rdnest 0 Report post Posted January 21, 2009 Wah nice wide kitchen. Are you hacking the storeroom door? Just a suggestion I think the TV should be on the opposite wall. The walking space between yout shoe cabinet and sofa now is very narrow and the space in front of it is quite narrow too. If you move your tv to the opp wall, then extend your shoe cabinet you can place your sofa further from the TV leaving more leg space for your coffee table.. mm wow, pinkpetter. U r really good leh. can go into ID liao. Me agree with ur suggested layout too. Will make the living area less congested, better flow too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rdnest 0 Report post Posted January 21, 2009 IMHO only Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tiffanynip 0 Report post Posted January 21, 2009 i think i no need ID liao.. looking for contractor an liao LOL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 22, 2009 spam chop i think no need to replace the flooring bah that's the beauty of broken marble - it's broken if got crack just have to do some patching and no one will be the wiser :lol: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
poseidon_gal 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2009 me staying at serangoon ave 4 too.. heee ur floor plan look like my current house.. =p just bought a unit nearby a 5I unit..hee will start a thread soon once i settle my 1st appt Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tiffanynip 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2009 spam chop i think no need to replace the flooring bah that's the beauty of broken marble - it's broken if got crack just have to do some patching and no one will be the wiser :lol: can cracks be patched on the broken marble? we really need to save some cost, cos the market really very bad nowadays... the few quotations we got are abt 33k, dun wan to spend so much Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeegi 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2009 Did you consider putting the table outside the kitchen so that it won't be so hot? My mom's old house layout is the same and it's really hot after she cooks and we have to eat in the heat... just 2 cents worth of my comments Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jesperbg 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2009 can cracks be patched on the broken marble? we really need to save some cost, cos the market really very bad nowadays... the few quotations we got are abt 33k, dun wan to spend so much Welcome to Serangoon!... Ya, we also are sourcing for the value-for-money contractor...it's tough.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TBS 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2009 Did you consider putting the table outside the kitchen so that it won't be so hot? My mom's old house layout is the same and it's really hot after she cooks and we have to eat in the heat... just 2 cents worth of my comments I agree but putting the dining table in the living room will be abit cram. How about building a wall or glass partition to seperate the current kitchen into 2 portion? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted January 23, 2009 (edited) i also agree, try not to eat in kitchen, very hot n stuffy. can shorten the kitchen n create a dining room at ur dining table area? I saw someone with half wall/half glass parition, makes ur dinning room looks cozy and yet not too cramp w the see-thru glass. Edited January 23, 2009 by mrspiglet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TBS 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2009 I happen to have the half wall + glass combi...haha havent update my t-blog since dec... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tiffanynip 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2009 i feel tat on paper we can see tat the kitchen is quite long but in actual i dun think is so long le.... my hubby dun wan to put the dinning table in the living room becos he dun wan our son to watch the tv while eating, so would prefer to put in kitchen as the kitchen is not so long, putting a half wall + glass combi is kind of out Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 23, 2009 can cracks be patched on the broken marble? we really need to save some cost, cos the market really very bad nowadays... the few quotations we got are abt 33k, dun wan to spend so much broken marble is basically broken pieces of marble so if got crack then just use cement to fill in the crack will look just like the rest of the flooring liao right? :notti: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2009 IMHO only Wah say even drawn out liao le. *pai seh very long never come in to see* hehehe This layout is better for moving about. even if you want your sofa nearer with a space behind for walking it's also ok. As for the dining table.. I think in the kitchen is fine ba. unless you are the sort who needs A LOT of cabinets and moving space otherwise... make top and bottom cabinets but halfway only. so that when you put the dining table it wun be too squeezy... IMHO Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tower 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2009 For the creation of the dining room portion, perhaps you can do something similar like my house whereby you hacked amd shift back back the kitchen wall. Then do a tempered glass screen so that your kitchen wouldn't look too small and still allow the light to pass through. Hope this helps Share this post Link to post Share on other sites