Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 (edited) The GOOD: 1) When it was at design phrase, I specifically ask Jason if I can have 2 glass aluminium frame hanging cabinets. He said NO. Cannot be done. When the end result came out, it was the old style... wood frame with a piece of glass. I dont like it at all. Dont match with my overall look of the kitchen. Those who came for the open house would have seen it. When Ah Soon came over, I ask him why my earlier design cannot be done. He said YES... can be done. Just a bit more costly. But he was so kind. "I will change for it" no worries. Now I got what I want. but the 2 cabinets got to be tore down and changed. Why can't Jason tell me it can be done. Then no need to go thru the hussle of changing. And chopping down more trees. SIGH 2) THE GOOD-ER Hmm... very happy the BLUM boxes came out ok.... 3) THE GOOD-EST Of... I so love this row of pantry..... I am glad it came out according to what i have planned. 5 drawers for all my canned food, cereals... food..... baking stuff. THE FUNNY: They really dont care.........many of the "BLUM" logo put upside down..... some are in correct position. At least they can refer to the catalogue or plastic bag it came in. Anyway, Jason pull them out and put them correctly. These guys are really funny. I had a good laugh when I saw the logo. Now, what oven to buy to put in the hole. I went to Mayer IMM....... dont think they are very helpful. There is a promotion for a Ariston oven $619 and another Indesit $699. Really blur now... dont know what to buy. Any good recommendations? And today they are putting in the Corian top. I am feeling very jittery now. Hope they dont make any mistakes! I just want this reno to finish and handover by Wed (as scheduled). Will post pics later today with the counter top. Edited May 4, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 (edited) When I did my reno 8 years ago, I also used solid surface. The counter top installation was very fast as I saw them do it myself. 1 day to install and join the pieces in place. The next day about 1-2 hrs to polish and grind the top. If nothing goes wrong and in schedule. Ah Soon should be able to make it Edited May 4, 2009 by growler Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 (edited) I assume it's Wendy posting now I got my Ariston oven...if u ask me, I will still opt for Ariston And oh...I am so in love with your drawers...Hubby finally nodded his head when I told him I wanted something like yours after seeing how useful it will be for me I hope the handover will be hassle free...if your tv feature wall ready? Can post the picture for me?? Edited May 4, 2009 by familyof4 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 ohhh...i love your pantry too...and blum reallylooks nice...gonna try pester my hubby to get blum..... when its all done, let me know...would love to go to your place to see the big transformation.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 wendy ur Blum drawers are really chio. How much did u top up in all to get the 5 small drawers? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 (edited) I assume it's Wendy posting now I got my Ariston oven...if u ask me, I will still opt for Ariston And oh...I am so in love with your drawers...Hubby finally nodded his head when I told him I wanted something like yours after seeing how useful it will be for me I hope the handover will be hassle free...if your tv feature wall ready? Can post the picture for me?? Fannie, TV & feature wall actually done but the wall paper very badly done so someone tore it out again. So can't post pics when the wall paper has tears and bumps. Ivy Each of the drawers costs about 90+ EACH drawers PreciousJam Yes.. you can come over this week. Cos I only shift in next week. This week, we are cleaning and receiving our dining table. Remember my 9.90 chairs? Now all your hubby gotta HAMMER me ... tempt you gals with the BLUM. Edited May 4, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 Fannie, TV & feature wall actually done but the wall paper very badly done so someone tore it out again. So can't post pics when the wall paper has tears and bumps. Ivy Each of the drawers costs about 90+ EACH drawers PreciousJam Yes.. you can come over this week. Cos I only shift in next week. This week, we are cleaning and receiving our dining table. Remember my 9.90 chairs? Oh dear...I hope all these will be over for you soon... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 wahhh not cheap hor 1 drawer $90+... will have to negotiate with uncle soon liao. The man at my house won't have a clue by i need to install $90 drawer. To him so long as things can put in there can liao.. He dun really care if retrieval of items are difficult.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 (edited) wahhh not cheap hor 1 drawer $90+... will have to negotiate with uncle soon liao. The man at my house won't have a clue by i need to install $90 drawer. To him so long as things can put in there can liao.. He dun really care if retrieval of items are difficult.. Wa... still can negotiate???.......... i was very happy when they cost me near contractor's price. ID prices were 200-300 per drawers. Edited May 4, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 i agree leh...Ivy, ask Brian to tell him about the drawers...my man is fascinated when he saw Wendy's and how i went goo-goo-ga-ga with him on the way back home telling him about the drawers...he is happy with the pricing So i will get my BLUM :) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 wahhh not cheap hor 1 drawer $90+... will have to negotiate with uncle soon liao. The man at my house won't have a clue by i need to install $90 drawer. To him so long as things can put in there can liao.. He dun really care if retrieval of items are difficult.. how true!!! told my hubby about blum...and he's clueless about it...if tell him gonna be more expensive he'll go ??? smallboy: guess must bring him to your house to try it out for himself... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 (edited) Another alternative is to use blum tracks (maybe $40+)and get ah soon to do up his regular drawer type (the wood ones). You still can achieve the 5 rows of drawers inside a tall cabinet (my pantry). Just a suggestion to save money. :) hahaha.. the guys really can't get it. My hubby also like that say. He said I 'tricked' him... how come now got 13 drawers.... want to shoot me already .... at first you only want 5, right. When I wanted 5, it was ID prices mah.. that's all I can afford from my own pocket. hee..hee.. now with contractors pricing, I add liao... add and add...... xiao liao. We invited my friend and his wife to view last sat, the wifey also went ga ga over the BLUM drawers. They just completed their reno 1 month back. Edited May 4, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 Thinking of this one. Saw this Indesit one... hubby say "energy saving one better" http://www.mayer.sg/www/storefront/Product...p;Brand=Indesit Now $699 promotional price. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 it looks nice I agree with energy saving...but I do not bake so extensively so it is ok right? hehe... Wendy, wana ask u again...can share with me the model and the price u got for the ventilation fan from KDK? Am "conning" Hubby into getting it for my bathroom! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted May 4, 2009 it looks nice I agree with energy saving...but I do not bake so extensively so it is ok right? hehe... Wendy, wana ask u again...can share with me the model and the price u got for the ventilation fan from KDK? Am "conning" Hubby into getting it for my bathroom! I check the model no when I go to the new house later. I am really undecided on ovens now... now I am researching Brandt. Some in this forum highly recommend this lei. How? Ariston, Brandt, Indesit...... aiyo.... someone help me? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites