ivy

Our New Place @ Clementi

hahah thanks thanks!! will get my things ready. if not hor i also blur.. dunno when to do what and dunno wanna get a shock when they ask me for something and I dun have them ready.

that is not kiasu, that is good management!

Ivy, like what wendy mentioned. I also told uncle I need to have a walk-through with Jason for ALL carpentary, elect works and the exact points of installation for the bathroom fittings. From the other threads I have read, it's better we get it right the first time.

Ur reno is moving!! Once ah hai gets the permit, the ball will roll....

Fannie is right.... this will take place (the walk thru with Jason) 2 weeks after your reno starts.. ie when the tiling works are more or less done. :)

thanks.. if only the man of the house can be as supportive... and more participative...

ehhh i realise i very unfortunate leh! when I was in doing hospital planning hor my doctors all MIA from meetings!! until i have to tell them, their future clinic will be Ivy's palace! it will be built according to my imagination and if it does not suit their clinical needs, cannot scold me cos they don't turn up for meetings and discussion... after that all kway kway attend... now my own house reno, the man MIA the whole process!!! arghhhhhhhh :angry::curse:

:) *sayang* I know the headaches of managing alone...

Ask Ah Soon for the laminate and paint samples first then you can ponder a little over them... then they will warn you a few days beforehand when they need the codes. :)

aiyah they are there to pacify me only lah...the other 2 went bcos ah soon say:" let's go" think they dun dare to tell him no cos he gives them so much biz.

At my place they didn't take exact measurement but did give me good advice. One of which is to bury my wardrobe sliding track under the laminate to that it will be leveled with the floor and won't "cut leg" when we step over it :P I kiasu ask for top and bottom tracks for my sliding door in MBR cos I scared my kids crash into it.

i'm also embedding my wardrobe tracks into the laminate so won't stumble.

Wendy replying:

Ivy.... just a word of advice... take the measurements of the kitchen cabinets when tiling is done. More accurate. We went thru the exact measurements with his carpentry guy ONLY when tiling completed... cos I want specific things at certain position. Get ready your measurements for your washing machine and fridge now. The tiling guys will need from you 1 week after your hacking.

As for Ah Soon, he always wants us to replicate what he did for other houses so it is easier to fabricate. Like my shoe cabinet, Jason drew up a something which is totally the same as a house in Jurong which we viewed. We said NO. Cos our laminate selection does not fit that design. So we came up with a design ourselves.

So, you got to be specific with him when it comes to carpentry work. Show him pics, if possible.

Yes.. they always say that... everything can be done. I am very particular about kitchen cos I am cook there so I want very specific length of drawers here and there.... I scared later they tell me cannot fit la... so I rather be safe. That guy was like "why this woman so particular".... hee...heee....I planned the entire kitchen... of course I want it the way I have planned. I dont want to leave it to them.

For all that you have bought, ie electrical appliances.... you can pass the catalogue to them when they want the measurements. For the fridge, just measure the width, length and height... taking into consideration the bulky part at the back too.

For toilet fittings, no need to give them measurements... they just fit in for you when the time comes. You just need to measure the area yourselves so when you buy you know whether can fit.

For laminates and paints, I chose all before they started hacking. Just get them ready when the tiling work finished and the carpentry guy comes talking to you. This is where they need the laminates code to start fabrication.

For painting, after carpentry work.

A easy way (which has worked for us)........ type out these laminates codes on A4 sheet and give to them. No mistakes. Dont want them to write down... later write wrongly ... sa-la....

Have a floor plan ready and your painting codes.... Jason will scribble on the floor plan which wall to take which colour. But you give him A4 sheet of your selection too.

we very very kia-su la. :) :)

YES i totally agree with Wendy & smallboy, we specified the exact workspace in mm between sink and cooker, fridge, oven etc.

best is walkthrough with ah soon/jason after you do your on-site measurements and calculations.

if you want to buy those stainless steel pull rack u have to think is it attached to the door (better not, long run it'll misalign due to weight) or use a spacer so when u pull the tray manually won't hit the hinge.

recommended for kitchen,

- beside sink workspace at least 30cm,

- in between sink and hob at least 60cm.

- beside hob at least also 30cm.

- in between 2 facing cabinets there must be at least 120cm space for walking comfortably.

- oven height is standard if they do wrong then u can whack them. haha

- sink, hob and fridge form a triangle rule, in between these 3 preferably 80cm

keep your fridge/wm/hob/hood/oven dimensions always ready. because ah soon is very impromptu asking these stuff..

Edited by fondue_

i'm also embedding my wardrobe tracks into the laminate so won't stumble.

YES i totally agree with Wendy & smallboy, we specified the exact workspace in mm between sink and cooker, fridge, oven etc.

best is walkthrough with ah soon/jason after you do your on-site measurements and calculations.

if you want to buy those stainless steel pull rack u have to think is it attached to the door (better not, long run it'll misalign due to weight) or use a spacer so when u pull the tray manually won't hit the hinge.

recommended for kitchen,

- beside sink workspace at least 30cm,

- in between sink and hob at least 60cm.

- beside hob at least also 30cm.

- in between 2 facing cabinets there must be at least 120cm space for walking comfortably.

- oven height is standard if they do wrong then u can whack them. haha

- sink, hob and fridge form a triangle rule, in between these 3 preferably 80cm

keep your fridge/wm/hob/hood/oven dimensions always ready. because ah soon is very impromptu asking these stuff..

fondue thanks alot man for sharing these details!! it'll note those down. I am never a detailed person. i not for you and wendy's advice i'll probably leave all these details to the carpenter :P

hi ivy, no worries, we learnt these from ikea and online readings

it is best u make a one day trip to study the ikea kitchens. my ah lao finds it very helpful.

FINALLY, saw my final quote and yes it is just see only, not yet sign.. Y'day uncle gave me a newly drawn up chinese piece since he lost the first one and I realise there's some discrepancy on some of the itemize value. So uncle say :" ok u take this piece home and amend it urself then return to me and tell me how much." wahhh so good wor!! He's not afraid that I cheat him leh!

So my finalise quote is $36K now, this will include my expensive $9 tile for the whole of my MBR Toilet!!! yeah!!! The scope of works include

1) Hacking and disposal

2) Living/dining, bedroom passageway homo tiles

3) 3 x bedroom laminate

4) 23ft top/bottom kitchen cabinet

5) MBR wardrobe , kids room wardrobe, kids room low cabinet

6) all doors including fire rated main door

7) vanity top of MBR

8) 2 x shower screen (without the door type)

9) glass door for all toilets and kitchen

10) tiles for all 3 toilets

11) false ceiling for dining and living

12) all windows

13) all grilles

14) gate

15) tiles for small recess area

16) 4 ft shoe cabinet

17) 8 ft TV feature wall and tv console

18) 3 ft alter

19) plastering for whole house

20) change all water pipe to stainless pipe

21) replacement of main pipe

22) replacement of chute

23) 19 downlight points

24) change all switches

25) nato windows for toilets.

i dun dare to ask for blum leh :x

He'll start to dismantle my cabinet tomorrow! My reno is finally starting!! yipeeeeeeeeee.

Edited by ivy

Ivy,

So finally the day has come! Congrats!!

I think 36k for all of that also quite reasonable .. you mean the original quote even cheaper?

I saw in your list got nato windows for toilets, does it mean that the toilet windows frame is made with nato wood?