ivy

Our New Place @ Clementi

Wah Ivy your kitchen really looks good. The cutlery drawer inside the other drawer is it easy to pull out? Looks very unique and nice. :)

thanks Pet! no sweat to pull out that drawer. Stole the idea from blum. Cos i have deep drawers, I wanted to add in the blum version of the cutlery drawer, but my dear cost conscious carpenter says no need to spend money on blum, he'll do a "drawer within drawer" for me to put my cutlery..... so that is the outcome loh

Must be feeling excited on HO..

The concept of the cutlery drawer is really good..

I love your MBR toilet.. Swee..

Bon07 must thank you! even carpenter also think that your version is neater. but i think it would have looked better if can stretch it 1 feet wider.

the cutlery tray my carpenter give me free one.

I adopted Bon07 3D for the tv console/feature :) We were worried about the lines too but at the end of the day, we really like this tile alot so we just went ahead to use it.

yah loh.. outside looks huge, everyone thought i got a lot of shoes leh!!! but ahh... sigh... nvm, when i need or want to buy i will still buy!! at most I dump his shoes into the store room :x

a pity hor there are huge pipes in my toilet.. was contemplating whether to box it up but decided against it cos worried that over time the box up will disintegrate cos of constant contact with water... hmm wonder whether it'll look better if i paint it black??

Hi Ivy, no worries abt the tv console...haha...glad it turned out nice...but i agree with you that a slightly bigger one will look better....imo, more grand looking...hehe...tats why my console from 8 feet to 9 feet now 10 feet...haha...

and hor, for the spray gun beside your toilet bowl right, would it be better if it's placed lower? cos its like taking away attention from your nice toilet bowl and tiles....

and for the box up in toilets, they use a different kind of material (i think calcium silicate or something) rather than solid plywood. This will withstand the humidity in the toilet, further more, if u box it up and clad it in tiles, it will be totally impervious (almost, i think, hehe) to water. My MBR toilet's pipes are box-ed up and clad in tiles but not my common toilet though. hehe. Of cos, i also did consider the fact that if got problem, must hack up the tiles and box-up to reach the tiles, but (with fingers super duper crossed), i have lived in my current hdb flat for as long as i have remembered, and in the ancient past (70's n 80's) when steel (or cast iron) pipes were used, yes there were some minor leakage which were harmless, and when the pipes were converted to the current PVC ones, there are no leakages at all. So i dun think there will be any problem at all, imho. :)

but of cos if u decide not to box-up, i think u shld paint it white and decorate it with decals. Paint it black wun make it less obvious, in fact, it will make it more obvious BECAUSE the paint use on the pvc pipes are not matt finishing but GLOSSY finishing (bordelac paint or something). so the glossy shine will just scream out to the toilet user, " hi, i am a pipe *BLINK BLINK*"...of cos, just my own opinion hehe...

Hi Ivy, no worries abt the tv console...haha...glad it turned out nice...but i agree with you that a slightly bigger one will look better....imo, more grand looking...hehe...tats why my console from 8 feet to 9 feet now 10 feet...haha...

and hor, for the spray gun beside your toilet bowl right, would it be better if it's placed lower? cos its like taking away attention from your nice toilet bowl and tiles....

and for the box up in toilets, they use a different kind of material (i think calcium silicate or something) rather than solid plywood. This will withstand the humidity in the toilet, further more, if u box it up and clad it in tiles, it will be totally impervious (almost, i think, hehe) to water. My MBR toilet's pipes are box-ed up and clad in tiles but not my common toilet though. hehe. Of cos, i also did consider the fact that if got problem, must hack up the tiles and box-up to reach the tiles, but (with fingers super duper crossed), i have lived in my current hdb flat for as long as i have remembered, and in the ancient past (70's n 80's) when steel (or cast iron) pipes were used, yes there were some minor leakage which were harmless, and when the pipes were converted to the current PVC ones, there are no leakages at all. So i dun think there will be any problem at all, imho. :)

but of cos if u decide not to box-up, i think u shld paint it white and decorate it with decals. Paint it black wun make it less obvious, in fact, it will make it more obvious BECAUSE the paint use on the pvc pipes are not matt finishing but GLOSSY finishing (bordelac paint or something). so the glossy shine will just scream out to the toilet user, " hi, i am a pipe *BLINK BLINK*"...of cos, just my own opinion hehe...

hahahha your comment abt the pipe blink blink so funny. hahah ok I'm gonna just leave it as it is cos ahhh if I say now I wanna box up and put tiles, uncle will faint.

ohh i didn't notice the ht of the handspray till you mention it. True hor?? how come they fix so high hor?? Then again if I ask them to fix it lower, there will be 2 holes on the current location. not nice liao. if need to change whole tile uncle will also faint cos this tile expensive haha. I'm ok with it lah, see it more often and we'll probably be immune to it :P

maybe I'll tease uncle about it later and give him heart attack.

thanks Pet! no sweat to pull out that drawer. Stole the idea from blum. Cos i have deep drawers, I wanted to add in the blum version of the cutlery drawer, but my dear cost conscious carpenter says no need to spend money on blum, he'll do a "drawer within drawer" for me to put my cutlery..... so that is the outcome loh

Sav $$ is good!! I really love your MBR toilet... the more I look at it... :wub: :wub: :wub: :wub: :wub:

hahahha your comment abt the pipe blink blink so funny. hahah ok I'm gonna just leave it as it is cos ahhh if I say now I wanna box up and put tiles, uncle will faint.

ohh i didn't notice the ht of the handspray till you mention it. True hor?? how come they fix so high hor?? Then again if I ask them to fix it lower, there will be 2 holes on the current location. not nice liao. if need to change whole tile uncle will also faint cos this tile expensive haha. I'm ok with it lah, see it more often and we'll probably be immune to it :P

maybe I'll tease uncle about it later and give him heart attack.

ivy, the holes can be patched and painted to a similar colour, then it won't be so obvious.. :)

wah nice nice leh ur hse. worth the long wait lah!

ur kitchen cabinets really blum look-a-like! i like the tall drawers, very useful! and of cos ur MBR toilet SUPER nice!! :wub: :wub: :wub:

hi folks, I need some opinions. I am considering whether i should box up the part above my black glass doors.

cas.jpg

Initially I wanted it to look like the below, with L box on top

VE3A7472m.jpg

but due to the height of the space, carpenter thinks it will look super ugly if I have a big fat L-box on top.

However, the way it is now, I dun like to see the extra box up of my sanitary pipe (where red arrow is pointing) staring at me... and I dun like the idea of dust collecting on top....

Ah wei is welling to box it up for me but instead of L box, he suggested that the box up to be flushed with the glass cabinets and due to the length of it, he futher suggested it to be broken up to make it into 3 more cabinets in line with the bottom glass cabinets. The finishing will be in white laminate. Do you guys think it will be nice or it will make my kitchen looks obiang??

should I go ahead to add the cabinets or should i leave it as it is??? headache..

mmm...i would put box up. then the rest will be storage space for utensils that are not used often or things that i want to be out of reach for kids..

i agree with ah wei of the finishing being white laminate.

bottomline: ADD CABINETS!

I think boxing up the top is fine and a good idea. It'll solve all your concerns like dust and aesthetics and you will get additional storage space. :)

Alternatively, if you decide to leave it as is, I guess you could possibly do some aesthetic enhancements like glass bottles with coloured pasta perhaps?

Personally, I'd go for boxing it up.

i boxed up mine. (hmm didn't think of adding lighting points. good idea hor. but i don't think i should give ah di headache at this stage le =p ). Created more cabinets. wouldn't be too obiang lah. Those black glass already add abit of atas already =p

I also think box-up is good.. More storage and white laminate goes well and adds to the design as well..