ivy 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2009 Ivy, when are you starting your carpentry? Electrical first or carpentry first? electrical works will start first. However, before you can confirm your electrical points, it is good to take your carpentry works into consideration as some of your carpentry works may incorporate electrical points. e.g. I need to plan my kitchen layout first before I know where I want my power points. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 yah loh i kiasu, my last flat, we short of storage... so this time i'm gonna make sure i got enough!! hahaha Initially, I wanted to have a L door for that corner so that i can access the corner, however i just realise the tall unit beside the oven is suppose to house my row of 5 drawers inside... so it is not feasible for L shape door, as such I will have to live with a difficult to access deep corner. Howeer Jason assured me that it won't be too deep cos I got a protruding column at that corner which **** need to wrap up. PROGRESS UPDATES Electrician should be finishing the electrical today, latest by tomorrow. Tomorrow, the L boxes and boxing up works will start. Air con guy will come in these 2 days to run the pipe first. After the ceiling works complete, painting will start. Met Jason at 4pm.. (suppose to be at 3.. but when i called at 3.30 he's at toh yi - growler! I think your place). He told me his computer repaired liao and he can use his computer to draw for me. I wonder how his computer drawings will look like. I'll meet him again on Wednesday. Our carpentry discussion was fast cos I've done my own doodling and the whole thing ends in an hour. I just realised I forgot to plan how I want the internal of my wardrobes to be lor!!! sigh.. I asked Jason to propose for me.. Yup ivy, he was at my place with a fat guy installing the stainless steel backing for my kitchen. My wifey said that he was on the line almost all the time during the process .... haha ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tampineschris 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Hi Ivy, How much does it cost for such low cabinet? Is Ah Soon making it too? Thank you. low cabinet for boys' room Not sure whether the actual width of room will be sufficient to accomodate the above layout of the cabinet... Initally it was just all plain casement cabinets all for toys. After that I thought it will be good if some books are within easy reach of the kids. Then yesterday evening, Yamaha called to advice us to get a keyboard for the boy to practice at home... so now needs to give up some storage area to do a build in tray to hold his keyboard. He can then also use the space above the keyboard as study table since now got leg room.. Hope this will work Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 hi Tampinechris, Yes the low cabinet is inclusive in my quote. The unit price is $700 but that is before the lump sum discount. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 hi Tampinechris, Yes the low cabinet is inclusive in my quote. The unit price is $700 but that is before the lump sum discount. $700 price is a good deal considering the pull out trays and book shelves. Length of the cabinet is 7ft I presume? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 $700 price is a good deal considering the pull out trays and book shelves. Length of the cabinet is 7ft I presume? i am not doing the pull out tray le. wanted to put musical keyboard there initially but the keyboard is pretty wide so i think it'll waste my storage space. so the final product is without the pull out Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 i am not doing the pull out tray le. wanted to put musical keyboard there initially but the keyboard is pretty wide so i think it'll waste my storage space. so the final product is without the pull out Ok, so you will have doors to cover up the storage space right. For the bookshelves, any glass door to keep out dust? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 Ok, so you will have doors to cover up the storage space right. For the bookshelves, any glass door to keep out dust? am still contemplating whether to have glass door. cos without the door, it will be free access, easily can pull out with the door, the kids may not be as easily entice to open the glass door to pull the books out. so a bit torn between the 2 choices. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gaku70 0 Report post Posted May 26, 2009 am still contemplating whether to have glass door. cos without the door, it will be free access, easily can pull out with the door, the kids may not be as easily entice to open the glass door to pull the books out. so a bit torn between the 2 choices. My thinking is that if you have 2 sliding doors, you can always slide it one side if you want the books to be seen. Then if you have guest coming, you can slide the door back to make the place nicer. Another suggestion is to have those door that opened vertically and can slide it into the cabinet when you do not need them. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tampineschris 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 Thanks Ivy. Hope to see the photo of the finished product soon. hi Tampinechris, Yes the low cabinet is inclusive in my quote. The unit price is $700 but that is before the lump sum discount. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 Thanks Ivy. Hope to see the photo of the finished product soon. sure! I think it'll take another 2-3 weeks before I've got any photos of carpentry works. TODAY's UPDATE L boxes, False ceiling works are 80% completed. Air con contractor will come to lay pipes and trunkings tomorrow. Afterwhich the boxing up of walls will commence. Will meet Jason tomorrow night to see his drawings for my carpentry works. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 sure! I think it'll take another 2-3 weeks before I've got any photos of carpentry works. TODAY's UPDATE L boxes, False ceiling works are 80% completed. Air con contractor will come to lay pipes and trunkings tomorrow. Afterwhich the boxing up of walls will commence. Will meet Jason tomorrow night to see his drawings for my carpentry works. Hi Ivy, Just wanted to check with u..at which stage will the aircon guy need to come in?after tiling or when everything is done? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 they can come in after tiling. Actually I prefer them to come before false ceiling is up, but who knows Jason so efficient wor.. He told me doing living room ceiling first on wednesday since my air con guy can only come on thursday, he'll do the bedrooms after my pipes are laid. But who knows when I went up last evening, aiyoh!! the guys were fast, everything is up!! just a bit touching up here and there. After I thought about it, also good lah.. Boxing up of air con trunkings within false ceiling is pretty risky actually. If it leaks or sweats then problem liao. I look through again and realise, actually hor, the way I am going to run my air con pipes are totally not affected by my L boxes and false ceiling. Let's see whether the air con guy call me tomorrow to say that my ceilings are in the way I am running the pipes first and will arrange for the air con guy to come back to fix up the air con unit after most of the dusty works are done. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blue_diamond 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 they can come in after tiling. Actually I prefer them to come before false ceiling is up, but who knows Jason so efficient wor.. He told me doing living room ceiling first on wednesday since my air con guy can only come on thursday, he'll do the bedrooms after my pipes are laid. But who knows when I went up last evening, aiyoh!! the guys were fast, everything is up!! just a bit touching up here and there. After I thought about it, also good lah.. Boxing up of air con trunkings within false ceiling is pretty risky actually. If it leaks or sweats then problem liao. I look through again and realise, actually hor, the way I am going to run my air con pipes are totally not affected by my L boxes and false ceiling. Let's see whether the air con guy call me tomorrow to say that my ceilings are in the way I am running the pipes first and will arrange for the air con guy to come back to fix up the air con unit after most of the dusty works are done. thanks thanks....cos trying to get the step rite...cos still need to arrange with the aircon guy also... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted May 27, 2009 thanks thanks....cos trying to get the step rite...cos still need to arrange with the aircon guy also... share share what i went thru for aircon trunking... Uncle supposed to help me coordinate n let the aircon guy know when to get his workers in, but as usual lah, Uncle's so busy in the end it was the aircon company chasing after me n him instead. Jason told me to get them in after the plastering is completed. So that they can paint the trunking together with the walls. Fancoils will be up after the painting is done, then painters will come in again for touch ups. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites