Angel81

Angel's Heaven

Oh, haha. Nope, we don't need to do whole house plastering. The exposed areas have been plastered by the previous owner already. Abit confused right? hehehe.. 1st owner did rock stone. 2nd owner (my sellers) plastered the exposed areas. Now I (3rd owner), have to plaster the previously hidden areas as they were not plastered during the last reno. :)

So it's not the whole house. I think whole house will cost ALOT! So I'm actually very heng, to need to plaster small areas only. :P

Wah heng ah only the concealed areas... $300 isn't so bad..

Good for u !i plaster whole house cost me $1000+!!! :bangwall:

Yupz, very heng. Cuz last time when we were still searching for house, my hb did comment that plastering is v x, and won't be able to plaster the whole house if there's a need. So when I found this house, I was very happy, cuz everything plastered liao (or so I thought :( )

Wah.. Ur place already $1k plus.. Tink mine will b about $2k plus then.. *faint*

Wah heng ah only the concealed areas... $300 isn't so bad..

Hee... yah loh. $300 still ok. :D

:bangwall: at least now we know..in future if we are looking for a new place...

MUST be the window is still good,and plastering..cos these 2 items cost alot!!! 8|

Agree!! Plastering cost almost the same if not more than painting for me! n i'm still contemplating if i shd chge my window grills facing corridor :(

MUST be the window is still good,and plastering..cos these 2 items cost alot!!! 8|

Either that or you're a fan of Rockstone!!! :)

The wall in the pic is in a bedroom (my PIL bedroom to be exact). There's another wall in the same bedroom that needs to be plastered as well. Other areas that exposed rock stone walls after hacking are the old air con trunking area. My kitchen ceiling also needs to be plastered as it's not smooth. :)

All these area will be exposed in the future, with no furniture to hide them, so we have to plaster loh. If not, some parts are smooth walls, some portions are rock stone... Very ugly :(

Oh I see, I thought its kitchen wall. :P

Confirm plus chop man! But I think it'll be a very very long time before we think of shifting, cuz we simply love our new house and it's location very much. :P

Agree!! Plastering cost almost the same if not more than painting for me! n i'm still contemplating if i shd chge my window grills facing corridor :(

My contractor told me that changing of window grills very easy one. If ur budget very tight, why not keep the grills for a while first and change next time? If the grills are in a bad condition, then change those impt ones first, those in bedrooms, keep for the time being?

Either that or you're a fan of Rockstone!!! :)

Haha, yah man. But I think nowadays, most young couples don't like rockstone. Those that have rockstone, either keep it cuz of tight budget or plaster it. :)

Oh I see, I thought its kitchen wall. :P

Heehhehe, if it's kitchen wall, I'll try to build cupboards there to hide the rockstone. Then can save $$. :) Too bad it's at those exposed areas.

End of Reno Day 9 Pics

Nothing much for the past 2 days. Maybe 'cuz there were fewer workers at my place, or cuz' they had to wait for the cement base to dry.

P2170047.jpg

Foyer floor done, except for skirting and front door kerb

P2170043.jpg

Kitchen low wall, washing machine and cabinets base done :)

We love our kitchen already! :dancingqueen:

P2170045.jpg

Fridge and cabinet base done :)

how come the right side no tiles? :unsure:

I think it's cuz a cabinet will be installed there? The other side of the kitchen (with the low wall one), also don't have tiles on top, and that's where my cabinets will be. So think only washing machine & fridge base will have tiles on top, cuz exposed mah.

Ur cabinet base got tiles on top?

Edited by Angel81

The white tiles make the kitchen looks bright and modern. What colour will the cabinet be?

Harlow! It'll be red and white. Was thinking of changing at first, as some forumners advised that red is not a good colour for kitchen. But in the end, just can't resist the bright colour. :P

my cabinet base also no tiles la,u can see from my blog!

worst,hollow one,haha...

My own advice la,its better not to be red lor,since u have not do yet.

actually another forumer whom also engage Yeak saw your blog also told me

that why u choose red...

I am not really a feng shui believer cos i do my renovation also without consulting any feng shui la.

but got friends who did a red and black kitchen cabinet also regretted.

Personally I think that kitchen is a fire place,so its not advisable to use red lor,instead,some cooling colour.

Of course u are the owner and u make the last decision,afterall u are the one will be staying and paying for your renovation.So,no hard-feelings hor,angel. :)

Haha, of course no hard feelings lar. It's very nice of ur to give advice and share thoughts woh. After reading the posts at Jupiter Home's tblog, and in the fengshui section, I was abit concern about this. And my hb and I did consider changing. But after looking through the laminate books, we can't really find one that we like. Did think of wood-lookalike laminates, but the rest of my 1st floor laminates and furnishing are dark wood already. So abit scare that it's too much wood loh.

In the end, my hb say just stick with red and white loh. After all, we both like the outcome. :unsure: Cham lah... I now having 2nd thoughts again. And we are meeting Yeak tomorrow evening to confirm the paint and laminate colours! :bangwall:

How about if I minimize the red colour? *headache* :(

there are many colour to choose from beside red ma...

and as for the wood lamination,its very old fashion lor,it wont

bring out your kitchen...

Actually u need not have a mixed of 2 colours..Like me,

i only choose white colour,and my green tiles bring out the whole concept.

By the way,your kitchen wall tiles is all white right?

Yah, see other pple's wood laminate in the kitchen is super nice. But for long, I would like to have bright and happy colours in the kitchen.

That's the thing. U have ur green to bring out ur white cabinets. If I don't mix colours in and just use white, my kitchen will be all white and black floor. And I'm SURE that my in-laws will complain. I like pink, but I'm not allowed to use pink in kitchen (by my hb :P), so the next best colour is to use red. :P

I think solid colours of green / blue / orange are not nice in the kitchen, don't like those colours as well. Yellow is fine, but my hb sae weird weird.... How how? :bangwall: Very mah fan to compromise and be considerate to in-laws also. :(

Hi Angel,

i think most impt is you like the color...if u like red just go ahead with your selection.

Dont be too stressed... :P

for my case...i am very firm with the kitchen color i want so hubby said let me decide.

my kitchen and common toilet will be same theme....white and green... :P same as rondy...and i

had went to re-select my tiles yestd with yeak le...he is really very patient guy.... :good:

Rondy,

Hmm, don't know why when I replied to u juz now, I didn't see any of the message in bold.

Alamak... how come all the colours I like are "heaty" colours?! :bangwall: And that I don't like both green and blue? Now I can only hope that my white tiles will cool the arguments down bah. Hehehehe... Maybe buy more accessories in blue/green? :P Blue towels, green waste basket, blue cups, green plates, blue pots, green pans.... :notti:

Waht u tink? :notti:

Hi Angel,

i think most impt is you like the color...if u like red just go ahead with your selection.

Dont be too stressed... :P

for my case...i am very firm with the kitchen color i want so hubby said let me decide.

my kitchen and common toilet will be same theme....white and green... :P same as rondy...and i

had went to re-select my tiles yestd with yeak le...he is really very patient guy.... :good:

Yoz, roamca! Heheh, were u the other forumner that rondy was talking about? Hehhe, so far can only think of u, cuz u signed with yeak also. :P

Hey, good for u! So ur hubby finally said yes to the white and green toilet? Was it because ur went to view rondy's unit? :D How's the rest of the tiles selection? All confirmed already? *wink wink* It's time to start ur own t-blog for us to :dribble:

Wah, decided on ur kitchen colours already ah? What colour scheme will u be having?

My hubby actually likes woody colours for kitchen also, after viewing one house done by yeak. But I said no, cuz I like bright colours. So in the end, it's back to square one (red colour). Hehehe, like what I wrote somewhere here, just hope tat we'll quarrel in the kitchen, and make up in the bedroom. :notti:

since your wall tiles is white, u can try grey lamination.

If let me choose grey, I'll choose either very light grey or a very dark one. But can u imagine what my in-laws will say? "Aiyo.. why u choose such a colour?? Black white grey... like funeral colours..."

I tell u.. It's a headache.. :P

Edited by Angel81

Confirm plus chop man! But I think it'll be a very very long time before we think of shifting, cuz we simply love our new house and it's location very much. :P

My contractor told me that changing of window grills very easy one. If ur budget very tight, why not keep the grills for a while first and change next time? If the grills are in a bad condition, then change those impt ones first, those in bedrooms, keep for the time being?

Haha, yah man. But I think nowadays, most young couples don't like rockstone. Those that have rockstone, either keep it cuz of tight budget or plaster it. :)

Heehhehe, if it's kitchen wall, I'll try to build cupboards there to hide the rockstone. Then can save $$. :) Too bad it's at those exposed areas.

my entire unit is in rockstone. Even store room. :bangwall: i didnt expect that plaster cost so much, otherwise i would have bargain with the seller on COV!!

My grills r still fine, just that needs a lot of re-lubricating. Cannot move the grills/windows smoothly now. Its those double lock grills, so i tot its a bit wasted to chge it, thou aluminum makes it a bit risky for a common corridor window.

Yah, see other pple's wood laminate in the kitchen is super nice. But for long, I would like to have bright and happy colours in the kitchen.

That's the thing. U have ur green to bring out ur white cabinets. If I don't mix colours in and just use white, my kitchen will be all white and black floor. And I'm SURE that my in-laws will complain. I like pink, but I'm not allowed to use pink in kitchen (by my hb :P), so the next best colour is to use red. :P

I think solid colours of green / blue / orange are not nice in the kitchen, don't like those colours as well. Yellow is fine, but my hb sae weird weird.... How how? :bangwall: Very mah fan to compromise and be considerate to in-laws also. :(

y dun u do panels of red? like majority white, but a few drawers red? Something like wat jeremylym did for his kitchen?