Smallboy

Dream Home @ Clementi

oh, I understood :) - it's this:

http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70108926

Then, carpenter will add front panel(plank) c/w laminated/ABS trimming, am I right?

I'll ask my ID whether I should use the IKEA's . I won't choose Blum - very expensive. Ikea's is good enough (for me)

Thanks for information!

Yes.. that's the one! But wait, I got the same prices for BLUM from my contractor.......... it is not that far difference in prices....:) Tempting you now!

Way before I start my reno, I research on BLUM............ then I asked some ID and they quote me some ridiculous prices.... so i thought BLUM is out of my reach....... now Uncle said it is not so ex......... it is just depends on the markup of the contractor and ID............... so now I know... I can get BLUM at 'contractor' prices.... hee..hee...:)

Yes.. that's the one! But wait, I got the same prices for BLUM from my contractor.......... it is not that far difference in prices....:) Tempting you now!

Way before I start my reno, I research on BLUM............ then I asked some ID and they quote me some ridiculous prices.... so i thought BLUM is out of my reach....... now Uncle said it is not so ex......... it is just depends on the markup of the contractor and ID............... so now I know... I can get BLUM at 'contractor' prices.... hee..hee...:)

It sounds great for you! BLUM is the best! (all my friends say that!)

Actually, my reno contract has been signed. I wonder... can I buy BLUM from others and ask his carpenter for installation? Must ask my ID :) He's a good man so far :)

just FYI, an contractor - office located @ Park Mall, offered additional $200 per one BLUM drawer. I dont know whether it's good price...for me...it's too high!

Please keep update!!!

Wah .. finally I found another person from ah soon's club also interested in Blum.

We also keen to install blum drawers leh .. even went to check out the drawers from a hardware shop.

Did you speak to Jason about this? When I told Ah Soon about Blum, he very blurr .. hahaha

Can share how much top-up required?

It sounds great for you! BLUM is the best! (all my friends say that!)

Actually, my reno contract has been signed. I wonder... can I buy BLUM from others and ask his carpenter for installation? Must ask my ID :) He's a good man so far :)

just FYI, an contractor - office located @ Park Mall, offered additional $200 per one BLUM drawer. I dont know whether it's good price...for me...it's too high!

Please keep update!!!

$200 for a 80cm is not too bad......... one ID quoted me $350.... FAINTS!

if your ID is a good man, then tell him on the side lines.. you can buy BLUM and get him to install for you. If he can this favor for you.... GOOD MAN!

Edited by Smallboy

Wah .. finally I found another person from ah soon's club also interested in Blum.

We also keen to install blum drawers leh .. even went to check out the drawers from a hardware shop.

Did you speak to Jason about this? When I told Ah Soon about Blum, he very blurr .. hahaha

Can share how much top-up required?

Carpentry and BLUM, can ask Jason. His guy brought me the catalogue.

So glad I can find a BLUM person......... my hubby can't understand my obssession!!!! I want my kitchen to be like Jamie Oliver/Nigella Lawson tyep... hahahaha... watch too many cooking shows!

Not so much top up........ rather you pay for the no. of BLUM drawers you want.

hi!! smallboy, mind sharing your quotation with me? uncle soon ask me to see your house next sat....he so cute told my hubby if we see don't like what he do then don't let him do for us....

hahaha.... When we first went to Uncle, he also told me that... you come and see first. If you dont like my workmanship, it is ok.......... HE IS THAT SURE OF HIS WORK. After we see 3 houses done by him, we know why! For that price, it is a good value for money. I will ask my hubby to PM you the quotes.

Edited by Smallboy

Carpentry and BLUM, can ask Jason. His guy brought me the catalogue.

So glad I can find a BLUM person......... my hubby can't understand my obssession!!!! I want my kitchen to be like Jamie Oliver/Nigella Lawson tyep... hahahaha... watch too many cooking shows!

Not so much top up........ rather you pay for the no. of BLUM drawers you want.

You sound like a good cook .. think Jamie, Nigella :D

When will your carpentry be done?

hahaha.... When we first went to Uncle, he also told me that... you come and see first. If you dont like my workmanship, it is ok.......... HE IS THAT SURE OF HIS WORK. After we see 3 houses done by him, we know why! For that price, it is a good value for money. I will ask my hubby to PM you the quotes.

smallboy, uncle also ask me to go and see your house! Guess mine will also be an open house when my reno started :)

You guys have no idea how lucky you are... haha When I was sourcing, I only had one miserable house (from Uncle Soon) to view and most of the carpentry weren't even up yet!!! :P :P

To save cost, just get the Blum mechanism and not the whole system. Meaning, the drawers/cabinet structures are done by your carpenter but fixing these items with Blum mechanism. You just need to inform the carpenter and he should know.

I can't find a thread here in RenoTalk but I do remember there is an owner who got the mechanism at a good price in one of the shops in Bukit Timah.

I have a video of the Blum mechanism in my blog:

For Blum Tandemboxen - http://reikisanctuary.vox.com/library/vide...8aad700002.html

For Blum Cliptopen - http://reikisanctuary.vox.com/library/vide...ebb3a3000e.html

Thanx alot!!! hopefully his quotation for me is ok too...hubby quite like him...

Cheers!!!

smallboy, uncle also ask me to go and see your house! Guess mine will also be an open house when my reno started :)

When uncle ask you to go? he ask us to go next sat...have you finalised your final final quotation with him?

haha Uncle say tat to us too! 'if u dun like wat u see, dun ask me reno ur hse!'

we only view 1 unit in Jurong West and we decided to confirm him as our contractor le.

on tat day itself he ask us go choose tiles, tat is b4 the quotation is finalised lor! he super fast one, immediately go apply reno permit and started hacking within the next few days! tiling started before we even pay him the 1st cheque lor!! i ask Uncle u not scared we no $$$ pay u meh? he say this is trust mah, if i dun trust u y reno for u leh? we *very touched* lor. haha! Uncle is a really a nice guy!! truly respect!

haha Uncle say tat to us too! 'if u dun like wat u see, dun ask me reno ur hse!'

we only view 1 unit in Jurong West and we decided to confirm him as our contractor le.

on tat day itself he ask us go choose tiles, tat is b4 the quotation is finalised lor! he super fast one, immediately go apply reno permit and started hacking within the next few days! tiling started before we even pay him the 1st cheque lor!! i ask Uncle u not scared we no $$$ pay u meh? he say this is trust mah, if i dun trust u y reno for u leh? we *very touched* lor. haha! Uncle is a really a nice guy!! truly respect!

ya!!hubby juz told me uncle will pass us the indemity form for my seller to sign, hubby ask have not confirm let him do. He told hubby even if don't let him do, can still sign and submit first so as not to waste time....so touch lei!!

think more and more impressed with him lor...