newnyew

Buddha Painting For The Living Room

Dear All

I was very into the Buddha Theme when I was doing up my living room.

As I was studying Fine Arts in NAFA then, I had to come up with a theme for my painting.

& I did it on Buddha of cos! I could pass it up as my project and hang it in my living room wall later!

Its like killing two birds with one stone :sport-smiley-004:

And so:

Here is the process of how I did a Buddha Painting for my Living Room.

*sorry for the small pics cos i wasnt allowed to upload so many pics at one go*

I scoured the net for a Buddha image and a verse that I LOVE!

- did some photoshop on the wall the painting is to be hanged

- added grids to align with the canvas and

- drew an outline to be copied onto the canvas.

3187851619_22c40bb93d.jpg

- started with yellow acrylic paint

- then added different shades of yellow

- outlined the face and painted silver on the side but didn't like it

- so I changed to dark brown

- then I mixed a calm turquoise colour for the rest of the canvas.

*U may have noticed the reflective Buddha ear :notti: but I will tell u later*

3188693852_e83b20396e.jpg

- flipped the canvas over and started dripping white acrylic paint to resemble the burning of the incense.

- silver was dripped as well.

- tried to be creative by trying to make the english alphabets appear chinese!

3187800191_36b1df7f0b.jpg

Lastly, I meticulously pasted gold leaves which my love bought from Thailand for me. All 500pieces!!

**Yup, they were pasted on the Buddha ear as well :) **

See if u can read the sentences without referring to the "english" version! :P

3187911945_49d4b92955.jpg

My Living Room

*Yup, I did the Ceramic Buddha head and Buddha hand as well*

3187757471_79e0141fb0.jpg

Edited by newnyew

:bow::bow:

You saved a a lot by diying instead of buying from outside :D

The buddha's hand also diy?

yeah and i can still feel the 'love' in doing up all these projects.

both the hand n head were done during my ceramics class.

here's a brief shot. the head really started out horrible!

I recently decided to paint it gold as it was natural before that.

3197245220_658bb0f6d2.jpg

3196401959_a35b562e38.jpg

Edited by newnyew

:jawdrop::jawdrop::jawdrop:

swee de lor!!

me wanted a red rose (with black background) de... can give advice?

Hihi rdnest

I saw ur house pics :D Simple & nice!

i tot red rose with black bg might be too dark so here's my small suggestion

u can try doing a simple rose outline(which i took from ur wallpaper)

either on one big canvas or a series of small canvases.

hope it helps! or u can always engage my 'PRO' svcs! hehe :P

3197382366_9bbeb6816c.jpg

Hihi rdnest

I saw ur house pics :D Simple & nice!

i tot red rose with black bg might be too dark so here's my small suggestion

u can try doing a simple rose outline(which i took from ur wallpaper)

either on one big canvas or a series of small canvases.

hope it helps! or u can always engage my 'PRO' svcs! hehe :P

3197382366_9bbeb6816c.jpg

:bow::bow::bow:

U so super gd leh! me dun noe how to make arty thing leh. only noe how to see & like nia :rofl:

me got a plain wall facing my main door. at 1st wanted to make a glass cabinet but hor too ex lor & make the space abit cramp & overcrowding. Now tot of putting up portraits. esp like those few portraits make one picture kind. so think of rose theme & in black/red de... for instance...

roseportrait.jpg

possible to advise me ur pro fee? :P

Edited by rdnest

roseportrait.jpg

Hi my dear sorry for the late reply. been busy with my 大扫除.

If u wanna DIY, i can suggest u go n find a big fabric with the rose pattern that u like

and cut it into 4 pieces, then stretch them on a canvas.

its fast n easy n u dun even have to paint! n they should cost less than $50!!