Angel81

Angel's Heaven

Angel,

After reading through your t-blog, we are also thinking of doing a red and white theme kitchen cabinet 'cos yours looks so gorgeous! Can share what kind of laminate and tabletop that you used? Any difficulties in maintenance?

Angel, congrats on your "graduation"!!! :)

Very nice without being too "showflat". Still cosy and inviting. The small touches like pictures and all can slowly slowly do... renovation is a journey.

Hiera - haha! Another one! Maybe I should have asked my mom to transfer me there when we shifted there at age 7. I have already studied at my pri sch for half a year before shifting, so didn't want to shift as I had friends there leow. hehehehe...

pinklady - Thanks for the compliments! I bought it at Robinsons, Raffles City. The brand name is Akemi. :)

apples - Harlow and thanks! We love our kitchen too. I used EDL and Jennings for the kitchen cabinets. Tink the red is from EDL. I used solid surface for my kitchen worktop, the brand is Acelite. We chose the one with little sparkles in it (can't rem the name of it now). So far, it's very easy to clean the laminates. As for the solid surface, it's fine so far too. Most prob cuz we're so paranoid and careful with it. We've been putting stuff on those cork placemats to prevent stains/scratches. The grease from cooking is very easy to clean from the kitchen tiles as well. Overall, easy maintenance. :)

zonkkie - Thanks! That's what we wanted too, not too showflat and cozy. Heheh, at least friends/relatives won't be afraid to touch stuff or lounge around at our place when they come over. hehehehe... Yupz, it's a nice long journey. We recently went to IKEA and got 3 little potted plants for our balcony! My hb named them "Fu Lu Shou". hahaha.. Show u pics of them soon. hehehe :D

apples - Harlow and thanks! We love our kitchen too. I used EDL and Jennings for the kitchen cabinets. Tink the red is from EDL. I used solid surface for my kitchen worktop, the brand is Acelite. We chose the one with little sparkles in it (can't rem the name of it now). So far, it's very easy to clean the laminates. As for the solid surface, it's fine so far too. Most prob cuz we're so paranoid and careful with it. We've been putting stuff on those cork placemats to prevent stains/scratches. The grease from cooking is very easy to clean from the kitchen tiles as well. Overall, easy maintenance. :)

Thanks Angel! It is a relief to hear that maintenance is easy! :)

Btw, EDL and Jennings are the brand of laminates or the colour code?

Still debating to do solid surface or granite .. becos very scared of scratches :(

But hor, we not doing wall tiles in the kitchen leh .. now a bit worried

Thanks Angel! It is a relief to hear that maintenance is easy! :)

Btw, EDL and Jennings are the brand of laminates or the colour code?

Still debating to do solid surface or granite .. becos very scared of scratches :(

But hor, we not doing wall tiles in the kitchen leh .. now a bit worried

EDL and Jennings are the brand of the laminates. I took pictures of the laminates and posted them in the tblog (can't rem which page though, paiseh). U can always browse through for the colour codes and names. :)

We also headached about the kitchen top, whether to get solid surface or granite. But after reading that light coloured granite not very good, we decided to go with solid top. It looks great now. The only thing is that we have top wipe away spills or water immediately to avoid any stains. But well, it's a good habit to cultivate, so it doesn't matter. :)

Oh? No wall tiles? How come? Then what will you be having? Paint? I think for those who rarely cook, paint for the walls is fine. If you are worried about the hob area, just add a glass or s/s backsplash. :)

Just a note. If you believe in FS, then you may need to reconsider the red/white kitchen, or check with ur FSM if it's fine anot. There are forumners who say that too much red in kitchen is not good, as it'll promote more 'fire', which may lead to more quarrels. :)

PS: I just went to "bio" ur tblog's pics. Ur kitchen wall got tiles leh. U just going to change the laminates of the cabinets izit? Should be easy maintenance bah. :)

Edited by Angel81

EDL and Jennings are the brand of the laminates. I took pictures of the laminates and posted them in the tblog (can't rem which page though, paiseh). U can always browse through for the colour codes and names. :)

We also headached about the kitchen top, whether to get solid surface or granite. But after reading that light coloured granite not very good, we decided to go with solid top. It looks great now. The only thing is that we have top wipe away spills or water immediately to avoid any stains. But well, it's a good habit to cultivate, so it doesn't matter. :)

Oh? No wall tiles? How come? Then what will you be having? Paint? I think for those who rarely cook, paint for the walls is fine. If you are worried about the hob area, just add a glass or s/s backsplash. :)

Just a note. If you believe in FS, then you may need to reconsider the red/white kitchen, or check with ur FSM if it's fine anot. There are forumners who say that too much red in kitchen is not good, as it'll promote more 'fire', which may lead to more quarrels. :)

PS: I just went to "bio" ur tblog's pics. Ur kitchen wall got tiles leh. U just going to change the laminates of the cabinets izit? Should be easy maintenance bah. :)

Thanks, will read through your t-blog again :)

Currently there is wall tiles, but since the existing cabinet is being torn down and the new cabinets do not have the same layout, there will be lobangs on the existing tiles.

We only going to plaster over existing wall tiles to cut costs, so maybe try stainless steel backsplash or tempered glass top.

We not into FS, so should be ok. But thanks for telling us anyway.

Thanks, will read through your t-blog again :)

Currently there is wall tiles, but since the existing cabinet is being torn down and the new cabinets do not have the same layout, there will be lobangs on the existing tiles.

We only going to plaster over existing wall tiles to cut costs, so maybe try stainless steel backsplash or tempered glass top.

We not into FS, so should be ok. But thanks for telling us anyway.

Oh, icic. No wonder why you say no wall tiles. Should be no probs lar. I always see decor programs on TV and browse pics of kitchen in those angmo countries. Lots of them use paint and some backsplash. If you cook often, just get a good chimney hood should be fine bah. ;)

New Additions

DSC00773.jpgDSC00770.jpg

Decal for my kitchen door (pardon the HP pics' poor resolution. Duno where's my cam).

Had a super tiring time putting up this decal!

DSC00776.jpg

Little potted plants from IKEA that my hb named "Fu Lu Shou" :P

Edited by Angel81

New Additions

DSC00773.jpgDSC00770.jpg

Decal for my kitchen door (pardon the HP pics' poor resolution. Duno where's my cam).

Had a super tiring time putting up this decal!

DSC00776.jpg

Little potted plants from IKEA that my hb named "Fu Lu Shou" :P

Love this decal!!! I am trying to finalise my buys...hoprfully i can get it fast fast! How long does it take for the shipping?

Oh, icic. No wonder why you say no wall tiles. Should be no probs lar. I always see decor programs on TV and browse pics of kitchen in those angmo countries. Lots of them use paint and some backsplash. If you cook often, just get a good chimney hood should be fine bah. ;)

okies, i spoke to ah soon this morning liow, he said he will put in the stainless steel backsplash for me.

So problem solved, phew!!!!

I like your wall decals also, esp the birds one so cute :)

Hi Angel81,

Your place look very cosy and nice.

The wall decals look very good and homely. I like those at the balcony. Very creative of you to think of that. May I know where you get your decals from?

By the way, is the balcony door new? Can you share the cost of them with me also?

familyof4

Hee, I saw afew that I like for the kitchen. But this won in the end. It's hard to stick this on, cuz of all the words! :P It'll take about 2wks if you send directly from US.

apples

Thanks! I love them as well. :D

rasp

Thanks! I got it from www.etsy.com

The balcony doors are retained from the previous owners, along with all the window grills and panes. Paiseh, duno the cost. :)

Edited by Angel81

hey angel!!!

I got Yeak's contact from you the other time...

Wanted to check with you..how's Yeak's works and all? Waiting for a quotation from him...

hey angel!!!

I got Yeak's contact from you the other time...

Wanted to check with you..how's Yeak's works and all? Waiting for a quotation from him...

Harlow! So did u get the quotation from him already?

I would say that his tilings and painting works are very good. Carpentry above average. During and after sales service very good. I also like the fact that he don't promise what he can't give. If he promise you that he'll give this or complete by a certain date, he'll do it. :)

hi preciousjam,

i have talked to yeak before too, he's a nice guy, and i think his quotation is very reasonable......

although i didn't engage him in the end because i need more help in design, he is really a good option for you i think.