zonkkie 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 Check with you guys.. Most of the contractors told me that when I overhaul my kitchen (including changing of wall tiles), I'll most prob need to change the window grills as well. Reason being that there will be additional cement, etc, and the window grill will not fit anymore. Is it true? What's the est price for doing a new window grill just for the kitchen? *signz.. more $* I got like 5 quotes none of them say leh.... got one say better change to fit into the overall theme but not due to the cement thing. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cher 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 Hi Angel81, ur hse started hacking?? mine can start nex wk liao. cos current owner said tat they wil try 2 pass us the keys on 12.01.09. hehe. so xcited leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 (edited) You got the kitchen window photo to show us? Hee.. I think I don't have. I'll go and take a pic tonight and post tml to show ur bah. I got like 5 quotes none of them say leh.... got one say better change to fit into the overall theme but not due to the cement thing. It's not in my quotes also. But all 3 contractors that I brought to my place to view also told me to prepare for this possibility. Apparently the window grill will have to be taken down to hack the tiles next to it. After cementing and new tiles, the grills may not fit anymore due to space constraint. Now wondering if any forumners experienced such thing before loh. Hi Angel81, ur hse started hacking?? mine can start nex wk liao. cos current owner said tat they wil try 2 pass us the keys on 12.01.09. hehe. so xcited leh. Harlow harlow! I think my time line gota push back liao. Haha. I'm only going to sign reno contract tonight. Still need time to get loan approval and HDB permit leh. Most prob starting work after CNY liao. Signz.. Hee.. Very excited for you though. Have you applied for the permit yet? Must post pics on ur blog to show us k? Edited January 9, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 hehehehe... the wc in the wash area is i draw one. This floor plan is edited by me into the exact layout as it is now. So in actual fact, there was no wc there in the floor plan purchased from HDB. ic....no wonder la. Then u shouldnt have a problem to do the wc inside cos that's what I did for mine. the WC is right inside and bought a mini sink for the wash area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 (edited) ic....no wonder la. Then u shouldnt have a problem to do the wc inside cos that's what I did for mine. the WC is right inside and bought a mini sink for the wash area. Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. Edited January 9, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chronograph 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 It's not in my quotes also. But all 3 contractors that I brought to my place to view also told me to prepare for this possibility. Apparently the window grill will have to be taken down to hack the tiles next to it. After cementing and new tiles, the grills may not fit anymore due to space constraint. Now wondering if any forumners experienced such thing before loh. Not true lah, they probably want to pull a quick one. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Oh cool! That's exactly what I hope to do! Thanks very much for the layout hello88. It's really a great help. By the way, is it cramp to have the wc inside? It looks fine to me, but good to double check with you first. no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Wash Area WC Problem My contractor confirmed that it is not possible to shift the WC location inside due to the pipes involved. As this WC is a P-trap, it'll need pipes to be extended out, and there'll be no space for the pipes at that little corner. Anyone's wash area's WC is a P-trap one as well? Are there any pipes extended out from your WC? Hello88, possible to trouble you to take a pic to show me your wash area's WC as well as the pipes please? no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) Hee.. yupz, that's the reason why we did not hack away the wash area in the end loh. But we'll not be installing the instant heater there, cuz it's really too tiny. And my contractor said that there's no space to shift the WC inside. Kitchen Window Grills Problem These are the pics of the window grills. As you can see, there's just a finger space between the window grill and the wall. Our contractor reminded us yesterday that we'll most prob need to put some $ aside to change the window grill after re-tiling the kitchen. Anyone got this problem too? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 no la, its ok to have the wc for the wash area especially when there's visitors as it can be too troublesome for the older folks to use the loo upstairs. I even have the mini sink as well as instant heater installed inside. Great to have 3 bathroom at home but not for long cos would be shifting in late Mar so its down to 2 toilets for big family of 7 members (4 adults, 3 kids) wise choice hello88.. better consider carefully if u wan to hack #1 toilet... less privacy as guest goes #2 as well as inconvenience for old folks and all guests to go up stairs... jus my advise... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 (edited) wise choice hello88.. better consider carefully if u wan to hack #1 toilet... less privacy as guest goes #2 as well as inconvenience for old folks and all guests to go up stairs... jus my advise... Yah. We already don't intend to hack Lvl1 toilet. Edited January 10, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
porkypig 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Wash Area WC Problem My contractor confirmed that it is not possible to shift the WC location inside due to the pipes involved. As this WC is a P-trap, it'll need pipes to be extended out, and there'll be no space for the pipes at that little corner. Anyone's wash area's WC is a P-trap one as well? Are there any pipes extended out from your WC? Hello88, possible to trouble you to take a pic to show me your wash area's WC as well as the pipes please? Hee.. yupz, that's the reason why we did not hack away the wash area in the end loh. But we'll not be installing the instant heater there, cuz it's really too tiny. And my contractor said that there's no space to shift the WC inside. Kitchen Window Grills Problem These are the pics of the window grills. As you can see, there's just a finger space between the window grill and the wall. Our contractor reminded us yesterday that we'll most prob need to put some $ aside to change the window grill after re-tiling the kitchen. Anyone got this problem too? Can't they remove the grilles first before they hack away the tiles and replaced it back after tiling is done?? I don't think they are going to hack away the grilles with hackers and hammer?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Can't they remove the grilles first before they hack away the tiles and replaced it back after tiling is done?? I don't think they are going to hack away the grilles with hackers and hammer?? Hehehe. They are going to remove the grilles first then hack away the tiles. They are just afraid that there will not be enough space to fit the grilles back, with the extra cement and different tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 mmm judging from the height... do you need the grilles? Half of my windows don't have grilles cos they face the main road and there is no ledge outside for people to climb in from. So we took them away. what about that? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Wash Area WC Problem My contractor confirmed that it is not possible to shift the WC location inside due to the pipes involved. As this WC is a P-trap, it'll need pipes to be extended out, and there'll be no space for the pipes at that little corner. Anyone's wash area's WC is a P-trap one as well? Are there any pipes extended out from your WC? Hello88, possible to trouble you to take a pic to show me your wash area's WC as well as the pipes oh dear, what happened to my post....repeated so many times. sorry to 'bomb' your thread. Yup, my wc is using P-trap. How come your contractor said it cant be done. From the look of it, your seller's wc piping like a long way from the main piping. Wonder if big biz would be able to travel all the way to where its supposed to go. Heee..... I'll try to snap a pic and show u. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 mmm judging from the height... do you need the grilles? Half of my windows don't have grilles cos they face the main road and there is no ledge outside for people to climb in from. So we took them away. what about that? Hee.. We did think of that. But scare next time got kids very dangerous leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites