DoubleJ

Uneven Ceilings When Lights Are On

After my lightings are up. realised the ceilings uneveness very obvious after we switched on the covelights and its too late to construct a false ceiling as i gotta remove the Lboxes to do that. Totally mislooked the ceiling issue. :(

ID suggested plastering or wallpapering the ceiling instead. but plastering will cost me about $1k & doesnt garantee smoothness,ontop of that,will need to repaint :bangwall: wallpaper will be slightly cheaper but was told not lasting. wondering too if there are full white wallpapers.looks pretty strange to wallpaper the ceilings imo. :unsure:

now kinda not sure if i should do the plastering due to budget... is there any other ways to lesser the uneveness shown when the lights are on? will changing the lights to a softer ones help?currently using warm white. very bright. or maybe painting a few more coats of paint? ceilings are white,maybe a colored paint choice will lessen it too? anyone can help with possible solutions please? :(

After my lightings are up. realised the ceilings uneveness very obvious after we switched on the covelights and its too late to construct a false ceiling as i gotta remove the Lboxes to do that. Totally mislooked the ceiling issue. :(

ID suggested plastering or wallpapering the ceiling instead. but plastering will cost me about $1k & doesnt garantee smoothness,ontop of that,will need to repaint :bangwall: wallpaper will be slightly cheaper but was told not lasting. wondering too if there are full white wallpapers.looks pretty strange to wallpaper the ceilings imo. :unsure:

now kinda not sure if i should do the plastering due to budget... is there any other ways to lesser the uneveness shown when the lights are on? will changing the lights to a softer ones help?currently using warm white. very bright. or maybe painting a few more coats of paint? ceilings are white,maybe a colored paint choice will lessen it too? anyone can help with possible solutions please? :(

living room ceiling? got ceiling fan if not try install one. should more or less less obvious.

just my suggestion... my ceiling dun have tat uneven problem but i attach one photo for ur reference

ddb76fee.jpg

for ceiling fan try this http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?sh...2525&st=240

buy a small tub of plaster then ownself DIY plaster. Repaint is recommended to seal off the powder.

Mine also very obvious, but I have to live with it.

thx for suggestion but cant do fans to hide the ceiling as wifey has overhead fan phobia & dont think i am capable of diying the whole ceiling.afraid of making things worse. Haiz, really spoils the living rm.. once the lights are on, the whole ceiling became like an "inverted white desert", dunno how to express it. tml try take a pic to see if it can show. :(

Was quoted $650 to plaster living room ceiling only. the area should be around 6x5m ba, ID told me to pay contractor directly so i guess its not marked up ba. anyone knows if the price quoted for the job is ok? :(

id says wallpaper cannot find pure white type so i told him not doing wallpaper le. The $650 doesnt include sealant or painting. just plastering of the ceiling wor. too expensive already ah? what should be the rough cost? do they count by per feet run or something? saw they using those type of powder plaster which you gotta mix with water,used about 2 pack max only for my job. not sure good enough or not. thought it was a bucket of ready made ones. :unsure:

my living room is inverted Lbox for cove lighting,dont have false ceiling le. original HDB ceiling done at its "BEST". even my id said he hardly see hdb ceiling so "GOOD" de. :unsure: which is why he didnt forsee the ceiling issue. once i switched on the lights,he also shake head. :dunno:

plastering is terribly easy to DIY. $650 is mincing your carrot. Plaster either comes in powder where u mix yourself or in a ready-mixed tub.

no choice sia, if its wall then ok would just DIY. but ceiling will be hard to do for me as my problem is the whole ceiling. not just patching up various places.went to see the job, they like screed the whole ceiling. i reckon its about $500 for labour, judging by the price. quite ex infact for a 1 day job. nvm la. cannot live with it so gotta spend and no confidence even if its really that easy like you said. btw, how serious your ceiling, is it better after you DIY? how long did it took you to fix it? :unsure: