Honeygal

Bachelorette's Pad

i just sent my floor plan and design to Ho Bee for initial quote, hope it wouldnt be too high. Similiar to yourself, i am also doing up my 3rm HDB and had approached couple of contractor. So far only one got back to me. saw the quote, my :jawdrop: . they work out about 40K. carpentry i would say is minimum with only bottom cabinet, one tv console and one wardrobe. S$40,000. so, Honeygal, your's probably ok compared to my first quote and besides at least the quality is assured when you engaged Ho Bee unlike mine....

Anyway, congrats to your newly renovated place, especially the glossy black floor tiles. make sure when people come visit, you dont wear mini skirt :notti:

i just sent my floor plan and design to Ho Bee for initial quote, hope it wouldnt be too high. Similiar to yourself, i am also doing up my 3rm HDB and had approached couple of contractor. So far only one got back to me. saw the quote, my :jawdrop: . they work out about 40K. carpentry i would say is minimum with only bottom cabinet, one tv console and one wardrobe. S$40,000. so, Honeygal, your's probably ok compared to my first quote and besides at least the quality is assured when you engaged Ho Bee unlike mine....

Anyway, congrats to your newly renovated place, especially the glossy black floor tiles. make sure when people come visit, you dont wear mini skirt :notti:

40K for a 3-room flat is ALOT! try bargaining further. good luck!

you are right, i didn't realise about the reflection until i first started mopping the tiles and then oooops!!!

So how much you paid for your 'barcelona' chair in the end? From whom did you buy it from huh? Curious. Still in my "wish list". Love the white one too...

paid $570 nett for the chair from Comfort Beach Road (heart very pain!!). this is after bargaining and they were having a short sale at that time. the PVC leather is the grainy textured type, not the smooth sort. so not that shiok.

glossy marble for toilet ahh...wow...must be very nice lor..i went to choose tiles in hafary oso saw the glossy floor tiles very nice and wanted to use it for kitchen but the lady in the shop strongly against it...somemore said i will regret if choose it...my hubby quickly ask me to choose those anti-slip ones....not so chio lor...:(

yep, the anti-slip tiles which i use for both toilets look and feel awful.

wish i had stuck on to my choice of glossy tiles for MBR toilet, since that is purely a toilet with no shower.

hi honeygal..i love your kitchen...very shiny...even the floor oso...very envy u to have the shiny kitchen floor...i cant choose tat cos my gal likes to run around the house...for safety purpose i got to choose those matt or anti-slip ones....err...moreover me oso very lun zun..always fall down one...heehee....

:notti: Too shiny no good. Cannot wear skirt in the house. Everything exposed. :P

Heehee...i dont wear skirt at home so its still ok lah...shiny tiles will oso make your house 'brighter' and 'bigger'....:)

hi honeygal...anymore pictures of your lovely house? I wana see your toilet and bedroom oso...:)

Heehee...i dont wear skirt at home so its still ok lah...shiny tiles will oso make your house 'brighter' and 'bigger'....:)

hi honeygal...anymore pictures of your lovely house? I wana see your toilet and bedroom oso...:)

Yes i will take more MBR pics as soon as i move in. it will be old bed, old bedside lamps etc, so nothing very exciting there. i have posted toilet and MBR pics earlier.

True! Tiles really make a difference to the house. :)

Hee... I'll love to see more pics of ur place too honeygal! :D

My dining table set was delivered yesterday. Black tempered glass with PVC leather chairs. Would have loved to get white instead of black chairs but dreaded the maintenance. $600. Quite ex i feel. the delivery guys left 2 huge scratches on the black glossy floor tiles while installing the table stands. so that patch of tile became silver, so sad:

Flat074.jpg

See that contraption at the left of the window? A real eye-sore to the clean look of the entire kitchen. that's the laundry system i bought. anyone used this same system before?

Flat073.jpg

Need advice: I have been cleaning the kitchen and realised each time i return the next day, there are lots of water stains on the kitchen sink, tap, kitchen cabinet laminates and solid surface top. must i ALWAYS wipe them dry to prevent such stains? is this common? is it due to low quality? very very exasperating. i don't encounter such stains in my current place.

Edited by Honeygal

curious about your laundry system.. can do a closer pix?

"water stains on the kitchen sink, tap, kitchen cabinet laminates and solid surface top" - I think this is a normal problem. Any high gloss surface will tend to show up water marks when water is left to dry. It is often more obvious on black then on white, because of the reflection. It's very hard to maintain a sparkling shine on everything. Even dust will show up. There are products on the market that claim to reduce water marks, but they are normally used for glass. Best option, avoid wetting too many things. Use trays, table mats.

Agree with asianms on the water stains... especially yours is a plain black table top... as for your sink & tap, can buy 3M S/S spray (available in cold storage or home-fix) to apply a protective coating on it, lesser water mark... actually water mark on S/S is unavoidable, have to live with it unless you wipe them dry after each use... or is it becos your sink is glossy surface instead of matt surface? which makes the water mark to be more obvious... maybe next time you can consider getting a granite sink instead, like what applefreak bought for her kitchen.

BTW, I realised your black glossy floor tiles are using white grout lines... did you want it this way? Why not go for black grout lines? I personally feel that making the whole flooring black would be nicer.

Agree with asianms on the water stains... especially yours is a plain black table top... as for your sink & tap, can buy 3M S/S spray (available in cold storage or home-fix) to apply a protective coating on it, lesser water mark... actually water mark on S/S is unavoidable, have to live with it unless you wipe them dry after each use... or is it becos your sink is glossy surface instead of matt surface? which makes the water mark to be more obvious... maybe next time you can consider getting a granite sink instead, like what applefreak bought for her kitchen.

BTW, I realised your black glossy floor tiles are using white grout lines... did you want it this way? Why not go for black grout lines? I personally feel that making the whole flooring black would be nicer.

the grout lines are grey, not white, but still look very obvious. sigh.

my sink is matt.

any reliable and cheap movers to recommend? am very very desperately looking for one now. all can't do the date and time i want.

Try this list:

Movers_101 90888890 (Albert)

Jenny Movers 97557813 (Vincent Tan)

Hup Hing Transport - 65678426

138 Professional Mover 96785201 (John)

Elite Mover - 62424886

Rhema Mover - 65420201

93803289 (Mr Liang)

Mr Mover - 94565253 (Raymond Leong)

Wilson - 67451298 (Lian Tat Seng)

62977252 (Daniel)

Soon Hup - 67841592

91010268 (Eric)

91744625 [weekend sat & sun only]

I have used the first 2 movers only... not the cheapest but reliable, won't demand for more $$ during mid of moving.

I used Fuhua Movers (Madam Pang 67585278) for my house moves this year and last year- husband & wife team, w two local Chinese workers. Not cheap, but good service. Quite careful with things.

Spent the last 2 weekends intensively cleaning the flat up. went home with aches and pains from head to toe!

Anyway, most unfortunately, it was during the clean-up that i spotted a whole string of 'defects', - and handover was nearly 3 weeks ago! These flaws include:

- main door frame, ie the wall between gate and door, was not plastered and painted (now trying desperately to get Ho Bee to recall their painter to get it painted. won't bother to plaster it as the whole place will get dirty)

- plenty of open drill holes inside cabinets

- storeroom door very badly painted, with lots of paint drip

- storeroom plastering very sloppily done

- plenty of paint drips on window panes and grills

- electrician forgot to install the glass piece in my living room lights and conveniently threw it away with the box. now 5 exposed bulbs, very unsightly (electrician refuses to compensate me for this)

- PVC water pipe in MBR toilet not changed to new one

- less than black grout lines for black tiles

- clothing rod in wardrobe placed too high

- shower placed too high

- cooker hob too near to wall

I may spot more as i continue my clean-up this weekend. Since full payment has been made to all contractors, it seems extremely difficult to get them to rectify or even partially refund!