ivy 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 how many tetras are in there? seems like a lot. My puny fish tank only got about 6 tetras but got quite a number of tiny shrimps and snails. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 (edited) how many tetras are in there? seems like a lot. My puny fish tank only got about 6 tetras but got quite a number of tiny shrimps and snails. Harlow! I tink we still have about 90 plus tetras! That time we bought 100 (the bag of fish stated 100 lar, duno true anot )to put into the tank, cuz lots of pple told us that about half will die due to the difference in the waters. But so far, only 4 died. Wondering what to do with so many tetras. Hehehehe We also wana buy shrimps! Think my hb wana buy cherry shrimps. We also got snails. Think they came with one of the new plants. But I dun like the snails leh. Edited May 8, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Angel, so cosy already...so many fish... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Harlow! I tink we still have about 90 plus tetras! That time we bought 100 (the bag of fish stated 100 lar, duno true anot )to put into the tank, cuz lots of pple told us that about half will die due to the difference in the waters. But so far, only 4 died. Wondering what to do with so many tetras. Hehehehe We also wana buy shrimps! Think my hb wana buy cherry shrimps. We also got snails. Think they came with one of the new plants. But I dun like the snails leh. the mini shrimps are nice. Very cute!! and i like to see them preggy cos u can actually see their eggs in them. The snails multiply really fast. When we brought back the tank, I only spotted 1 big snail. I quite like it cos it's shell colour was beautiful. A little yellow and pink mixed. after awhile wahhh multiply like mad and we gotta scoop out the snails so that they will not eat up all our plants... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zc31 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Harlow! Hehe, yupz! We've played quite afew times liao, at our walkway btw living and dining. Now we're tinking of getting another mj table, then during gatherings can open 2 tables. hahahaha... Tink sooner or later, my house will become a gambling den. Wah so hard core 2 tables. U play how big? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 familyof4 Hehe, thanks! Yah, lots of fishes. Tink too many liao. Wonder if the tank can take in more anot, cuz we wana get shrimps. ivy Yah! I also think that they are very cute. If the shrimps lay eggs, will the fish eat the eggs? At least ur snails look pretty. At first wen they came, mine were like transparent in colour. But somehow, they became brownish in colour. Wonder if it's because of all the algae and dirt they eat. One good thing abt them is that they keep eating the dirt. Now my rocks and 'guardians' all very clean. Zc31 Haha, not hard core lar. My hb's relatives alot. Then during gatherings, esp cny, they'll play. 20 plus pple with just one table really not enough. Then sometimes our frens come to play mj, but my in-laws wana invite their frens to play on same day too, then cannot loh. So to settle things, we're tinking of getting another table loh. I play small small only one leh. $1-$2, max $10-$20 (5 tai). Ending amt divide by 2. U and ur wife play? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Wooo .. nice, got aquarium. That's a lot of fishes you got there .. are they easy to take care? As for your plants/orchids on the floor, you may want to put them on a rack or something so that it gets the light from the windows Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Wooo .. nice, got aquarium. That's a lot of fishes you got there .. are they easy to take care? As for your plants/orchids on the floor, you may want to put them on a rack or something so that it gets the light from the windows Haha, yah, alot hor? According to my hb, so far still rather easy to take care. I just stand and admire them only. We got shift them out abit during the day for them to receive sunlight. Our balcony can receive abit of direct sunlight during these few mths. We'll also put them on the ledge outside the windows to get more sunlight when we get home or during weekends. But hor, I got one plant's stems getting softer and softer leh. Wonder if it's dying. There's some whitish stuff on the soil. Wonder if they're bateria/mold. Any idea why the stems will get softer & softer? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 ivy Yah! I also think that they are very cute. If the shrimps lay eggs, will the fish eat the eggs? At least ur snails look pretty. At first wen they came, mine were like transparent in colour. But somehow, they became brownish in colour. Wonder if it's because of all the algae and dirt they eat. One good thing abt them is that they keep eating the dirt. Now my rocks and 'guardians' all very clean. [ I've nv got chance to see the eggs leh. After a while the Mama shrimp will keep hiding and the next I know I see baby shrimps swimming around already. I guess some will be eaten ba cos when the shrimp is preggy seems like a lot of eggs, but when baby shrimps come out don't seems like that many leh. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 I've nv got chance to see the eggs leh. After a while the Mama shrimp will keep hiding and the next I know I see baby shrimps swimming around already. I guess some will be eaten ba cos when the shrimp is preggy seems like a lot of eggs, but when baby shrimps come out don't seems like that many leh. Haha! Tink the Mama shrimp hide to prevent fishes from eating her eggs. The baby shrimps must be very cute! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 Haha! Tink the Mama shrimp hide to prevent fishes from eating her eggs. The baby shrimps must be very cute! ohh they are really cute!! very tiny. you really need to look really hard to see them. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hello88 2 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 no, angel's lovenest at Jurong West. oops, what happened? I remembered clearly that he was asking where about is your EM. Hahaha....then post was edited. hahaha.....wow ur EM very nicely renovated and decorated...love that 'birdie' at the balcony. btw, how much was your reno excluding furnishing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2009 wah so many tetras!!! nice! i am rearing some small fishes. bought guppies also. and now one has given birth. haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xherion 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2009 wooooo that looks nice with the fishes and plants. did you buy orchid in the end? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 (edited) Hi Guys, sorry for the late reply. Was on leave and didn't check emails/online for the past few days. ivy Hee, sounds fun. Now our water seems to have some pblm. The fishes are slowly getting bloated and dying. Really duno wat's wrong. Will the snails that came with the plants we bought bring diseases? hello88 Thanks! Without furnishing/air-con, the reno was $36k. Think for the large amt of carpentry we did, it's quite reasonable. guy77 Ooo I like guppies cuz of their colourful tails! But hb dun wan. How's the baby guppies so far? Did u separate them or just let the babies remain in the same tank? xherion Harlow! Which orchid did u mean? The yellow ones? Nope, didn't buy them cuz hb insisted on the purple ones that you can see in the balcony pics. Edited May 13, 2009 by Angel81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites