renault

Designers Or Salesman?!

Have anyone ever thought about this.

The regular interior designers we all came across, either in home reno fair or any shops in any shopping centre, are actually just another salesman.

95% of these 'designers' do not have any design background or attended any design schools,

some are o'lvls educated, some are diploma holders in a non-relevant filed such as business or engineering.

BUT YET why do people still engage them as designers for their house?

Are we really getting design? or jus repeated 'decorations' inside the salesman's sale kit?

Have anybody wondered? Where are the REAL designers?

The real designers are 'up there' earning 'real' income.

If you look at your quotation, you will realise that you are not paying for anything related to design. You are only paying for the works.

I agree with you alot of IDs engage 'sales designers' who have ZERO design backgrounds, mostly because they are cheap; I think they are paid like few hundred bucks basic salary but loaded with commission when they close deals.

But more importantly, its because the 80% of us staying in HDB flats (plus easily another 1/3 of those who stay in private) are not willing to pay design fees (space-planning), which is at least UPPER 4-digits figure. Also, to qualify for designer decor, not only you need to pay design fees, you also need to use designer materials and use specialised services for every part of your home; there are kitchen specialists, wardrobe specialists, toilet specialists, etc. Eg kitchen, BLUM equipment are simply not good enough; we are talking about Poggenpohl from the US, or at least Häcker-Küchen from Germany. For wardrobes, Lumiera just doesn't cut the cake; it must be at least a Hoffen design. And each of them will cost you 5-digit figure, easily.

So 'real' design firms have no choice but to move away from us, leaving us with only contractor-turned-ID firms; but because of the low barrier of entry, there are hundreds of such firms in Singapore, prices are pressed until low-low, so bo pianz have to get cheap labour to bring in sales, flip expensive magazines (THAT they can afford) and copy ideas, get passed-down ideas from seniors, etc. They are not trained in project management, so screwed-up schedules cannot be avoided. They are using budget materials and equipment, so quality cannot be assured too. I am not complaining, because I, too, am not willing to pay $100K to renovate my flat. No choice lah, you pay peanuts, you get monkeys mah.

Meanwhile, the real designers who graduated from prestigious schools are now doing beautiful houses for the rich, or working on commercial projects where budget are bigger. Well, you bunch of expensive real designers, wait for me...one day I will have the money to engage your services... ;)

Edited by zirhk3355

what design is there to talk about when no one wanted to pay for it.

even some designers design some ***** that going to cost alot.

who going to pay for the time and effort they spend in?

be realistic a little.

do u go to consultant firm to get a quote which may cost 2 to 3 times more

than a contractor company or u want to save cost by going to a contractor firm.

think design think money first

because of the low barrier of entry, there are hundreds of such firms in Singapore, prices are pressed until low-low

just curious (non relavant to topic), r u working as a business analyst? :notti:

(i studied business analyst, the wordings u used are exactly the same as what a business analyst will use :D )

be realistic a little.

Correct lor, if we are not willing to pay for design, then too bad we got to live and survive with such "sales designers". I am not looking down on anyone; I myself also cannot afford such expensive design works. And we can't have the cake and eat it too; if we want cheap and if we want to go direct to contractors, I am sure nobody would stop us. But we must be prepared to be hands-on, close our minds to those sales talk and endure some screw-ups.

However, I think its not fair to say no one wanted to pay design; I have personally seen good design works and its really worth the money. And yes, if I had the money, I would pay for it, but alas, don't have lor...got to be realistic.

just curious (non relavant to topic), r u working as a business analyst? :notti:

(i studied business analyst, the wordings u used are exactly the same as what a business analyst will use :D )

No I am not. I should say my job is more inclined towards real estate (NOT property agent).

And frankly, I learnt that phrase from books too!

Correct lor, if we are not willing to pay for design, then too bad we got to live and survive with such "sales designers". I am not looking down on anyone; I myself also cannot afford such expensive design works. And we can't have the cake and eat it too; if we want cheap and if we want to go direct to contractors, I am sure nobody would stop us. But we must be prepared to be hands-on, close our minds to those sales talk and endure some screw-ups.

However, I think its not fair to say no one wanted to pay design; I have personally seen good design works and its really worth the money. And yes, if I had the money, I would pay for it, but alas, don't have lor...got to be realistic.

No I am not. I should say my job is more inclined towards real estate (NOT property agent).

And frankly, I learnt that phrase from books too!

Believe you've got quotations before from contractors & those so called id firm, is there any diff in price?

There is a huge difference of course. When I tried to be funny and got a 'hi-class' designer to quote me for my flat, it was almost double the cost; eg a feature wall was quoted at $9K+, but though its mere cosmetic, I must say I was very impressed by the design.

Did try to copy their ideas after that, but somehow it didn't turn out to be the same...haiz...

There is a huge difference of course. When I tried to be funny and got a 'hi-class' designer to quote me for my flat, it was almost double the cost; eg a feature wall was quoted at $9K+, but though its mere cosmetic, I must say I was very impressed by the design.

Did try to copy their ideas after that, but somehow it didn't turn out to be the same...haiz...

i think so it will be very hard to copy the design. not all ids know how to make it

it's a tough world out here for real designers, or even designers who graduated from local design schools.

even when they spend all the time and effort, good designs don't sell simply because of price. and many ppl rather engage a cheaper "contractor style" firm and copy the designs. (no offense to anyone :))

I myself studied ID for 4 yrs, and am currently a sales designer.

I love to create beautiful designs, and seriously it's a joy to be able to do that, to craft and create the perfect home. And I take pride in my designs.

Due to budget contrains, it's expected that the design will change,and surely the concept is altered as well.

Ultimately, it may or may not turn out as nice as it could be.

All I can do, is work hard and strive for a brighter tomorrow. And hope more and more people will appreciate the advantages real designers have over contractor firms. :)

it's a tough world out here for real designers, or even designers who graduated from local design schools.

even when they spend all the time and effort, good designs don't sell simply because of price. and many ppl rather engage a cheaper "contractor style" firm and copy the designs. (no offense to anyone :))

I myself studied ID for 4 yrs, and am currently a sales designer.

I love to create beautiful designs, and seriously it's a joy to be able to do that, to craft and create the perfect home. And I take pride in my designs.

Due to budget contrains, it's expected that the design will change,and surely the concept is altered as well.

Ultimately, it may or may not turn out as nice as it could be.

All I can do, is work hard and strive for a brighter tomorrow. And hope more and more people will appreciate the advantages real designers have over contractor firms. :)

At the end of the day, is how much the coy or ids want to 'tiu' their comissions.. that spells everything.

Hi, I am a newbie here. Actually I am thinking most of the ids are copy idea from others, eg: magazine, others id's design, just combine all people's idea and make it become own (Sorry if offence anyone), maybe I dont know, this is designer world.. :dunno:

You can't really fault the IDs for lack of creativity in the designs that materialize in real-life. I am sure some of the IDs have really unique and creative propositions, but at the end of the day, will people fork out money to fulfill those IDs' creative aspirations? Hard to say, right? :unsure:

I read this from someone but don't remember the source.

There is a thin line between a designer and copycat, a copycat simply copy an idea, but a designer will copy it and bring it to a new level. I think it is almost impossible to be 100% original nowadays ... especially in interior designs.

be realistic a little.

Hi Art Ching,

Am so agreed wif u!

totally agreed with the people here. Lets say the reno work worth 30k..

do u wanna spend this much to let someone who dun have design background or perhap someone who works as a insurance agent, car agent or any sales lines before to reno ur house just because they are gd in talking and give you better offer? Are you comfortable?

Or

do u wanna spend a bit more on design fees to let a design consultancy firm to manage for you. Price for design consultancy has dropped tremendously for the past few yrs. Dun mistaken design consultancy firm only provide services for high end client.. The services and prices has now cater to all sort of classes. :)

GO FOR THE REAL DESIGN....:)