Maverick_liew 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 482...nearby right? SHould be nearby bah.. Your block is the green windows wan rite? Got a friend staying around that area too.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 ya correcto. My block's picture is on my avatar. You can see. I hv also recently posted a video of my pre-reno and semi-post-reno process. You may see Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 Yes.. Thats alot.. but.. how much was ur overall reno costs? Cant be around 20K too? If not.. that's ALOT OF things that were given FOC wor.. My final reno costs is $25k. but I overhauled my 5 room, hacked up all the floor tiles, redo the toilets and kitchen.. got rid of everything... mm ok la I'm sure he earned plenty too. most of the stuff we asked from him... didn't really require material costs on his part. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahwee 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 do set aside some buffer for your budget cos often than more, will overshot budget....i initially plan for below 10k but in the end Looking forward to seeing your pic updates Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xebay11 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 My final reno costs is $25k. but I overhauled my 5 room, hacked up all the floor tiles, redo the toilets and kitchen.. got rid of everything... mm ok la I'm sure he earned plenty too. most of the stuff we asked from him... didn't really require material costs on his part. Erm, in major renovation and construction, material costs is not everything, I recently had major renovation done on my landed home, contractor estimated about one month to complete but later faced many difficulties and redoing of work, later the project dragged on to about three months, at that rate, his four workers at about $1500 each, from $6k+ ballooned to about $18k, so I really felt sorry for him, last I heard from the tile supplier was that my contractor's check bounced. I'm looking forward to my own floor plan!. Most importantly, we'll most probably be able to start our basic renovations & stuff by the middle of next month(Pending First Appt Date) as the owner has already moved out, and is willing to give us the keys quickly. My C.O and I have arrived at a conclusion. I will not get my black walls/black ceilings/black kitchen/black toilets. I will not get my 52" TV/ We will most probably combine one common room with the MBR. We will most probably get a WIW We might extend our toilet into the bigger MBR space We will most probably re-do both toilets(Hotel Style) We will most probably have very little furniture. (Due to our doggies) We will most probably be having roller blinds for all windows(Black) We will be having 'mirror film tinting' on ALL our windows The rest, depends on my 'negotiation' skills.. both with my contractor and my C.O Ha Ha your list sound more like in C.O.'s favour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Maverick_liew 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 do set aside some buffer for your budget cos often than more, will overshot budget....i initially plan for below 10k but in the end Looking forward to seeing your pic updates I have no idea how the reno loan thing works. I think we're supposed to have the final quotation with the contractor we selected.. then we use that quotation to apply for reno loan? My contractor told me.. the reno loan.. is going through his own company. so wont be so troublesome.. Is it how it works.. ? Erm, in major renovation and construction, material costs is not everything, I recently had major renovation done on my landed home, contractor estimated about one month to complete but later faced many difficulties and redoing of work, later the project dragged on to about three months, at that rate, his four workers at about $1500 each, from $6k+ ballooned to about $18k, so I really felt sorry for him, last I heard from the tile supplier was that my contractor's check bounced. Ha Ha your list sound more like in C.O.'s favour. Except for the TV size dropping due to budgets.. Most of the ideas are my 'improved' suggestions that were approved via C.O.. keke.. I not using much materials at all wor.. Only re-doing toilets.. Most of the work involves painting.. (Off the shelf pictures).... and standard items that we can buy from furniture shops.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Maverick_liew 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 My Floor Plan!!!! Yeah!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 I have no idea how the reno loan thing works. I think we're supposed to have the final quotation with the contractor we selected.. then we use that quotation to apply for reno loan? My contractor told me.. the reno loan.. is going through his own company. so wont be so troublesome.. Is it how it works.. ? Except for the TV size dropping due to budgets.. Most of the ideas are my 'improved' suggestions that were approved via C.O.. keke.. I not using much materials at all wor.. Only re-doing toilets.. Most of the work involves painting.. (Off the shelf pictures).... and standard items that we can buy from furniture shops.. mm ya contractor give final quotation then you submit it for the loan. But as you are renovating... some things might be added.. or if after hacking, sometimes they realise that something needs to be done, then have to add on lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ilmare612 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2009 Yes, always have some buffer for your reno cost. Things always change along the way. If 20K is what you budgeted for, then perhaps your reno quote should aim for 18K. Plus minus, will reach around 20K + Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2009 My Floor Plan!!!! Yeah!!!! wah looks big! I like that space behind the main door where you can have shoe cabinets... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Maverick_liew 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2009 I need recommendations for shopping items. 1. Kitchen Accessories Fridge, Microwave, Oven, Sinks 2. Living Room TVs, Sofa, TV Consoles... etc etc TBC Anyone who has good good lobang to recommend..? Can you guys please email me @ maverick_liew@yahoo.com? Sometimes renotalk forum abit slow wor.. email faster.. Alternatively, please PM me also can.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Starscream 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2009 (edited) Hi Maverick. Since you are buying many household electrical items, why not consider those bundles, e.g. Samsung which gives out freebies like washing machine, dvd system when you purchase a big TV etc. I need recommendations for shopping items. 1. Kitchen Accessories Fridge, Microwave, Oven, Sinks 2. Living Room TVs, Sofa, TV Consoles... etc etc TBC Anyone who has good good lobang to recommend..? Can you guys please email me @ maverick_liew@yahoo.com? Sometimes renotalk forum abit slow wor.. email faster.. Alternatively, please PM me also can.. It's a learning process and just pray hard you land yourself a good team for your house reno From what I've been reading.. It seems like it might not be a enjoyable process.. Edited January 19, 2009 by Starscream Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Maverick_liew 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2009 Hi Maverick. Since you are buying many household electrical items, why not consider those bundles, e.g. Samsung which gives out freebies like washing machine, dvd system when you purchase a big TV etc. It's a learning process and just pray hard you land yourself a good team for your house reno I know ar.. Now trying to find advertisements for such stuff.. I think Mustafa have something like that ar? Buy big big TV give small TV Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2009 Hee.. Now's the time to go walk walk, explore and search for the items that you like. Kong Tai in Jurong West is relatively cheap. Then there's the IT shows held every quarter. There's usually lots of goodies there. For furnishing, explore IMM, sungei kadut, and other places to find out what are the type of furnishing that you guys prefer. Sometimes neighbourhood shops have good deals as well. Oh, and go IKEA!!! Hehehe... My hb and I walked lots and lots of times to search for the items we like. Think u guys don't need to buy stuff so soon. Cuz ur 2nd appt should be like in April bah? By that time, sure have lots of different sales etc liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Maverick_liew 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2009 Hee.. Now's the time to go walk walk, explore and search for the items that you like. Kong Tai in Jurong West is relatively cheap. Then there's the IT shows held every quarter. There's usually lots of goodies there. For furnishing, explore IMM, sungei kadut, and other places to find out what are the type of furnishing that you guys prefer. Sometimes neighbourhood shops have good deals as well. Oh, and go IKEA!!! Hehehe... My hb and I walked lots and lots of times to search for the items we like. Think u guys don't need to buy stuff so soon. Cuz ur 2nd appt should be like in April bah? By that time, sure have lots of different sales etc liao. True.. We've got a friend who's working in Star Furniture.. Juz came back from there.. Saw a few pieces that we like.. already KIV. but without deposit yet.. keke.. Later going Audiohouse to looksee looksee.. If still got time.. going Balastier too.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites