicon oso smudged and colored the laminate white (very obvious agst black laminate) so can remove the silicon? I haven't ask my carpenter yet cos I see them so busy, dunnoe whether these are nitty gritty details or jus tat I'm overly fussy Edited April 3, 2009 by Kari Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 ok kari sorry i took a long time to reply. ok the drawing above.. cos my mom wants to have full length full height wardrobe at the door, ID said must have one length so its nicer, hence it is something like the red line. therefore it will reduce depth as compared to the green line as it is shorter in length and wont be in the way of the door so we have more depth. my only worry is that shld we go ahead with full length, my mom might find the depth to be insufficient for her. sorry for the ugly drawing, just used paint to roughly draw. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 3, 2009 what is the depth if you go for the full length? must remember can't be less than 50cm or 55cm if not can't hang clothes with clothe hangers, or must get those baby hangers liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites