ivy 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 ohh dear. poor fishies.. I'm really not sure about the diseases leh, not an expert in aquarium. maybe can call the fish shop to ask? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 ohh dear. poor fishies.. I'm really not sure about the diseases leh, not an expert in aquarium. maybe can call the fish shop to ask? Duno what my hb will be doing leh. He now everyday go back and see if any of the fishes got the "bloating syndrome", and will quarantine them. But most of the time, the quarantined fish will die. U think we should change most of the water? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 Duno what my hb will be doing leh. He now everyday go back and see if any of the fishes got the "bloating syndrome", and will quarantine them. But most of the time, the quarantined fish will die. U think we should change most of the water? hmmm i think changing the water may not help if the disease is contagious. Best thing is still to consult the fish shop and ask them to recommend medication if necessary. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rdnest 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 wow, i'm so late to send my congrats! ur reno has turned out so nice!! very cosy, truly a Home Sweet Home lv ur decals too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 hmmm i think changing the water may not help if the disease is contagious. Best thing is still to consult the fish shop and ask them to recommend medication if necessary. True true. Ok, I'll tell my hb bah. Thanks! Hope that the fishes will b ok soon. Very sad to see them die one by one. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 wow, i'm so late to send my congrats! ur reno has turned out so nice!! very cosy, truly a Home Sweet Home lv ur decals too Harlow! Hehe, it's never too late. Thanks gerl! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 angel: yup i have separated the young from the mother. 9 managed to survive. I am currently mating one with the other. Keke. More babies. I have transferred all my fishes from my 2 ft tank to my 1ft tank. Congestion at the moment. But surprisingly, the fishes are coping well. Got from some website: To treat Bloat, the plan of attack is: Metronidazole and water changes, water changes, water changes!! 1. Remove carbon/resins from filter. 2. Perform a 30-50% water change (reduces free-floating bacteria population) 3. Add salt (teaspoon to a tablespoon per gallon) to aid the fish's osmotic regulation processes. 4. Treat with 250mg/20gallons of Metronidazole (Flagyl) 5. Leave for 3 days and do not feed. 6. After 3 days, perform another large water change. 7. Replace the salt. 8. Add full dosage of Metronidazole. 9. Wait another 3 days. During this phase, the bloat should be decreasing in appearance. In large fish, the water may take on an ammonia odor from the high volume of urea the fish should now be producing due to reducing the bloat and recovering renal activity. 10. 3rd day, another water change. Also, replace the salt and redose the metronidazole (full dose). If the fish looks to be well on the road to recovery you can offer a small feeding each day. 11. Another water change on the 3rd day. No meds but, I'd recommend the salt. You should be clear now. This is the treatment I use on my africans, puffers, and my lungfishes/polypteridae. Maybe first step you should change the tank water partially. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 angel: yup i have separated the young from the mother. 9 managed to survive. I am currently mating one with the other. Keke. More babies. I have transferred all my fishes from my 2 ft tank to my 1ft tank. Congestion at the moment. But surprisingly, the fishes are coping well. Got from some website: To treat Bloat, the plan of attack is: Metronidazole and water changes, water changes, water changes!! 1. Remove carbon/resins from filter. 2. Perform a 30-50% water change (reduces free-floating bacteria population) 3. Add salt (teaspoon to a tablespoon per gallon) to aid the fish's osmotic regulation processes. 4. Treat with 250mg/20gallons of Metronidazole (Flagyl) 5. Leave for 3 days and do not feed. 6. After 3 days, perform another large water change. 7. Replace the salt. 8. Add full dosage of Metronidazole. 9. Wait another 3 days. During this phase, the bloat should be decreasing in appearance. In large fish, the water may take on an ammonia odor from the high volume of urea the fish should now be producing due to reducing the bloat and recovering renal activity. 10. 3rd day, another water change. Also, replace the salt and redose the metronidazole (full dose). If the fish looks to be well on the road to recovery you can offer a small feeding each day. 11. Another water change on the 3rd day. No meds but, I'd recommend the salt. You should be clear now. This is the treatment I use on my africans, puffers, and my lungfishes/polypteridae. Maybe first step you should change the tank water partially. WAO! Thanks very very much for the remedy! I'll print this and show it to my hb. But hor, wah, dun feed them for 3 days ah? Won't they be super hungry? Glad to hear that some of the babies survived. Have they started to show their colouring already? Hehe, pretty soon u can start selling baby guppies. hehehehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
guy77 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 (edited) I forgot to add the salt add is not your table salt hor. It is EPSOM SALT. Can purchase from fish shops. Tell them your problems and they will recommend. Stop feeding temporarily cos of bloating. Let them clear their systems. Maybe when the swelling reduced, then can feed a little. Still small. Later I take pics and show on my t-blog. Haha. No la. Where can sell? Give maybe. Edited May 13, 2009 by guy77 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2009 I forgot to add the salt add is not your table salt hor. It is EPSOM SALT. Can purchase from fish shops. Tell them your problems and they will recommend. Stop feeding temporarily cos of bloating. Let them clear their systems. Maybe when the swelling reduced, then can feed a little. Still small. Later I take pics and show on my t-blog. Haha. No la. Where can sell? Give maybe. Oh, haha! Heng u tell me. I was all prepared to tell my hb about this and give him my kitchen salt to add. Hehehehehe.. Cool, I'll do that. Thanks for the advice again! Hee, now the pretty "long-kang" fishes are rather popular leh. Everytime I go Qian Hu or Farm Art, I see pple catching them. Maybe can start matchmaking good ones and sell/give. Looking forward to ur pics! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted May 16, 2009 Nice little model. Can see that u wana use lime green for ur kitchen? Think can see lollipop and sungod (yellow) colour too. I like colourful houses! kamsia u ya wanted to use all those colors but after talking to yeak maybe got to change some plans liao... i wan to do glass panels in the toilets he say better not lor... so next choice only mosaics... sad sad.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 16, 2009 kamsia u ya wanted to use all those colors but after talking to yeak maybe got to change some plans liao... i wan to do glass panels in the toilets he say better not lor... so next choice only mosaics... sad sad.. Hehe, will you be keeping all those nice nice colours? Wah, glass panels look nice, but no privacy during biz time and gota clean them frequently. Hehe, mosaics are very nice too. Will give some sparkles to ur toilets! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted May 16, 2009 Hehe, will you be keeping all those nice nice colours? Wah, glass panels look nice, but no privacy during biz time and gota clean them frequently. Hehe, mosaics are very nice too. Will give some sparkles to ur toilets! of cos will try to keep the colours if can find! nono, im not doing see thru glass panel. im doing glass panels on the walls instead of tiles thats why i said Yeak said he never do b4 lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted May 16, 2009 of cos will try to keep the colours if can find! nono, im not doing see thru glass panel. im doing glass panels on the walls instead of tiles thats why i said Yeak said he never do b4 lor. Ohhhh, icic. Now I get what you mean. Hehehe, but I kinda agree with Yeak on this. Imagine the moisture seeping in btw the glass panels and walls. In future you'll have algae/mould growing inside and you won't b able to clean them unless u take down the glass panels. Not very worth it and a real hassle to clean. Maybe u can try those in a well ventilated area elsewhere bah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
newnyew 1 Report post Posted May 16, 2009 Ohhhh, icic. Now I get what you mean. Hehehe, but I kinda agree with Yeak on this. Imagine the moisture seeping in btw the glass panels and walls. In future you'll have algae/mould growing inside and you won't b able to clean them unless u take down the glass panels. Not very worth it and a real hassle to clean. Maybe u can try those in a well ventilated area elsewhere bah. bo pian lor, thats y next best thing is mosaic liao. now thinking wat pattern i can play with! hee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites