Angel81

Angel's Heaven

Our Search For Contractors

I must admit, we didn't search much for contractors/IDs. Or at least, not as much as some forumners here.

We went to Beauty World, frequented IMM, onlined everyday to read Renotalk to learn about others' experiences and surfed the web for ideas. Some ID firms did not talk to us, even though we stood outside their shops and looked through their photo albums. These firms we struck them off the list immediately. If you can't be bothered to chat with us, I'm sure you can't be bothered to earn money. :notti: An ID firm praised themselves to the sky, saying that they can do anything and everything, but did not bother to listen to our ideas. If you don't pause to listen to your clients, how will I know my house will turn out the way I want? :seeya:

So far, the best 3 contractors in terms of service & price came from forumners here. *Thanks sundrops, chrono, jacky777 & rondy!* We have shortlisted 2 contractors and should be confirming with one sometime this week. Both shortlisted contractors are very nice guys with reasonable quotes. One is cheaper than the other by around $4k.

We actually wanted to sign with the contractor A who has the more expensive quote. Mainly because he was highly recommended by a couple of forumners, and that we could get along with him rather well. He also does not mind giving me advice when I called him to ask him about some stuff. The thing that held us back and tipped the scales for the other shortlisted contractor (B) is that this contractor (A) seems abit irresponsible.

Contractor A will promise me to send the revised quotes (we revised at least 7 times I think) before a certain date. However, there was not a time that he sent the quotes on time. There were stuff that were discussed that went missing, and I had to remind him to add them in. He's also late for our meetings 4 out of 5 times. I understand that he's busy. If he's not busy, means that he does not have any jobs in hand, which means that there may be something wrong! :P What I hope is that if he is unable to deliver a promise, then don't promise me or give me a later date/time. I definitely don't mind if he tells he that he's real busy, and could only get back to me at a later date/time.

Handing my precious home to someone to renovate is a form of trust. Trust that he will take good care of it during this period of time. Trust that he will deliver what he promises. Trust that the job will be completed on time. If this trust is not there in the first place, how can I trust him to do the job as promised? :(

Contractor B was someone unfamiliar, as we could not find many people using this company. However, he was highly recommended by the one who used, and also by the owners of homes we visited with him. Out of the 3 times he sent the revised quotes to me, he was on time or early for all 3 times. When we met up with him both times, he was there waiting for us when we reach. The workmanship of both homes were good, and the designs were practical and pleasing. Best of all, the quote is very reasonable. If everything turns out well, we should be signing with him sometime this week. :yamseng:

*Fingers crossed!*

Hehe, thanks thanks! I love the view too!

Mac has never tasted so great! :dancingqueen: Also, we could finally eat cheeseburgers at home! My ILs pray at home, so we can't eat beef at our current place. Next time at our own home we can, cuz ILs won't be bringing the gods over.

Hmm, there's still something to be revised, so the amount I have now may not be the final one. Let you know again after I receive the final revised quote k? :)

Thanks Starscream! Can't wait to start renovating. :P

Good luck girl!

congrats!

i should say tat u r fast or me & hubby r slow. cos our reno starting nex wk. but so far the items tat we hv bought r: brandt hob, brandt built-in oven, franke tap, suspended wc 4 mbedrm's toilet, sofa & hi stool nia. oh no! stil hv many many items 2 get thou. tink we wil b busy fr nw til mar.

actually my reno's timing wil b abt the same as yours bah. i.e. 2 hack walls & tiles b4 CNY. then resume wif tiling & etc aft CNY. so 4cast completion wil b end-mar...

Congrats.. when reno start ?? rem to post many many pics... heehee... ;)

congrats!

i should say tat u r fast or me & hubby r slow. cos our reno starting nex wk. but so far the items tat we hv bought r: brandt hob, brandt built-in oven, franke tap, suspended wc 4 mbedrm's toilet, sofa & hi stool nia. oh no! stil hv many many items 2 get thou. tink we wil b busy fr nw til mar.

actually my reno's timing wil b abt the same as yours bah. i.e. 2 hack walls & tiles b4 CNY. then resume wif tiling & etc aft CNY. so 4cast completion wil b end-mar...

Thanks luckable and cher!

Haiz, we may not be able to start our reno as planned, as we still need to apply for reno loan and then the HDB permit. It doesn't seem like we can do hacking/tiling before CNY le. :(

Hee, defn-ly will post lots of pics to share share with you all. :)

Wah cher, u bot lots of stuff also liao! Post pics on ur tblog to show us! :P

Edited by Angel81

Thanks luckable and cher!

Haiz, we may not be able to start our reno as planned, as we still need to apply for reno loan and then the HDB permit. It doesn't seem like we can do hacking/tiling before CNY le. :(

Hee, defn-ly will post lots of pics to share share with you all. :)

Wah cher, u bot lots of stuff also liao! Post pics on ur tblog to show us! :P

my id already got the hacking permit from hdb. date can start to hack is 15 jan. we expect to collect the key between 12 and 15 jan, so once get the key can start to hack liao :dancingqueen:

IMG_1154.jpg

Our first meal in our home! And I bought a Happy Meal (can u see the soccer toy?) & wish that we'll always be happy here. :P

Wah first meal at new house, got keep the Mac receipt or not. :D

my id already got the hacking permit from hdb. date can start to hack is 15 jan. we expect to collect the key between 12 and 15 jan, so once get the key can start to hack liao :dancingqueen:

Wah :good: I gota rush my hb and contractor liao. hehehe

Wah first meal at new house, got keep the Mac receipt or not. :D

Hehehe, the receipt will sure get lost during shifting hse in future, so just took a pic of our 1st meal loh. :P

i guess u are refering to my ID :sport-smiley-003:

He is always punctual and i am always late. :dancingqueen:

i trust him in good hand and let him run the whole show!

So far so good,no problem with the renovation. :good:

haha.. U are so bad to be late always. Wait ur ID gives u a :deal: of the time wasted! :P

no la,sometimes i am on time,but he is already there....but never scold me.

Tell u something,i always called him and ask him this and that,he also very patience with me,now

i am going to call him again but i jot down the question i wanna ask first,we cannot take things for granted.

And try to be understanding,haha...My toilet stuffs,will be delivered this wed,ask him to go down and receive,i gotta work,and also Friday The air con will be installed,ask him to go there and supervise and pay

the contractor,Am i bad?But luckily he is very chin chye guy,seems like everything also bolei person,

easy to sum siong,haha :sport-smiley-018:

Wah seh.... It's a wonder he don't :bangwall: or run when he see u calling him. :P

It's looks bright and airy :) nice views too!

The house does look different when it is vacated...

Hee, thanks thanks! Hahaha, I hope u don't mean that it's better w/out furniture. Then I gota sell off my sofa set and get floor mats liao! :P But yeah, it does look different when it's empty. :)

actually try to minimise as much furniture and display items as possible if no maid,else hard to maintain,nowsaday everyone is so busy at work and its good to have a neat place to rest with less maintenance ;)

Haha, yah man. Esp if we are lazy pple who prefer to enjoy our home instead of clean the house. hehehehe

Problem with my Wash Area

WashAreaBefore.jpg

Do you notice the huge white pipe? A contractor told us that it's a pipe linking the WC to the sewage pipe. We were very surprise that such pipes were approved by HDB during the inspections. And since it's a pipe that carries the waste to the real sewage pipe, we're wondering if the location of the WC can be shifted.

The current location of the WC is right in front of the wash area entrance. To go into the wash area, we have to walk sideways. It's already a hassle to do that now. Imagine having to lug a huge pail of water/laundry out from the tap/sink area and being forced to walk sideways to get out of the place. That's even worse. :( Wonder why did the previous owner do such a silly thing.

My hb & I initially wanted to hack away the WC and seal up the hole. But on second thoughts, having a WC on level 1 will be easier for our future guests, especially small kids and elderly. They won't need to climb up the stairs to use the washroom.

Looking at our floor plan, the correct WC location should be right inside the wash area. Really wonder why it's at it's current location. We've asked our contractor to meet us on Friday to take a look at it, and check if he's able to shift it's location. *Fingers crossed*

from what i see,should be able to swap postion with the basin ma.

hmm.. :unsure:

The basin is smewhere in the middle of the wash area. We were thinking of shifting it till inside, right at the end of the wash area.

WashAreaInsideBefore.jpg

Only pic I have of the inside of the wash area

Edited by Angel81

Wow, moved in condition leh. Just moved in and save u all reno and all hassle that comes with reno.

But, if i would to reno... probably the below:

1) overhaul all toilets and wash room.

2) overhaul kitchen

3) painting

4) overhaul the bed rooms.

5) lighting

6) curtain

30k should suffice???

Edited by chronograph