ivy

Our New Place @ Clementi

Hahaha so which is easier to clean?

CNY...Clean tiles or Paint?

Welll hopefully ur plain walls do not have any build-in carpentary.

Korsong!

uhmmm i'm really not quite sure whether paint is better or tiles are better. my first initial plan is i wan a raw looking kitchen i dun even wanna paint, i want a cement look on the wall. after much advise from alot of kind souls i decided to paint. then my hubby goes up see smallboy's place, he gian the tiles.. now due to budget back to paint.

my plain wall will not have carpentry. it will be on the wall opposite my kitchen cabinets.

Just came back from meeting the tilings. Yesterday only 2 lonely men up there, today got more! 6 i think! happy to see them there! Went thru with the tilers the position of my washer and my basins. They are nice people who will share their professional advice with me.

The last time i save $200 in relation to my sanitary pipes, then I save some money again by using all sliding windows instead of casement. Save how much I dunno yet. Today after going thru with the tiler I save some money again! I will now do without my glass shower screen for my common shower room. This is because there is only 1 water outlet point that is a distance away from my shower head (right below my basin). Tiler give me 2 option :

1) Open another outlet hole below the shower head. This option will mean that the floor tiling work will not look nice cos shower area will need to slope towards the new hole while the other area outside the shower screen have to slope towards the original whole

2) leave it as it is, let the water all run to the orginal hole. floor only have 1 gradient and can do without curb and shower sreen. But this means after someone shower, the whole floor will be wet.

After discussion with the man we go for option 2. Shower rooms are meant to be wet mah.. since our WC and shower area are seperated, i guess it won't make much difference. Save money!

Wa... actually $1200 is really good price.... Uncle treats you very nice. He charge me $2200 for wall tiles for kitchen........and we got the same house!!!! :(:(

I just realised tiling and carpentry are MOST costly thing to do!

Wa... actually $1200 is really good price.... Uncle treats you very nice. He charge me $2200 for wall tiles for kitchen........and we got the same house!!!! :(:(

I just realised tiling and carpentry are MOST costly thing to do!

ohh cos the areas to be tiled for me is lesser. where you have the big blum tandem boxes that wall? mine will be full ht cabinets and fridge. so the area to be tiled is only the wall where the toilet entrances are plus the window area and rubbish chute area.

u see ahhh ur overall quote is $38K, $2k more than me only but u get 1 huge cabinet at dinning area, 1 study corner and 1 more wardobe more than me leh. Are u using laminates for ur bedroom or tiles? I forgot already. my bedrooms using laminate flooring. So u see?? for $2K more u get alot more things. uncle is fair de lah. hahahah

the tilers started work today at my unit ... still plastering the wall ... hopefully they can finish and start tiling some wall tiles and lay the waterprooofing by today.

Uncle was here at around 1.20pm and he left at around 2pm.

actually about the tiles, i would rather not do wall tiles and just paint. its my mom who die die insist on wall tiles after getting psycho-ed. in my chinese quote from uncle, the quote to do wall tiles is a whooping $2.4k! his quote for copper piping is $1k. actually on its own, it is ex. but the final total is reasonable. so i just dont bother with the nitty gritty and just overall quote. oh wells.

the tilers started work today at my unit ... still plastering the wall ... hopefully they can finish and start tiling some wall tiles and lay the waterprooofing by today.

Uncle was here at around 1.20pm and he left at around 2pm.

hhahaha growler you like reporting live on 8pm news like that!! hahaha is waterproofing the grey looking stuff that they apply on the floor?

ohh cos the areas to be tiled for me is lesser. where you have the big blum tandem boxes that wall? mine will be full ht cabinets and fridge. so the area to be tiled is only the wall where the toilet entrances are plus the window area and rubbish chute area.

u see ahhh ur overall quote is $38K, $2k more than me only but u get 1 huge cabinet at dinning area, 1 study corner and 1 more wardobe more than me leh. Are u using laminates for ur bedroom or tiles? I forgot already. my bedrooms using laminate flooring. So u see?? for $2K more u get alot more things. uncle is fair de lah. hahahah

hahaha.... I like your detailed reply. NO worries.. I am not angry or upset. Uncle still give me good price for other stuff.

give and take some! Later I hop over to your place, say 5pm. I inspecting my house later. 2 ah nei working very hard in cleaning. Must buy them some drinks!

BTW, about this tiling thing. Did I tell you Uncle is very honest. He tiled the part where my cabinets are too. I was like... this part all covered by cabinets, why still need to tile. He said if next time i dismantle the cabinets and want another configuration, still can save use the tiles. Very honest.

Cos hor, I went my friend half done reno (by id)... we saw that the part where the cabinets are, they didn't tile at all. Very dishonest hor.

Or is this standard practice.

Edited by Smallboy

hahaha.... I like your detailed reply. NO worries.. I am not angry or upset. Uncle still give me good price for other stuff.

give and take some! Later I hop over to your place, say 5pm. I inspecting my house later. 2 ah nei working very hard in cleaning. Must buy them some drinks!

hahah i know you are not upset. Cos i have been thinking also how come you got more carpentry at just $2K more? but aiyah after thinking I realise nobody will be able to "catch the ball" of how uncle do his costings. hahah cos ahhh he quote 1 lump sum and they give 1 bulk discount. But at least i know that uncle price is still the best I can get so far. Not forgetting I change all my windows and grilles.

ok ok you help me spot check the guys. They are a different group from the one that did your tiling. I am thinking of sneaking off to buy them snack and kopi at about 4pm. see how later.

hhahaha growler you like reporting live on 8pm news like that!! hahaha is waterproofing the grey looking stuff that they apply on the floor?

This is to give those who are looking for uncle to have his confirmed appearance somewhere. If not they will think he purposely fly aeroplane.

Yes. the waterproofing looks like grey. (although i've not done the water proofing yet, i saw it before)

Edited by growler

hahah i know you are not upset. Cos i have been thinking also how come you got more carpentry at just $2K more? but aiyah after thinking I realise nobody will be able to "catch the ball" of how uncle do his costings. hahah cos ahhh he quote 1 lump sum and they give 1 bulk discount. But at least i know that uncle price is still the best I can get so far. Not forgetting I change all my windows and grilles.

ok ok you help me spot check the guys. They are a different group from the one that did your tiling. I am thinking of sneaking off to buy them snack and kopi at about 4pm. see how later.

Ya.. hard to catch his sums! Dont know how he quote.

Actually I wanted to do window and grilles too but our house so many windows ......... very costly.

About 3-4K, right. So I use that amount to make cabinets lor. My far far away dream is to have white windows and grilles. :)

Actually I wanted to do window and grilles too but our house so many windows ......... very costly.

About 3-4K, right. So I use that amount to make cabinets lor. My far far away dream is to have white windows and grilles. :)

ok everyday u look out ur window u can share the view of my white grilles and windows hahaha.

yah expensive... total about $3.5K... imagine if i dun change hor.. i can save so much.. but fengshui advice.. to dismantle the windows and put back (to reactive energy left behind by last fengshui cycle, something like that) ... I scared they dismantle, put back, wobbly, drop downstairs and kill someone.. then finish.. so for the safety of my neighbours (nv know it may be me or my family who are walking pass and 1 window pane came flying down) and for my good fengshui i decided to change all, since the last set is really old already.

aiyoh, uncle soon didnt bring his quote the first time so he redid his calculations on the spot.

he gave me one price and then second time we saw him, his quote was different by 10k!

ha ha ha, my wtb n i realised for the same item, his quotes can be higher n for some, it can be lower.

i also dun understand how he quote...........

aiyoh, uncle soon didnt bring his quote the first time so he redid his calculations on the spot.

he gave me one price and then second time we saw him, his quote was different by 10k!

ha ha ha, my wtb n i realised for the same item, his quotes can be higher n for some, it can be lower.

yah man, you can point out to him one. When he gave me my last quote, I told him wahhh uncle, your quote like stock market. So he laugh and say he cannot remember the last one. He happily just pass me the quote and say :"you take back and amend the figure then give it back to me." So i did, but I very honest hor, for those that he quoted lower the 2nd time I adjusted upwards for him base on the first quote. Cannot makan uncle lah. But after I did that, i still cannot acheive the figure he quoted me... so I gave up... just base on his 1 lump sum quote.

I also experience the same thing. You just need to point out to him. And he re-quote, and re-quote until we get several versions. :) :)

Ivy, ya lor... I will share the view across my flat....... hahaha... then I more 'gian' for white windows.

Edited by Smallboy