zonkkie 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 (edited) We got our first home around the same time renotalk started. Now that we're in the process of moving to our second home, we're extremely grateful to find a host of useful information here. 2008 has been a year of change for us, we got our first child, sold our house and bought a new one. Due to the caretaking arrangements for my daughter, we were looking for a specific area in AMK for our new home. We searched in vain for a couple of months for a nice big place that is quiet, breezy and not too old until a new listing on my birthday caught our eye. Went to see the place and it was big (137 sqm), breezy (NS Facing, 2nd highest floor) and quiet (no playground nearby, not near main roads). So even though everyone say wait until next year or 2010 to buy new place, we bought it. So now just waiting for our 1st Appt. In the meantime, we have started getting quotes from IDs and Contractors... Our floorplan as attached: It is nice and big. Our only issue now is that we will like an open concept kitchen by hacking the wall between the study and kitchen and turning the study into a dining area. However, we don't know where to place the tv and sofa since the living area is too long to place at the ends.... Anyone got any bright ideas let us know ya. Edited January 2, 2009 by zonkkie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Spam chop and congrates on ur large new home! It really seems very spacious from ur layout. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zonkkie 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Angel - Thanks! First layout plan is what we are thinking about (not sure whether practical). Second Layout plan.... a proposal from ID... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 (edited) Wah... Both seems very nice! I prefer ur layout for the balcony, living room and MBR. The kitchen layout from ur ID is good, cuz got a storeroom, and u'll be able to interact with ur guests slightly easier. Also it's easier to reach the fridge/stove/sink in this layout. Edited January 2, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Starscream 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Hurray Zonkkie looks like a dream home! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 spam chop first look, like the kitchen layout of your ID but on 2nd look, how is anyone going to pass when someone is cooking? :unsure: for the living room, maybe changing the position of the tv with the sofa on your ID's layout can be done? or shift the tv wall further down towards the MBR in your layout? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zonkkie 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 spam chop first look, like the kitchen layout of your ID but on 2nd look, how is anyone going to pass when someone is cooking? :unsure: for the living room, maybe changing the position of the tv with the sofa on your ID's layout can be done? or shift the tv wall further down towards the MBR in your layout? hey... ya la, kitchen aisle a bit congestion in the ID layout... thats why scratch head. I dont like the ID living room layout as i think the feature wall breaks up the space. If install TV towards MBR hor, then very far from sofa to TV... around 7m... then i need 50+" TV.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 congratulations! very big space to play with. I find the feature wall in the middle of the living area disruptive though some people will say it breaks the monotony of the open space. Open space good, esp with small children. But sliding door to separate dining/kitchen from living area is good idea, cos you will soon have a toddler, so ability to close up certain areas of the house is good. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Hmm.. Comes to think of it, yah, u guys r quite rite about the walking space in ID's layout. How abt making the store smaller, and the fridge to be next to the wall, instead of leaving a space btw wall and fridge? At least got more walking space. Then the kitchen cabinets also dun extend till the end, cuz the entrance to the svc balcony will be blocked as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tommy78 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Hmm.. Comes to think of it, yah, u guys r quite rite about the walking space in ID's layout. How abt making the store smaller, and the fridge to be next to the wall, instead of leaving a space btw wall and fridge? At least got more walking space. Then the kitchen cabinets also dun extend till the end, cuz the entrance to the svc balcony will be blocked as well. notice u going to install 3 ceiling fan.. installing with light kit? u might want to find out the height of lights kit of the ceiling fan from the ground... cos it can be as low as 2.2m Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fitness 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Hi, your flat got no storeroom or hack by previous owner? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sam Lee Poh Huat 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Mind disclose or pm me ur purchase price n COV? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zonkkie 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 notice u going to install 3 ceiling fan.. installing with light kit? u might want to find out the height of lights kit of the ceiling fan from the ground... cos it can be as low as 2.2m Living room and MBR confirm installing. Living room should be doing L Box. Our preference is not to do light kit cos got the dizzy effect.... but will take note of your advice. Hi, your flat got no storeroom or hack by previous owner? Hack by previous owner. Initially is outside the MBR. Current owner using the Study has a HUUUUUUUGE storeroom.... so wasted... anyway, ya, we need to build a storeroom somewhere... got baby got a lot of barang barang.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jupiter Home 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 You got a long balcony there, a lot of privacy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sam Lee Poh Huat 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 Harlow.. thanks for ur pm.. u hv so much space to play with. Guess that has brought alot of envious look fm most of us here is it really a must to sit ur dining table into the space of ur present study room area? Maybe u cld extend open concept kitchen floor area n "eat" into partial/half ur study rm n to hv a "broaden" hall way that view ur living cum dining. Dont forget u still plenty of space on the left of ur layout.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites