Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 Wow, moved in condition leh. Just moved in and save u all reno and all hassle that comes with reno. But, if i would to reno... probably the below: 1) overhaul all toilets and wash room. 2) overhaul kitchen 3) painting 4) overhaul the bed rooms. 5) lighting 6) curtain 30k should suffice??? Harlow! Hehe, if just move in like this, won't feel like it's my house. 'Cuz none of my "stamp" leh. We going to do these: 1. Hack & relay foyer tiles 2. Hack & relay balcony tiles 3. Overhaul kitchen 4. Overhaul MBR & MBR toilet 5. Redo bedrm 2 wardrobe 6. Lvl2 common toilet - overlay floor tiles & do vanity 7. Change all toilets' WC/basin/screens/doors/accessories 8. Carpentry at foyer and balcony 9. Polish marble 10. Rewiring for whole house 11. Ceiling works 12. Painting 13. Curtains 14. Re-stain wooden banister Total about 35K (excluding curtains, lights, aircon, kitchen/toilet fixtures & accessories, furnishing). No more $$ to redo common toilet or wash area.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chronograph 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 Harlow! Hehe, if just move in like this, won't feel like it's my house. 'Cuz none of my "stamp" leh. We going to do these: 1. Hack & relay foyer tiles 2. Hack & relay balcony tiles 3. Overhaul kitchen 4. Overhaul MBR & MBR toilet 5. Redo bedrm 2 wardrobe 6. Lvl2 common toilet - overlay floor tiles & do vanity 7. Change all toilets' WC/basin/screens/doors/accessories 8. Carpentry at foyer and balcony 9. Polish marble 10. Rewiring for whole house 11. Ceiling works 12. Painting 13. Curtains 14. Re-stain wooden banister Total about 35K (excluding curtains, lights, aircon, kitchen/toilet fixtures & accessories, furnishing). No more $$ to redo common toilet or wash area.. like that u need budget another 10k to 15k for your curtain, curtains, lights, aircon, kitchen/toilet fixtures & accessories, furnishing. Total = 45k to 50k. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 like that u need budget another 10k to 15k for your curtain, curtains, lights, aircon, kitchen/toilet fixtures & accessories, furnishing. Total = 45k to 50k. Yah loh. It's the carpentry and rewiring that are the killers. U really saved alot by not doing rewiring. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chronograph 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 Yah loh. It's the carpentry and rewiring that are the killers. U really saved alot by not doing rewiring. If u r daring, rewire yourself lah... not so difficult so long u have the time, buy wiring, buy plastic trunking, buy MCB, ELCB but it is protruding out not hidden. As u need equipment to cut the wall to seal the wiring. For me, i rather engaged pro to do it swee swee....but pocket burn one big hole. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 If u r daring, rewire yourself lah... not so difficult so long u have the time, buy wiring, buy plastic trunking, buy MCB, ELCB but it is protruding out not hidden. As u need equipment to cut the wall to seal the wiring. For me, i rather engaged pro to do it swee swee....but pocket burn one big hole. Haha, i tink rewiring is best left to the experts. Don't wana switch on the lights and the whole place power trip. But haiz, it's also cuz of the rewiring that we have to redo the ceilings. Still, it's better safe then sorry. Next time if have more $ then do the toilets loh. wow!!!it seems u are also doing alot of stuffs lei! A total revamp!!! When can we start seeing you post up your reno picture?! Harlow harlow! Hee.. alot but not all that we would like to do. So it's not really a total revamp lar. I wana redo all toilets, and my hb wana change the marble floor. But we can't due to budget. Still haven sign quotation, get loan approval and HDB permit leh. I also wana start asap! But we're gg to sign the quotation tml lar. hehehe... So it's one step closer to reno starting date. But hor, looking at the time line, looks like we have to start after CNY liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 mm I agree wor... When I looked at the re-wiring cost + hacking of cornices and reconstruction... I nearly fainted. So decided against it. *keeping fingers crossed that everything will be alright* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 why gotta wait?once sign can start the hacking first ma. i think if u really going to change everything,its going to cost u a bomb!Maybe $80k! Hee, better not lar. Rather play it safe. Aniway, still need to apply permit leh. That will take a couple of days liao woh. Yah man, to change everything has a very scary price tag. And it's a bit of a waste, esp the marble flooring. So live with it loh. mm I agree wor... When I looked at the re-wiring cost + hacking of cornices and reconstruction... I nearly fainted. So decided against it. *keeping fingers crossed that everything will be alright* Scary amount right? Signz. But bobian, cuz we intend to stay here long. And since the last rewiring was done 10yrs ago, we decided to go ahead and do it loh. Guess where the rewiring and ceiling works budget came from? From overhaul of my wash area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
canloveant 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 Mine's Blk 469, behind Lakeshore there. Yupz! Very excited about the yummy foods and shops. Love the environment there. U familiar with there izit? Happy New Yr! Din login for sometime so missed out your reply. Ha! Oh, I staying ard Jurong area. So been to the 400+, 500+ market for food pretty often... Then I'm getting my own hse soon. in Jurong area too. wanna stay near to my parents... You did quite a lot of shopping ah! I like your basin, the shape very nice! How much you got it for?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 Happy New Yr! Din login for sometime so missed out your reply. Ha! Oh, I staying ard Jurong area. So been to the 400+, 500+ market for food pretty often... Then I'm getting my own hse soon. in Jurong area too. wanna stay near to my parents... You did quite a lot of shopping ah! I like your basin, the shape very nice! How much you got it for?? Happy New Year to u too! Ooo, so when are u getting ur own place? Hee, yeah. Now gota stop shopping liao. Even just paying the deposits, it's already alot. Gota save to buy other more immediate stuff like lights. The basin is $120. Tap is $65. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 Hee, better not lar. Rather play it safe. Aniway, still need to apply permit leh. That will take a couple of days liao woh. Yah man, to change everything has a very scary price tag. And it's a bit of a waste, esp the marble flooring. So live with it loh. Scary amount right? Signz. But bobian, cuz we intend to stay here long. And since the last rewiring was done 10yrs ago, we decided to go ahead and do it loh. Guess where the rewiring and ceiling works budget came from? From overhaul of my wash area. HUH poor girl. I think if you ask my mom to choose between rewiring and her wash area she will DIE DIE make sure her wash area is revamped. But I guess you were right to do the re-wiring. old wiring IS scary. I just saw your toilet bowl problem... so what's the verdict? can move? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted January 8, 2009 (edited) Problem with my Wash Area Looking at our floor plan, the correct WC location should be right inside the wash area. Really wonder why it's at it's current location. We've asked our contractor to meet us on Friday to take a look at it, and check if he's able to shift it's location. *Fingers crossed* hmmmmm.....thought the wc is in the original location as in the floorplan? WC facing the door way. Edited January 8, 2009 by hello88 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chronograph 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 HUH poor girl. I think if you ask my mom to choose between rewiring and her wash area she will DIE DIE make sure her wash area is revamped. But I guess you were right to do the re-wiring. old wiring IS scary. I just saw your toilet bowl problem... so what's the verdict? can move? Of course, wash area will be the choice. Bet my wife will go for it as well. As for old wiring, they are copper and very hardy. My parent flat is like 42 years old(recently just been enblock) and it is still going strong. So long it is use in house i believe it can last my life time. Most of us rewired cos the lighting point or socket outlet is not what we desired. For my EM, I tried not to removed the existing wiring but instead add on, that will save u. The very most add more MCB. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 (edited) HUH poor girl. I think if you ask my mom to choose between rewiring and her wash area she will DIE DIE make sure her wash area is revamped. But I guess you were right to do the re-wiring. old wiring IS scary. I just saw your toilet bowl problem... so what's the verdict? can move? Of course, wash area will be the choice. Bet my wife will go for it as well. As for old wiring, they are copper and very hardy. My parent flat is like 42 years old(recently just been enblock) and it is still going strong. So long it is use in house i believe it can last my life time. Most of us rewired cos the lighting point or socket outlet is not what we desired. For my EM, I tried not to removed the existing wiring but instead add on, that will save u. The very most add more MCB. Hi pinkpetter & chrono, Haha, it was a very hard decision. I just hope that I don't regret it whenever I see the wash area. Especially after I've seen chrono's nice wash area! Another big reason for doing that was that we wanted/needed to change quite afew light points and ppt. We wana do L-boxes at both dining & living. The whole kitchen's electrical will need to redo also cuz overhaul. Some of the ppts are at super weird locations, like in the middle of the wall... Add here add there, in the end decided to re-wire loh. Pinkpetter, hehe, the toilet bowl pblm still duno yet. We'll be meeting the contractor this evening to take a look at the place. Reaaaaalllllyy hope can change location. hmmmmm.....thought the wc is in the original location as in the floorplan? WC facing the door way. hehehehe... the wc in the wash area is i draw one. This floor plan is edited by me into the exact layout as it is now. So in actual fact, there was no wc there in the floor plan purchased from HDB. Edited January 9, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 Check with you guys.. Most of the contractors told me that when I overhaul my kitchen (including changing of wall tiles), I'll most prob need to change the window grills as well. Reason being that there will be additional cement, etc, and the window grill will not fit anymore. Is it true? What's the est price for doing a new window grill just for the kitchen? *signz.. more $* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Jupiter Home 0 Report post Posted January 9, 2009 You got the kitchen window photo to show us? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites