apples 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 Apples... I plan every drawer (down to size, hee...hee...) every open door. Where to place my stove, sink, fridge, oven... I plan it around the way I cook, my work flow..... my preferences for counter space, to cook with my girl (who loves cooking)... my baking endeavours.... etc... And I love entertaining... so that counter space (open island) is great for serving food. Wah .. sounds like very detail planning. I think I cannot sleep tonight ..keke So what oven you bought in the end? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 smallboy just checking, between the tall unit and the low one, won't there be some dead space at the lower cabinet? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 Aisay. Good good. Uncle Soon saves the day! It does look a little low. How much lower is it from the planned one? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 OMG! So many! Its like the demo video!!! Erm whats the dmg? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 Wendy Replying: Hi apples, I bought that basket from the carpentry people who did this... they showed me catalogue.... quoted me less than 80.. can't remember exact price. But certainly cheaper than most places I have seen...a size smaller than this was 125 at a shop at Jalan Besar. BTW, Song Cho not cheap... we find the prices very very high. I didn't see sample.... just see catalogue. Those 2 corners, I am not installing basket. Basically basket only for my sauce bottles, near the cooking area. Some tips for planning kitchen: 1) Observe currently how you cook... what items you usually need? Pots, plates.. sauces... placed these near you. 2) Go to ikea and play around with their kitchen... I like to see how they plan their layout. Or play with their software.. very fun.. 3) Go to BLUM website.. some helpful tips there. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 Wendy Replying: Hi apples, I bought that basket from the carpentry people who did this... they showed me catalogue.... quoted me less than 80.. can't remember exact price. But certainly cheaper than most places I have seen...a size smaller than this was 125 at a shop at Jalan Besar. BTW, Song Cho not cheap... we find the prices very very high. I didn't see sample.... just see catalogue. Those 2 corners, I am not installing basket. Basically basket only for my sauce bottles, near the cooking area. Some tips for planning kitchen: 1) Observe currently how you cook... what items you usually need? Pots, plates.. sauces... placed these near you. 2) Go to ikea and play around with their kitchen... I like to see how they plan their layout. Or play with their software.. very fun.. 3) Go to BLUM website.. some helpful tips there. ouch, we didn't know carpentry pple sell all these. we bought the rack at song cho, 180 bucks (the smallest one ) heart ache now. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 (edited) Fondue, the tall unit is like a pantry unit. All blum tandemboxes with pull out handles.... I have a long door over that tall unit. Then inside 5 small box liked drawers for cans, containers... biscuits tins..etc... apples, I still have not bought an oven. Ask them to make oven standard size so I can fit a 60x60 oven. Ivy, yes.. there is dead space... but in my household, there are also dead stuff... hahaha... meaning stuff in boxes which I called antique.... which my mom said cannot throw and I dont use... those type of things. Actually I wanted that space to be a corner pull out unit...... Pinkpetter: Almost 2 inches shorter..... infor for everyone, our finished cabinet should be 34" tall ... industry standard unless you are very tall... you will need something higher. XBB: what's DMG? Edited April 22, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 ouch, we didn't know carpentry pple sell all these. we bought the rack at song cho, 180 bucks (the smallest one ) heart ache now. Just like BLUM, they can get these at contractor prices. :) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 (edited) Fondue, the tall unit is like a pantry unit. All blum tandemboxes with pull out handles.... I have a long door over that tall unit. Then inside 5 small box liked drawers for cans, containers... biscuits tins..etc... apples, I still have not bought an oven. Ask them to make oven standard size so I can fit a 60x60 oven. Ivy, yes.. there is dead space... but in my household, there are also dead stuff... hahaha... meaning stuff in boxes which I called antique.... which my mom said cannot throw and I dont use... those type of things. Actually I wanted that space to be a corner pull out unit...... Pinkpetter: Almost 2 inches shorter..... infor for everyone, our finished cabinet should be 34" tall ... industry standard unless you are very tall... you will need something higher. XBB: what's DMG? wow. great u can turn into a great "cooking mama" with these wonderful blum/kitchen setup can't wait to see your kitchen completion... as for the s/s pull out rack, think buy liao don't think le, else very sayang. haha next time next house, will learn from these dearly mistakes Edited April 22, 2009 by fondue_ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
XiaoBinBin 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 dmg = damage heee i'm wondering if my existing kitchen cabinets can fit new blum runners? r the runners bigger than usual? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
apples 0 Report post Posted April 22, 2009 (edited) Wendy Replying: Hi apples, I bought that basket from the carpentry people who did this... they showed me catalogue.... quoted me less than 80.. can't remember exact price. But certainly cheaper than most places I have seen...a size smaller than this was 125 at a shop at Jalan Besar. BTW, Song Cho not cheap... we find the prices very very high. I didn't see sample.... just see catalogue. Those 2 corners, I am not installing basket. Basically basket only for my sauce bottles, near the cooking area. Some tips for planning kitchen: 1) Observe currently how you cook... what items you usually need? Pots, plates.. sauces... placed these near you. 2) Go to ikea and play around with their kitchen... I like to see how they plan their layout. Or play with their software.. very fun.. 3) Go to BLUM website.. some helpful tips there. Thanks for the tip .. If you not installing baskets at the corner, then will be very difficult to reach the inside right? I mean, will be like 'dead space'?? Ya, we went to see Song Cho, very very exp lor. But their stuff really good quality and don't rust leh Did you request to meet up with the carpentry people directly to discuss? Hmm .. jason only ask me to tell him how many and where the drawers going to be. Still thinking of how to make sure the corners can be reachable .. *headache* Edited April 22, 2009 by apples Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2009 (edited) Wendy replying: XBB, I think runners are standard sizes... maybe you can check with the contractors who are doing your reno. Apples, you should have an idea what you want... and Jason will draw accordingly. That's what i did. Or else he will just do all cabinets (not the drawer type)....... as for the corners, you can buy those basket/trays which turn at the corners. These are specially made for corners. But I find the space needed to put those corner pull out very large. I only have 1 corner of dead space... well, I also put 'dead' stuff inside. ie.... all those antique cups and stuff which my mom said cannot throw. So I wont access them usually. For the other corner, I have design such that it will open up from my counter the other side. hee..hee.. hard to see from pics. Apples, if you can't come on sat, you are welcome to visit next weekend. Maybe we will be there. 1 or 2 May??? Fondue, me no 'cooking mama'........ I am just experimenting.... just love to try new cooking stuff. My next stop is Pantry Magic at Holland village. Got very cool kitchen stuff.... :) Edited April 23, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2009 Wendy replying: XBB, I think runners are standard sizes... maybe you can check with the contractors who are doing your reno. Apples, you should have an idea what you want... and Jason will draw accordingly. That's what i did. Or else he will just do all cabinets (not the drawer type)....... as for the corners, you can buy those basket/trays which turn at the corners. These are specially made for corners. But I find the space needed to put those corner pull out very large. I only have 1 corner of dead space... well, I also put 'dead' stuff inside. ie.... all those antique cups and stuff which my mom said cannot throw. So I wont access them usually. For the other corner, I have design such that it will open up from my counter the other side. hee..hee.. hard to see from pics. Apples, if you can't come on sat, you are welcome to visit next weekend. Maybe we will be there. 1 or 2 May??? Fondue, me no 'cooking mama'........ I am just experimenting.... just love to try new cooking stuff. My next stop is Pantry Magic at Holland village. Got very cool kitchen stuff.... :) Please help me stop my wife from buying more stuff. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 23, 2009 Please help me stop my wife from buying more stuff. Haha. Actually wanted to ask wendy to check out crockery at sia huat too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Smallboy 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2009 (edited) Fondue, you can tell who is posting. The one who go BUY BUY BUY is wendy..... :) Sia Huat is one of my stops too. I heard there is a warehouse in Genting Lane or Tagore Lane which sells very nice crockery... those overstock items from Europe and US brands... hee..hee... save save first. Today, lighting delivery. woohoo.... I love my lights And the Franke sink and tap came in yesterday.... look and look... really didn't regret buying. So nice. The hob and hood also looking good! Good installation by the carpentry guys. They are not too bad lah..... My MBR 'space disk' sink came in too.... fans... Even my veneer doors are installed. Wow.. very fast leh. Edited April 23, 2009 by Smallboy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites