Byr 0 Report post Posted December 26, 2008 Fellow Forumers, Appreciate anyone out there care to share any tips for putting those butterflies (adaptors that look like butterflies for screws) on Partition walls. I kept having problems when i put these butterflies up on the partition wall... What happen is that after i poke a small hole on the partition wall & that i squeeze the butterflies thru these partition wall; i try to screw in the screw... after a while the screw kena jam & basically rotate & spoilt the partition wall... the butterflies no longer work & is loose... You cant screw in further & worse you cant really talke the butterfly out cos it will create a big hole... so i kena stuck... Someone told me Partition Wall comes in 9 & 12mm... so i am not sure if theres a size to these butterflies & i have gotten the wrong sizing one... Please Help... I have still lots of screws to put up on these walls.. I tht partition wall sh be the easiest since no heavy drilling is expected.... SIGH! Thanks in advance for any commnets & advice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gladyslim 0 Report post Posted December 28, 2008 Gysum board is normally use as partition wall. The white nylon plug when mounted had a shape of butterfly smiliar to certain types of wall plug for concrete wall. After u inserted the plug with the screw on it into the wall, u need to use a special tool to pull the screw thus the nylon will have 'wing' blocking the hole of the wall. The application tool is smiliar to the one for riveting. it is about $15/- a pc. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yoongf 11 Report post Posted December 28, 2008 When "poke" hole for butterfly plug, the hole is suppose to be drilled slightly smaller, and the butterfly plug shd have an "interference fit", meaning to say.. the butterfly plug need to be sort of jammed into the partition wall, rather than loose. If screwing in and the screw gets tight, likely is due to the screw being too big for the butterfly plug. Ideally, shd be a self tapping screw, and the opening up of the butterfly wings result in tightening, not the screw biting into the plug. Partition walls are non load bearing, meaning.. at most is lamps or picture frames. Normally, the quantities are not much. I have not seen any application tool for butterfly plugs. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2008 The application tool is smiliar to the one for riveting. it is about $15/- a pc. Thanks Gladys. Btw can you help to post a picture of that tools if you happen to have 1. And also where can i buy this? thanks a million in advance... When "poke" hole for butterfly plug, the hole is suppose to be drilled slightly smaller, and the butterfly plug shd have an "interference fit", meaning to say.. the butterfly plug need to be sort of jammed into the partition wall, rather than loose. ... Partition walls are non load bearing, meaning.. at most is lamps or picture frames. Normally, the quantities are not much. Thanks yoongf, thanks for your comments. I am still stuck with the problem at this stage...SIGH.. tyring hard now and when theres a jam, I just hammer in that plug an patch up with Plastering lor....Still lots of photo frames to go....SIGH>> SIGH... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gladyslim 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2008 When "poke" hole for butterfly plug, the hole is suppose to be drilled slightly smaller, and the butterfly plug shd have an "interference fit", meaning to say.. the butterfly plug need to be sort of jammed into the partition wall, rather than loose. If screwing in and the screw gets tight, likely is due to the screw being too big for the butterfly plug. Ideally, shd be a self tapping screw, and the opening up of the butterfly wings result in tightening, not the screw biting into the plug. Partition walls are non load bearing, meaning.. at most is lamps or picture frames. Normally, the quantities are not much. I have not seen any application tool for butterfly plugs. I think I got the wrong picture not refering to the same item. The plug for the partition wall is maybe steel or nylon with the screw on it. When the whole plug is inserted into the hollow wall and when apply with the tool to pull it, a butterfly knot is formed. I bought the tool and the plugs from Podai Engrg quiet some yrs ago. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2008 I think I got the wrong picture not refering to the same item. The plug for the partition wall is maybe steel or nylon with the screw on it. When the whole plug is inserted into the hollow wall and when apply with the tool to pull it, a butterfly knot is formed. I bought the tool and the plugs from Podai Engrg quiet some yrs ago. Thanks... if u can post a photo of the tools that will be great.. anyway thanks for the info.. i m seraching at yellow page for Podai Engrg.... thanks I think I got the wrong picture not refering to the same item. The plug for the partition wall is maybe steel or nylon with the screw on it. When the whole plug is inserted into the hollow wall and when apply with the tool to pull it, a butterfly knot is formed. I bought the tool and the plugs from Podai Engrg quiet some yrs ago. Hi Can u confirm if this Podai Engrg is in Woodlands In Park E1? Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gladyslim 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2008 Thanks... if u can post a photo of the tools that will be great.. anyway thanks for the info.. i m seraching at yellow page for Podai Engrg.... thanks Hi Can u confirm if this Podai Engrg is in Woodlands In Park E1? Thanks Yes, Podai engrg is located at Woodlands, just give them a call Let them know what the material of your wall and what kind of fastener should be use. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted December 29, 2008 Yes, Podai engrg is located at Woodlands, just give them a call Let them know what the material of your wall and what kind of fastener should be use. Thanks Gladys. I rush there today lunch time n got the tools... Thanks. Made in japan with metal rivets/ Butterflies... i suppose they will work better.... Let me try then post some results here... thanks a lot.. Kam Sia Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gladyslim 0 Report post Posted December 30, 2008 Hope u get the correct item, not the rivets set. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted December 31, 2008 Hope u get the correct item, not the rivets set. Thanks a Million Gladys. The rivet set aka the tool works perfectly without any problem and hassle. Easy to use. just poke a small hole with a screw driver then push the metal rivet in.... use the tool to cramp and set the hook/ screw. easy as abc... down side is that the tools cost $50 and rivet $20+... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted December 31, 2008 Thanks a Million Gladys. The rivet set aka the tool works perfectly without any problem and hassle. Easy to use. just poke a small hole with a screw driver then push the metal rivet in.... use the tool to cramp and set the hook/ screw. easy as abc... down side is that the tools cost $50 and rivet $20+... This is the tool & the box of rivet aka butterfly with screw This is the closeup fo the butterfly... thee is various version like the one with a S hook. Notice how the Butterfly opens after using the tools to open the butterfly. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gladyslim 0 Report post Posted December 31, 2008 (edited) The plug without 's' hook is about $1.20 a pc but the tool is too expensive. U should try a few more shops. There are a few shops at Blk 20 or Blk 22 Woodlands link which carry wide varities of tools but the staff over there is not that helpful that they don't advise much on what to use or any other alternative. This web: PS fasterner -Pan Sun hardware has this plug or anchor and I think it's cheaper. Edited January 1, 2009 by gladyslim Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Byr 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2009 The plug without 's' hook is about $1.20 a pc but the tool is too expensive. U should try a few more shops. There are a few shops at Blk 20 or Blk 22 Woodlands link which carry wide varities of tools but the staff over there is not that helpful that they don't advise much on what to use or any other alternative. This web: PS fasterner -Pan Sun hardware has this plug or anchor and I think it's cheaper. Thanks. I ws in urgent need to ractify the problem. Thanks anyway Share this post Link to post Share on other sites