familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 hmmm...i think I heard my name Yes, the leather and solid core ones I selected for some furniture. I know need to top up, I will cos bobian...I like those very much actually! The solid core hor, if not for an extra of 2k, i will use ALL my kicthen whites leh! Too ex le...so use on smaller furnitures I also selected the metallics one for small items, carpenter advised against it, so I dropped the idea....he says waste money What to do? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 hmmm...i think I heard my name Yes, the leather and solid core ones I selected for some furniture. I know need to top up, I will cos bobian...I like those very much actually! The solid core hor, if not for an extra of 2k, i will use ALL my kicthen whites leh! Too ex le...so use on smaller furnitures I also selected the metallics one for small items, carpenter advised against it, so I dropped the idea....he says waste money What to do? I like the solid core too.. So pretty.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 hmmm...i think I heard my name Yes, the leather and solid core ones I selected for some furniture. I know need to top up, I will cos bobian...I like those very much actually! The solid core hor, if not for an extra of 2k, i will use ALL my kicthen whites leh! Too ex le...so use on smaller furnitures I also selected the metallics one for small items, carpenter advised against it, so I dropped the idea....he says waste money What to do? r u referring to those that doesnt have the black line at the joints? I wanted to choose that laminate too! but i think most prob gonna top up, or else i'll feel guilty towards uncle. So in the end drop the idea Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 r u referring to those that doesnt have the black line at the joints? I wanted to choose that laminate too! but i think most prob gonna top up, or else i'll feel guilty towards uncle. So in the end drop the idea Yes, u are right! those that does not have the black lines. me hiao lah...wana have things to look really good. Jason says kitchen dun do that, waste money, they can use white marker and draw for me...then ok lor...both my mom and hubby stare at me when jason says top up is about 2k for my kitchen. I almost fainted! I can get the tod's bag that I am eyeing for with that money leh I told uncle i will top up to be fair to him. I chose to do those on my altar, Ah Wei says 1 piece for altar is enough, my shoe cabinet, tv console and the vanity cabinets in the bathroom. See, not too much mah...since they can chop up the laminates Ivy, paiseh to hijack ur blog on laminates Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 Ivy sorry to hijack too. I had some working experience with laminates, tell you guys, the solid core ones, irrespective of whether Seng Lee or Lamitak , they're really AWESOME! We quoted projects using that and i have see the actual works, gosh... they are sOOO beautiful, practically cant see any joints! but of course you have to PAy the price for vanity i am also still considering Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 awesome huh? really huh? makes it really tempting...in fact, my inital selections mainly solid core! But it's ok lah...i just bear with the kitchen and love the others Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 im lost..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 im lost..... we are talking about the laminates that is in one piece, one full color, even the sides are also in the same color (no black lines). those are much more expensive but very nice... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
stormcontrol 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 we are talking about the laminates that is in one piece, one full color, even the sides are also in the same color (no black lines). those are much more expensive but very nice... I'm joining aubrey in being lost. what does it mean by "even the sides are also in the same colour (no black lines)"??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 hmmm...howto explain ne? who has the sample, and can show the pics??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
booy 0 Report post Posted June 2, 2009 Really very hard to explain leh.. haha.. I'm so tempted but I know my FC won't approve this kind of vanity.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 ehhh folks no worries abt hijacking, cos I am in the midst of selecting laminates and thus will benefit from this discussion. I have some catalogues at home. Will try to post the pics today for those who are lost. The "same colour on the side" ones will definitely makes the whole piece of work looks better. but hor i rather keep the money.. and use it on somewhere else... leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 Yes, u are right! those that does not have the black lines. me hiao lah...wana have things to look really good. Jason says kitchen dun do that, waste money, they can use white marker and draw for me...then ok lor...both my mom and hubby stare at me when jason says top up is about 2k for my kitchen. I almost fainted! I can get the tod's bag that I am eyeing for with that money leh I told uncle i will top up to be fair to him. I chose to do those on my altar, Ah Wei says 1 piece for altar is enough, my shoe cabinet, tv console and the vanity cabinets in the bathroom. See, not too much mah...since they can chop up the laminates Ivy, paiseh to hijack ur blog on laminates Agree!! it will be so much nicer to do without the black lines! but when i ask Jason if i needed to top up, he dunno. And in the event if Uncle really absorbs the cost, i'll feel guilty. So i made do with the white marker. But hor, the white marker one is really way below the beauty achievable with the expensive laminates. And the white paint will drop off in the long run... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xvirusga76 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 I'm joining aubrey in being lost. what does it mean by "even the sides are also in the same colour (no black lines)"??? Stormcontrol, in layman's term, when we join two pieces of normal laminates together, you will see the groove lines (joints), because, basically, laminates are made of a thin piece of veneer (wood skin) on top and ply wood below (the dark brown wood). So when you join two pieces of laminates together, you will see the dark /black joint lines. The sides of these are taken care of by AB trimmings, but those on the surface will be visible. The solid core ones, using, the SAME type or color as the top piece of veneer, will see NO joint lines. Hence you get the seamless effect. Just image our floor tiles, we have grout lines to cover up. Hope it helps. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2009 u know ah, this talk about laminates, i feel that the condition of my kitchen laminates is so bad! ok pls clarify ABS trimmings for me first. it is basically what is running around the edges of the wood right? laminate is on the external most visible part right? when i look at it up close, the laminates seems to be chipped? how to say, just not pure white for those in my kitchen. my friend called me siao cos no one will look until like that.. so am i siao or its unacceptable? the ah mei guy makes me wanna puke blood. if not based on uncle's face i would have chided him for his work. can u believe that his workers uses liquid paper to cover up the join lines??? wtf right!!! not even white marker ok. i saw them doing it for my wardrobes, almost fainted. i paid so much for carpentry and here u are patching it with liquid paper which I CAN DO AND DO IT MUCH BETTER. -_- where do u guys get the laminate samples from? i havent chosen mine yet! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites