silence

Is This Quote Super Expensive For A 4rm Resale?

Dear all,

I just got a 4rm resale flat @ ~86sqm. Have to hack the whole place(floor, wall, cabinets and everything). Got a quote from this contractor without including price for tiles supply and tiling of kitchen wall. I personally think is not very comfortable. Hope any helpful souls here can give some comments? I am a 1st timer so I got no experiences in renovation pricing. Greatly appreciate your help!! Am also looking around for quotes from other companies.

1.0 DEMOLITION WORK LS 3,500.00

1.1 To provide labour and equipment for hacking work at the following area:

a) 02nos. Bathroom area wall and floor tiles.

b) Kitchen area wall and floor tiles.

c) Living and 03x bedrooms floor tiles.

1.2 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle kitchen and bathroom fixtures

1.3 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle affected existing false ceiling

and cornices (Common bathroom, master passage, master wardrobe, master

bathroom)

1.4 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle existing kitchen cabinet, wardrobe,

build in cabinets and fixtures

1.5 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle existing doors and door frames.

1.6 To hack down partial kitchen entrance wall. 250.00

2.0 ELECTRICAL WORK

2.1 To dismantle all electrical fittings for whole unit LS 250.00

2.2 Installation of 15nos. light fittings (light fittings not included) 150.00

2.3 Re-locate approx. 5 nos. of power points. LS 200.00

3.0 PLUMBING AND SANITARY WORKS

3.2 To supply labour to install 01x central water heater. 150.00

3.3 To supply labour to install 02 x w/c. (exclude w/c) 180.00

3.4 To supply labour to install 02 x basins. 80.00

3.5 To supply labour to install: 350.00

Shower mixer tap

Shower set

Kitchen sink and sink tap

Washer tap

Bridget spray

Bathroom accessories

3.6 To supply and install 01 x shower screen at master toilet area. 380.00

4.0 CEILING AND PARTITION WORKS

4.1 To install false ceiling at joint passageway area to the rooms. 150.00

4.2 To install and erect approx. L5ft full height re-inforced partition wall at kitchen entrance area. 485.00

4.3 To install and seal up the north side wall at 2nd room with partition board. 295.00

5.0 TILING WORKS (LESS TILES SUPPLY)

Flooring works:

5.1 To supply labour and material (less tiles supply) to lay the following: 4,400.00

a) Common bathroom floor and wall tiles

b) Master bathroom floor and wall tiles

c) Kitchen floor tiles (exclude wall)

d) Living room and 03xbedrooms floor tiles.

5.2 To supply and lay water proofing membrane for kitchen and 02nos bathroom 300.00

area

5.3 To construct 2inch kitchen cabinet base with tiles finish 180.00

5.4 To construct 2inch washing machine and fridge base with tiles finish 120.00

Other works:

5.6 To seal up crack walls at affected area c/w cement plaster finish 350.00

5.7 To grind smooth "pointed wall corners" at affected area. 300.00

8.0 PAINTING WORKS LS 1,200.00

8.1 To paint whole unit wall using selected ICI or Nippon emulsion colour paint and

maltex white emulson paint for all ceiling. (Limited to 5 colours for wall area)

9.0 DOOR WORKS

9.1 To supply and install 01nos. main door c/w full lockset, door hinges & stopper. 580.00

9.2 To supply and install 03 x timber door for 03xbedrooms. 1,140.00

9.3 To supply and install 03 x timber door frames for 03xbedrooms. 270.00

9.4 To supply and install 02 x toilet bi-fold doors. 500.00

9.5 To supply and install 01 x wrought iron gate. 580.00

10.0 CARPENTRY WORKS

KITCHEN

10.1 To construct and install L23ft top and L23ft bottom kitchen cabinet in selected 5,520.00

laminated finished c/w frosted glass doors, s/steel dishes dryer unit, top simple sliding

frosted doors with aluminium trimmings.

10.3 To supply and install L23ft of solid surface top for Kitchen cabinet. 2,185.00

11.0 MISCELLANEOUS WORKS

10.1 To clear debris to government dumping ground LS 350.00

10.2 To pay for sand provision and haulage of building materials LS 500.00

10.3 To provide chemical wash for whole unit. LS 300.00

10.4 To lay protection for existing flooring LS 200.00

10.5 To supply and install system 3 air-con system for whole unit. LS 1,800.00

(If no existing government approved brackets-additional $180.)

(Air-con system include 2 times on site installation.)

10.6 To install number plate at at gate. FOC

10.7 To supply and construct L8ft simple laminated TV console **** room area. 960.00

10.8 To supply and install L10ft laminated wardrobe c/w casement doors and lockset drawers. 2,200.00

10.9 To supply and install L10.5ft laminated study table w/ full length lockset drawers 1,680.00

and simple book shelvings on the recess wall area.

Grand Total: 32,035.00

Note : The above sum without compound of submission fee, Iron mangory, lightings & sanitary items.

8.0 PAINTING WORKS LS 1,200.00

8.1 To paint whole unit wall using selected ICI or Nippon emulsion colour paint and

maltex white emulson paint for all ceiling. (Limited to 5 colours for wall area)

For 4 room quite expensive i think... tats more reasonable pricing for 5room but depend maybe ur wall condition is bad need alot of plastering..

9.0 DOOR WORKS

9.1 To supply and install 01nos. main door c/w full lockset, door hinges & stopper. 580.00

9.2 To supply and install 03 x timber door for 03xbedrooms. 1,140.00

9.3 To supply and install 03 x timber door frames for 03xbedrooms. 270.00

9.4 To supply and install 02 x toilet bi-fold doors. 500.00

9.5 To supply and install 01 x wrought iron gate. 580.00

All your door i think too expensive.. maybe he give u all better grade one, timber door = nyatoh ???think price for normal one =$230plus including installation, normal aluminum frame bi fold door is like 200 each?

10.5 To supply and install system 3 air-con system for whole unit. LS 1,800.00

(If no existing government approved brackets-additional $180.)

never state brand and model? for tat price i think is too expensive for non-inverter aircon)

Just my opinion hope it help the rest i cant compare cos i no quote

Edited by tommy78

dear Tommy78 and alan26,

Thanks for the advices and recommendation. Ya this contractor is kinda "not very honest" from my point of view. When he asked about my budget, I told him I hope to do everything within $32-35k.. Then clever he just quote me all the pricing for labour, workmanship, carpentry and those etc.. W/O giving me an estimate of the cost of tiles... I am really very stress now as I am the person deciding all these things for my whole family.... Am still waiting for replies for a few other ID companies.. Hopefully they will be more "human"...

Does anyone have a rough idea of what kind of $$$ price range should I be looking at? is $32k-35k enough to hack whole flat, redo all the tiling for kitchen bathrooms floor/walls, living area+1bedroom, carpentry works for 1 bedroom wardobe/1 study area/1 TV area/kitchen cabinets, change all doors and parquet for 2 rooms?

dear Tommy78 and alan26,

Thanks for the advices and recommendation. Ya this contractor is kinda "not very honest" from my point of view. When he asked about my budget, I told him I hope to do everything within $32-35k.. Then clever he just quote me all the pricing for labour, workmanship, carpentry and those etc.. W/O giving me an estimate of the cost of tiles... I am really very stress now as I am the person deciding all these things for my whole family.... Am still waiting for replies for a few other ID companies.. Hopefully they will be more "human"...

Does anyone have a rough idea of what kind of $$$ price range should I be looking at? is $32k-35k enough to hack whole flat, redo all the tiling for kitchen bathrooms floor/walls, living area+1bedroom, carpentry works for 1 bedroom wardobe/1 study area/1 TV area/kitchen cabinets, change all doors and parquet for 2 rooms?

yeah..the quotation is expensive...mine was only 31k and i get to do alot of things...5I flat here...if you want my contractor details..do pm me...can get a quote and see whether will it be beneficial for you..

dear Tommy78 and alan26,

yeah..the quotation is expensive...mine was only 31k and i get to do alot of things...5I flat here...if you want my contractor details..do pm me...can get a quote and see whether will it be beneficial for you..

dear Tommy78 and alan26,

Erhmm mine is a 5I too and I hacked the whole house, replaced the toilets and the kitchen. overhaul.

But I didn't do wardrobes and stuff. my quote was 23k. Do pm me if you want to try my contractor.

Shop around more!!! If your budget is $30k, tell them your budget is $22k. :P

**edit** (Mine are in red)

1.0 DEMOLITION WORK LS 3,500.00 (2200 - all items the same)

1.1 To provide labour and equipment for hacking work at the following area:

a) 02nos. Bathroom area wall and floor tiles.

b) Kitchen area wall and floor tiles.

c) Living and 03x bedrooms floor tiles.

1.2 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle kitchen and bathroom fixtures

1.3 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle affected existing false ceiling

and cornices (Common bathroom, master passage, master wardrobe, master

bathroom)

1.4 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle existing kitchen cabinet, wardrobe,

build in cabinets and fixtures

1.5 To provide labour and equipment to dismantle existing doors and door frames.

1.6 To hack down partial kitchen entrance wall.

3.0 PLUMBING AND SANITARY WORKS (Only charged for WC and Basins - same price)

3.2 To supply labour to install 01x central water heater. 150.00

3.3 To supply labour to install 02 x w/c. (exclude w/c) 180.00

3.4 To supply labour to install 02 x basins. 80.00

3.5 To supply labour to install: 350.00

Shower mixer tap

Shower set

Kitchen sink and sink tap

Washer tap

Bridget spray

Bathroom accessories

3.6 To supply and install 01 x shower screen at master toilet area. 380.00

8.0 PAINTING WORKS LS 1,200.00 (Mine - $1250 inclusive of door+ frames+ pipes)

10.0 CARPENTRY WORKS

KITCHEN

10.1 To construct and install L23ft top and L23ft bottom kitchen cabinet in selected 5,520.00

laminated finished c/w frosted glass doors, s/steel dishes dryer unit, top simple sliding

frosted doors with aluminium trimmings. ($2000 - 19ft but no frosted glass doors,s/s dryer, alu trimmings)

11.0 MISCELLANEOUS WORKS

10.1 To clear debris to government dumping ground LS 350.00 (Was included in demolitian works)

10.2 To pay for sand provision and haulage of building materials LS 500.00

10.3 To provide chemical wash for whole unit. LS 300.00 FOC

10.4 To lay protection for existing flooring LS 200.00 FOC

(If no existing government approved brackets-additional $180.) FOC

Edited by pinkpetter

Your paint job seems rather X. My place 4-room but 103 sqm. My reno shifu quoted $1200 for painting whole house excluding doors and frames. Free choice of ICI or Nippon colours. He's very cute, he said "every wall want different colour also can".

But I think v hard to say if the reno quote is expensive or not; it depends on quality of materials, the speed they can get the reno done, & workmanship. It also depends on their professionalsm. I'll rather pay a little bit more and fang xin let them do, then to have to jaga all the way.

ELECTRICAL WORK

2.1 To dismantle all electrical fittings for whole unit LS 250.00

2.2 Installation of 15nos. light fittings (light fittings not included) 150.00

I'm a bit puzzled by this. If you are installing lights in points that have an existing light fixture, you still need to pay to dismantle the existing light fixture?

My reno shifu also charging me $10 for installing each light fixture, but he also charges $10 for installing ceiling fan-cum-light, so quite a good deal for me.

Thank you all the kind souls here. Ya.. I will be meeting 2-3 other reno id firms this weekend. Should the quote come out to be expensive too, then I will shop for more.. Unless my friends are super loaded or stupid.... All of them are telling me 40k-60k reno is reasonable haha... Oh dear...

40k - 60k for a 4rm?!......... mmm Only if you hack a lot and restructure the whole place + you do a lot of carpentry. mm

I just went to see another 2 contractors this weekend. Both of them quoted me between $30k to $35k for everything including tiles ranging from $2.6-3.2(exclude A/C).... I even saw the $2.6 to $2.9 range tiles.. they look quite good... And with additional $3k+ I can even do my dream bamboo flooring for 2 rooms for one of the id.. I hope things are looking positive.... Too bad the quotes I have is hardcopy.. cant paste them for your references.... Greatly appreciate everyone's contribution...

:sport-smiley-004: Dear all,

Here is one of the latest quote I got from a reno id company intro by a friend. So far I guess this is the best quotation. I am thinking if I could still ask them for some further discounts?

things to note - BAMBOO FLOORING is currently one of the most expensive timber flooring(expensive than strip parquet).. He did not quote me any electric work or rewiring as my new flat is only 6yrs old, he will be charging for change of the lighting fixtures at 1st $35 follow by $10 per light.. As for the plumbing, I guess the conditions of the pipes in this flat is still good so we will just paint them.

So issit necessary to change all pipings, electric switches and rewire the house? or if condition is good then just use them(actually all my switches, wires and pipes are conceal ones).

ITEM DESCRIPTION

A Demolition Works

1 HDB Renovation Permit Application & Processing F.O.C.

2 Demolish existing floor tiles ****/dining area, 3 bedrooms & household shelter $900.00

3 Demolish existing wall between kitchen & dining area to construct a new door-way $200.00

4 Demolish existing floor & wall tiles at kitchen $700.00

5 Demolish existing floor & wall tiles at 2 toilets $700.00

6 Provide haulages & debris clearing services $400.00

7 Demolish 2 bathroom door frames & sanitary wares F.O.C

8 Dismantle & dispose whole house existing doors F.O.C

Sub-total $2,900.00

B Masonry Works

1 Lay 60x60cm polished homogeneous floor tiles (tiles at $2.90/sqft) ****/dining area,

bedroom 3 & household shelter c/w skirting

$2,200.00

2 Supply & lay bamboo flooring c/w wooden skirting for master room & bedroom 2 $4,800.00

3 Erect hollow block to seal up the existing kitchen entrance & make good with

cement finishes $360.00

4 Lay ceramic wall tiles (tiles at $2.80/sqft) till ceiling height at kitchen

(except cabinet backing) $1,750.00

5 Lay ceramic wall tiles (tiles at $2.80/sqft) till ceiling height at 2 toilets $1,900.00

6 Lay 3 in 1 waterproofing membrane at kitchen & 2 toilets prior to laying floor tiles $280.00

7 Lay 60x30cm homogeneous/ceramic anti-slip floor tiles (tiles at $2.60/sqft) at kitchen $800.00

8 Lay 30x30cm homogeneous/ceramic anti-slip floor tiles (tiles at $2.40/sqft) at 2 toilets $700.00

9 Construct cement bases for kitchen cabinet, fridge & washing machine $280.00

10 Construct shower kerb at 2 toilets F.O.C

11 Rounded whole house cement corner edge & make good $300.00

Sub-total $13,370.00

C Doors / Windows

1 Replace main gate with 2-panels wrought iron gate c/w computer key lock $580.00

2 Replace main door with 2-panels normal solid nyatoh door c/w key lock Optional

2 Replace 3 bedroom doors with neneer doors c/w lockset & door stopper $864.00

3 Replace 2 toilet doors with aluminium frame acrylic panels bi-fold doors $400.00

4 Install tempered glass swing door shower screen at master toilet $520.00

Sub-total $2,364.00

D Ceiling & Partition Works

1 Install plaster-fibre false ceiling at bedroom passage-way $100.00

2 Install gypsum board partition at bedroom 2 to seal up beam pillar $320.00

Sub-total $420.00

E Plumbing Works

1 Provide labour to install sitting toilet bowls at 2 toilets $180.00

2 Provision of water points & provide labour to install WC sprayers at 2 toilets $80.00

3 Provide labour to install wash basins at 2 toilets $160.00

4 Provide labour to install 1 no of storage heater $100.00

5 Provide labour to install bathroom & toilet accessories $120.00

6 Provide labour to connect kitchen sink & washing machine inlet & outlet pipes $220.00

Sub-total $860.00

F Finishing Works

1 Paint whole house exposed wall & ceiling with Nippon emulsion paint (Vinilex 5000) $1,180.00

2 Varnish/Paint all doors, door frames & exposed pipes $160.00

3 Chemical wash whole house tiled flooring & general cleaning $260.00

Sub-total $1,600.00

G Carpentry Works

1 Living area - TV suspended console (6ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood $660.00

2 Living area - Feature wall (7ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood for plasma TV $1,120.00

3 Living area - Custom made altar (ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood Optional

4 Kitchen - Bottom kitchen cabinet (18ft) in laminate finish/ABS solid plywood doors $1,800.00

5 Kitchen - Top kitchen cabinet (21ft) in laminate finish/ABS solid plywood doors $2,100.00

6 Kitchen - Box-up sewage pipes with solid plywood in laminate finish $320.00

7 Kitchen - Dish drainer, 4 drawers & 2 wooden frame glass doors F.O.C.

8 Kitchen - Solid surface kitchen worktop (18ft) for kitchen cabinet $1,350.00

9 Main bedroom - 1 no of workstation (L=10ft) beside bed in laminate

finish/solid plywood with drawer $1,200.00

10 Master toilet - Vanity cabinet (2.5ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood c/w solid

surface top $760.00

11 Bedroom 2 - Swing door wardrobe (10ft) in laminate finish/solid plywwod with

inner white pvc $2,000.00

Sub-total $11,310.00

GRAND TOTAL : $32,824.00

All comments are welcome!!! thanks a million

Edited by silence

electrical wiring less than 10 years okay lah.. dun need to change.. your electrical wiring conseal one.. you stay near Sembawang is it.. I seemed my friend house conseal one.. @ sembawang flat.. i am not sure about it

price very reasonable lei, you got floor plan to see.. very cheap

Edited by kewin

:sport-smiley-004: Dear all,

Here is one of the latest quote I got from a reno id company intro by a friend. So far I guess this is the best quotation. I am thinking if I could still ask them for some further discounts?

things to note - BAMBOO FLOORING is currently one of the most expensive timber flooring(expensive than strip parquet).. He did not quote me any electric work or rewiring as my new flat is only 6yrs old, he will be charging for change of the lighting fixtures at 1st $35 follow by $10 per light.. As for the plumbing, I guess the conditions of the pipes in this flat is still good so we will just paint them.

So issit necessary to change all pipings, electric switches and rewire the house? or if condition is good then just use them(actually all my switches, wires and pipes are conceal ones).

ITEM DESCRIPTION

A Demolition Works

1 HDB Renovation Permit Application & Processing F.O.C.

2 Demolish existing floor tiles ****/dining area, 3 bedrooms & household shelter $900.00

does it include the skirtings?

3 Demolish existing wall between kitchen & dining area to construct a new door-way $200.00

4 Demolish existing floor & wall tiles at kitchen $700.00

5 Demolish existing floor & wall tiles at 2 toilets $700.00

6 Provide haulages & debris clearing services $400.00

during renovation make sure the renovators throw their food and drink before end of the day. Prevent to invite ants and other small friends come. :)

7 Demolish 2 bathroom door frames & sanitary wares F.O.C

8 Dismantle & dispose whole house existing doors F.O.C

Sub-total $2,900.00

B Masonry Works

1 Lay 60x60cm polished homogeneous floor tiles (tiles at $2.90/sqft) ****/dining area,

bedroom 3 & household shelter c/w skirting

$2,200.00

2 Supply & lay bamboo flooring c/w wooden skirting for master room & bedroom 2 $4,800.00

3 Erect hollow block to seal up the existing kitchen entrance & make good with

cement finishes $360.00

4 Lay ceramic wall tiles (tiles at $2.80/sqft) till ceiling height at kitchen

(except cabinet backing) $1,750.00

5 Lay ceramic wall tiles (tiles at $2.80/sqft) till ceiling height at 2 toilets $1,900.00

6 Lay 3 in 1 waterproofing membrane at kitchen & 2 toilets prior to laying floor tiles $280.00

7 Lay 60x30cm homogeneous/ceramic anti-slip floor tiles (tiles at $2.60/sqft) at kitchen $800.00

8 Lay 30x30cm homogeneous/ceramic anti-slip floor tiles (tiles at $2.40/sqft) at 2 toilets $700.00

9 Construct cement bases for kitchen cabinet, fridge & washing machine $280.00

10 Construct shower kerb at 2 toilets F.O.C

11 Rounded whole house cement corner edge & make good $300.00

Sub-total $13,370.00

C Doors / Windows

1 Replace main gate with 2-panels wrought iron gate c/w computer key lock $580.00

2 Replace main door with 2-panels normal solid nyatoh door c/w key lock Optional

2 Replace 3 bedroom doors with neneer doors c/w lockset & door stopper $864.00

3 Replace 2 toilet doors with aluminium frame acrylic panels bi-fold doors $400.00

4 Install tempered glass swing door shower screen at master toilet $520.00

Sub-total $2,364.00

D Ceiling & Partition Works

1 Install plaster-fibre false ceiling at bedroom passage-way $100.00

2 Install gypsum board partition at bedroom 2 to seal up beam pillar $320.00

Sub-total $420.00

E Plumbing Works

1 Provide labour to install sitting toilet bowls at 2 toilets $180.00

2 Provision of water points & provide labour to install WC sprayers at 2 toilets $80.00

3 Provide labour to install wash basins at 2 toilets $160.00

4 Provide labour to install 1 no of storage heater $100.00

5 Provide labour to install bathroom & toilet accessories $120.00

6 Provide labour to connect kitchen sink & washing machine inlet & outlet pipes $220.00

Sub-total $860.00

F Finishing Works

1 Paint whole house exposed wall & ceiling with Nippon emulsion paint (Vinilex 5000) $1,180.00

2 Varnish/Paint all doors, door frames & exposed pipes $160.00

3 Chemical wash whole house tiled flooring & general cleaning $260.00

Sub-total $1,600.00

G Carpentry Works

1 Living area - TV suspended console (6ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood $660.00

2 Living area - Feature wall (7ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood for plasma TV $1,120.00

3 Living area - Custom made altar (ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood Optional

4 Kitchen - Bottom kitchen cabinet (18ft) in laminate finish/ABS solid plywood doors $1,800.00

5 Kitchen - Top kitchen cabinet (21ft) in laminate finish/ABS solid plywood doors $2,100.00

for kitchen cabinet what is the interior color? white or fully laminated?

6 Kitchen - Box-up sewage pipes with solid plywood in laminate finish $320.00

7 Kitchen - Dish drainer, 4 drawers & 2 wooden frame glass doors F.O.C.

8 Kitchen - Solid surface kitchen worktop (18ft) for kitchen cabinet $1,350.00

9 Main bedroom - 1 no of workstation (L=10ft) beside bed in laminate

finish/solid plywood with drawer $1,200.00

10 Master toilet - Vanity cabinet (2.5ft) in laminate finish/solid plywood c/w solid

surface top $760.00

11 Bedroom 2 - Swing door wardrobe (10ft) in laminate finish/solid plywwod with

inner white pvc $2,000.00

Sub-total $11,310.00

GRAND TOTAL : $32,824.00

All comments are welcome!!! thanks a million

Dear Devilaz,

I will be going do to my ID company to finalize things today. the hacking include skirtings.. From my guess, the internal part should be white. I will check with him about all these details before I decide whether to sign on the dotted lines not... :dribble: