ivy

Our New Place @ Clementi

Looks like your reno is starting well! I met Uncle today but didn't know it's his birthday's coming.. He's definitely in a good mood...

ohhh fannie also buying him chicken essence ahh?? ok ok then must co-ordinate. i buy him "yang ming jiu" maybe? hahaha

Went shopping today and bought this for the boys.

DSC01139.jpg

It looks a bit loud to me but unfortunately that's the only one left and the sales person gave us a really good price. We agreed to take the display set and she shaved 30% of retail price. Actually we just got an extra 10% off since they are having 20% off the set already.

Last weekend we saw a mini L-shape fabric sofa and was quoted $399. This one is actually PVC and we got it at $220+. I thought it was a good deal and I can either place it at the living room together with my huge sofa set since the colour matches or place it at their play area. yipeeeee!! one more item down from our purchase list.

wow i so love this!!!! its soooooooooooooo nice!

Today encounter a little drama at my place... At about 4+pm I received a call from hubby saying HDB called him and said that our pipe burst and causes leakage at our neighbour's (downstairs) place. I was all confused, wondering whether the workers accidentally hacked the pipe or something. I called Ah Soon, who told me :" nothing nothing all settled. don't worry."

Called hubby and he couldn't quite explain his full conversation with HDB to me... no choice I swing back home to check out for myself. Upon reaching, the workers was just about to hack the bathroom. Not yet even started. No signs of pipe burst. Went down to neighbour's place, rang the door bell, no one answer. Probably too noisy can't hear me...

So i hung around in the unit waiting for the Town Council plumber to arrive. Upon arrival he asked me what happen. i was like ???? I should be the one asking him what happen mah............ He checked my pipes, yah the cast iron pipe was corroded, but no signs of anything bursting... so went down to ring door bell again and this time the owner opened the door. Phew... they were nice folks, very friendly but uncle abit stubborn.. The uncle insist that by us dismantling my kitchen sink it caused his main pipe to leak... which don't really make sense. Anyway to appease everyone, I just told them no worries, I'm gonna change my pipe anyway.. So I'll just get it change sooner to solve the problem.

Ding dong ding dong, TC plumber say if I let my own reno contractor change the pipe, in future anything wrong TC won't be responsible (that is sort of trying to hint me I should give the job to them). So, to save trouble I ask him to quote and before that I ask him which plumbing company he was from and hahahahah, I love it when he told me Nam Plumbing. I was hoping that it was that company, cos I know the boss. Plumber quoted me $1200, uncle Ah soon quoted me $900, I called the boss of Nam Plumbing and he gave it to me at a friendship price of $700 to change all the toilets/kitchens main and branch pipe. He say :" ok lah old friend 半买半送"

At least I save $200 out of the whole drama.... keeping my fingers cross that there won't be anymore of such drama...

glad that it was not anything serious...but hor, I'm curious what did HDB convey to Kiat...info goes haywire when the men answer the calls

this is the thing i fear the most....i kept asking hubby muz remind the contractor to be careful when hacking....esp old flats.....

at least something good came out of this for you Ivy. lol

Aiyoh it's not the hacking fault leh.. lol how can taking away a sink cause the main pipe to leak? then HDB pipe very weak wor... :P

glad that it was not anything serious...but hor, I'm curious what did HDB convey to Kiat...info goes haywire when the men answer the calls

As usual his explanation dun make sense and at the end of the day he concluded with :" I don't know" Angry! So I told him :" Don't know go and ask until you know! everything don't know everything also I must handle!" Ended up worse man... the more he ask the more it don't make sense... so I drove back home to check it out myself and to prevent me from collapsing from high blood pressure.........

this is the thing i fear the most....i kept asking hubby muz remind the contractor to be careful when hacking....esp old flats.....

I guess contractor will also be careful on their own accord, cos if they cause and damage, they'll hv to rectify the fault as well.

at least something good came out of this for you Ivy. lol

Aiyoh it's not the hacking fault leh.. lol how can taking away a sink cause the main pipe to leak? then HDB pipe very weak wor... :P

Yah man Pet! I was pacified by the $200 savings. Not much but enough to pay half a month's childcare fee for my elder boy hahahah. That's why the neighbout uncle don't make sense lor... plumber tried to explain to him but he was stubborn... so we gave up..

I pop by my place at about 4pm earlier on. All the things that worked together to "conned" us into paying $22K COV has been reduced to this :

DSC01163.jpg

DSC01164.jpg

I was kind of surprise to realise that the window contractor is actually fixing up my new window frames at such an early stage. The problem is they are fixing white frames when I clearly remembered telling uncle I wanted black... Initially I wanted white but uncle told me white will turn yellowish over time, that's why I told him in that case I'll take black. I wonder whether he mixed up the info or not.. I tried calling him up he did not pick up... probably holiday mood le...

I think black suits my overall theme better.. but white has a clean and refreshing feel.... now I am torn... Black or white?? Should I insist uncle to change it back to black? or accept the white? :unsure:

Also, I've not chosen the window glass colour and the contractor assure me that they will just be fixing up the frames.. Now that I am back in office, I'm thinking without the windows, what if the next few days it starts pouring, how?? won't my unit be flooded??

I miss out choosing the tile for my recess area... went back to LSH last week and chose the following..

DSC01162.jpg