Strawberrys79

Our Lovenest~ (y & L)

mine is 400 series...near to tampines JC. ;) yours?

Are you going to re-do the flooring? This flooring is original from HDB since 1987 (i think) the year this block was built! I'm going to select bigger tiles...preferably homogenous tiles for all bedrooms and living room.

Kitchen tiles i will select ceramic...and different ceramic floor and wall tiles for both toilets.

I'm staying at the 200+ blks now, can see TPJC from my kitchen, that's y i ran to sch every morning last time. :sport-smiley-004:

My current house shd be slightly older, 1984 if i'm not wrong. But will be shifting to my new house after reno... at 300+, still near TPJC.. haha! I think my new place toilet is also original HDB tiles, safe to overlay?

I'm staying at the 200+ blks now, can see TPJC from my kitchen, that's y i ran to sch every morning last time. :sport-smiley-004:

My current house shd be slightly older, 1984 if i'm not wrong. But will be shifting to my new house after reno... at 300+, still near TPJC.. haha! I think my new place toilet is also original HDB tiles, safe to overlay?

i think for toilet tiles...better not to overlay..cos' of the moisture..i will be hacking my toilet tiles then lay over new ones.

Now me and my hb thinking whether to overlay living room tiles and bedroom tiles..cos' even though the condition is original HDB tiles..they are in good condition just worried abt the part where they have to demolish..and whether we can get the same tiles to replace. :dunno: If we dun overlay we can save a bomb..cos' the total floor area is quite huge.

that's what some contractors recommended too. If the toilet's original tiles decided to 'pop' one day, i'll have bigger trouble than hacking now.

i think the condition of the living rm HDB tiles are very gd. Mine is not giving me any problem since the day i shifted.. almost 20yrs liao. But i don't like the dark groutings, one of my neighbour actually 'painted' the grouting white all by herself! I think it shd make a gd base to overlay. The floor space is really huge if u were to hack it.

No storeroom then??? base on ur new floorplan

yah...no storeroom...cos my FSM said the direction of my master bedroom is not ideal. I also feel uncomfortable abt the bed facing the front door if i retain the existing master bedroom entrance.

that's what some contractors recommended too. If the toilet's original tiles decided to 'pop' one day, i'll have bigger trouble than hacking now.

i think the condition of the living rm HDB tiles are very gd. Mine is not giving me any problem since the day i shifted.. almost 20yrs liao. But i don't like the dark groutings, one of my neighbour actually 'painted' the grouting white all by herself! I think it shd make a gd base to overlay. The floor space is really huge if u were to hack it.

My dad was also saying the old HDB tiles makes a good base for overlaying.

He say can save time, material cost and worker's fee..considering that im almost due soon..dun have much time to spend on much reno. i would like to shift into my new place soon..at least right after i popped. ehhehe :rolleyes:

save money n time is confirmed. But my only worry is next time if the tiles pop, then it will be a horrible mess. My current flat 20+yrs floor tiles still super solid, but yday my mum knock knock the wall tiles, top row got hollow sound.. anytime will pop.

Actually w the layout pple wun be able to see ur MBR bed directly right? i dun think i can see my mum's bed leh. Anyway its better than u find a space to make a storeroom replacement, otherwise u baby's nappy n toys will flood the whole house when he/she grows up?

hi pple...

HDB rejected our application for permit to seal up the master bedroom, create another entrance at the storeroom, hack the storeroom entrance wall and door and also to widen the kitchen doorway. :(

My FSM is coming over tomorrow again and i will check with her our options...

save money n time is confirmed. But my only worry is next time if the tiles pop, then it will be a horrible mess. My current flat 20+yrs floor tiles still super solid, but yday my mum knock knock the wall tiles, top row got hollow sound.. anytime will pop.

Actually w the layout pple wun be able to see ur MBR bed directly right? i dun think i can see my mum's bed leh. Anyway its better than u find a space to make a storeroom replacement, otherwise u baby's nappy n toys will flood the whole house when he/she grows up?

Oh ya...my dad just said if we dun hack anything..and even retain the HDB original tiles..it will be under HDB warranty. That means to say if next time any of the tiles pop...HDB has to redo the tiles for us.

But i still dunno if i should forget abt overlaying the tiles..for the flat...

Tomorrow going to select tiles already..

Everything is like in a mess....haiz..

btw..Mrspiglet..your cats are very cute...!

Edited by Strawberrys79

hi pple...

HDB rejected our application for permit to seal up the master bedroom, create another entrance at the storeroom, hack the storeroom entrance wall and door and also to widen the kitchen doorway. :(

Oh ya...my dad just said if we dun hack anything..and even retain the HDB original tiles..it will be under HDB warranty. That means to say if next time any of the tiles pop...HDB has to redo the tiles for us.

HDB warranty still valid if i overlay their tiles? Or warranty is just if u retain everything as its original state?

U have to decide quick wor.. u reno starting very soon. If dun like the idea of seeing MBR from main door, can build a cabinet along the walkway n act as a partition/display shelf.

On behalf of my cats, thank u! Actually they act cute only, they always fight n bite each other... 8|

hi pple...

huh poor thing.. *sayang* I hope the FS master has a good solution for you guys!

HDB warranty still valid if i overlay their tiles? Or warranty is just if u retain everything as its original state?

U have to decide quick wor.. u reno starting very soon. If dun like the idea of seeing MBR from main door, can build a cabinet along the walkway n act as a partition/display shelf.

On behalf of my cats, thank u! Actually they act cute only, they always fight n bite each other... 8|

if you retain everything in its original state then HDB warranty is valid. No overlaying of tiles.

I was thinking in the master bedroom built a partition so that the bed doesn't have to face the main door.

No idea whether it'll work or not. Will check with the FSM on Sunday.

Last night i even dreamt abt my master bedroom and discussion with our FSM abt it. hahaha..i think im getting a little uptight abt it already. gotta take it easy.

I've two dogs..but they have became so greedy and so fat now that my mother-in-law kept feeding them.

But very soon they'll go to "slimming centre" once we shift. hohoho

huh poor thing.. *sayang* I hope the FS master has a good solution for you guys!

thanks pinkpetter...hope my place will turn out as pleasant looking and nice as yours. :)

if you retain everything in its original state then HDB warranty is valid. No overlaying of tiles.

I was thinking in the master bedroom built a partition so that the bed doesn't have to face the main door.

No idea whether it'll work or not. Will check with the FSM on Sunday.

Last night i even dreamt abt my master bedroom and discussion with our FSM abt it. hahaha..i think im getting a little uptight abt it already. gotta take it easy.

I've two dogs..but they have became so greedy and so fat now that my mother-in-law kept feeding them.

But very soon they'll go to "slimming centre" once we shift. hohoho

thanks pinkpetter...hope my place will turn out as pleasant looking and nice as yours. :)

ya, take it easy. U still got take care of ur baby, dun stress!

U part time as slimming centre boss for doggies liao ah? :)

Edited by mrspiglet

got solution liao...hehehe :paint:

we'll construct a full height wardrobe upon entering master bedroom to block the entrance.

And we also decided not to overlay the flooring since we are not doing anymore hacking of walls.

I think my reno will be completed in approx 3weeks time...hehehe..

;)

got solution liao...hehehe :paint:

we'll construct a full height wardrobe upon entering master bedroom to block the entrance.

And we also decided not to overlay the flooring since we are not doing anymore hacking of walls.

I think my reno will be completed in approx 3weeks time...hehehe..

;)

Wow, that's fast leh, your reno. done in 3 weeks. Your dad must be doing a super efficient job of supervising the workers then. U didn't ask him how much it costs?

Post up more pics of your reno process.

Wow, that's fast leh, your reno. done in 3 weeks. Your dad must be doing a super efficient job of supervising the workers then. U didn't ask him how much it costs?

Post up more pics of your reno process.

reno not done yet lah...but that was the estimated time frame. :D

Today is the first day of reno. The workers will only need max. 2 days to hack both toilet wall and floor tiles and kitchen wall tiles first.

I think cost of reno approx. $15K to $20K max. My parents wants to pay for the reno but we will instead be paying them back by instalments on a monthly basis.

No pics of reno yet. Have to get my hubby to go and take pics..cos' i can't step into the flat now with my current condition. :)

Anyway..i've contacted this cindy Ng, she's a curtain maker recommended by some of the forumers here.

She quoted me $1200 after some discount for curtains for the whole unit.

2 bedroom - half length day and night curtains, Master bedroom and Living room full height day and night curtain from wall to wall. Price also include double tracking for the curtains.

Cheap or not? She brought along her fabrics and we had selected and since confirmed her services with 30% deposit. Will post pics of the curtains once they are ready. The fabrics that i've selected are from England according to her.

Oh...and currently she's operating from home with 3 workers..so i think she can afford to charge her customers lower rates.

Will update whether she's good. :notti:

gdgd! then like that no need to stress and u can save $ by not replacing the flooring!

yup yup...hope i'll have pics of the reno in process to show to you all. :)