fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 (edited) . Edited September 29, 2009 by fondue_ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Reiki 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 First, my apologies to fondue to hijack this thread posting about Blum For those wanting to see Blum system, other than at Blum's factory in Ubi, there is one at Toto Showroom along Bukit Timah Road [near to KK Hospital]. Blum's hardware/parts can be bought through Blum's authorised reseller. Shops that are selling them usually will have "Blum Dealer" sticker. One shop that was highlighted here in Reno before is Kiang Sing Hong @ Upper Bukit Timah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 Pinkpetter: really? So good ? So Uncle charge you 1 price for the kitchen cabinets then it includes the laminate- surface, and whatever number of drawers & shelving u want?? Cos i wanna do 2 pull-out drawers at each section for all the bottom and top cabinets will be all shelves instead, if all are charged separately, i cant imagine how much more they will cost? Pinkpetter, btw how are the soft-closing hinges so far provided by Uncle huh, pull-out drawers also soft-closing right? Cos I think one of the owner said that its a bit tight to open leh. Btw does Ah Soon do suspended bottom cabinets? those that i can put cove lightings below one..more modern i think. How much more expensive or cheaper is that, since now no cabinet base with matching tiles le? Apologise for so many qns heh see... fondue and gongkia already replied you wor. Ya he just roughly drew out the design for the cabinets at the beginning and quoted me without confirming what I wanted inside. The same for my shoe cabinet. Then when he was going to send to the factory for fabrication then he asked us... we added two drawers inside the shoe cabinets and added for shelves also. Then the full height cabinet in the kitchen we also added shelves and changed the configuration inside a few times... all no charge. MmM There is one of the houses doing suspended right now but I dun rem whose. heh. There IS some kind of cabinet base just that now the cabinet base is much higher and receded. You have to surf ard to see what I mean wor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 (edited) . Edited September 29, 2009 by fondue_ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 hi fondue, i posted some qns for u in my tblog but i think here its better so maybe u can reply faster.. here's a barrage.. 1) for the lightings u are doing for your kit. cabi, is there additional? if yes, how much additional? 2) the 11 drawers that you have done for your cabi, understand that the standard provided is 3 drawers, did he charge u extra also? esp for the longer ones that you have. 3) for your rainshower, i see that you have the joven heater there, its a must to use those big big type of heater is it? can't use those small 707 heater? when i asked uncle soon if can use my existing 707 heater to power the rainshower for hot water, he say can. but when i asked at the shops for rain shower, they say must buy big heater, 707 heaters cant do it.. dunno who to trust. was thinking if cannot, i will shift my existing 10 yrs old 707 heater which is going strong to my toilet so there's 2 showers, which can be used if we're in a rush. 4) so how much are your damages for blum track? after going to your place, i must say that it's great that uncle has taken initiative to give us anti slam for the drawers but scared that i need strength to pull out if the track is not that good. so maybe get blum too. but it's still a see-how item. wonder if his anti slam is good for heavy load or not. sorry to bombard you with so much questions.. oh yes! mom and i picked the same wall tiles as you for kitchen. now mixing and matching for the floor tiles. i cant really remember, is your kitchen wall tiles white as well? i want my entire kitchen to be white, only black is the granite worktop. thanks in advance to you and hubby for the help given, and for all to come! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 aubrey: better not to use the 707 instant heater for rainshower, there were a couple of feedbacks in RT that the rain becos like drizzle, becos the pressure is not strong enough. I've heard from one of the shops that those instant heater cannot support hot/cold water mixer becos they dun not have a storage within the unit, n the pressure that builds up within the heater can increase the chances of the heater exploding. Not sure how true thou... just to play safe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 urgh, so means i have to buy the huge heater? ooo okok. then uncle soon still say can!! it doesnt matter if i dont have hot/cold pipings for my place as long as i have the heater? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 urgh, so means i have to buy the huge heater? ooo okok. then uncle soon still say can!! it doesnt matter if i dont have hot/cold pipings for my place as long as i have the heater? on the topic of heater...does storage tank consume more electricity than instant? wanted to use storage but not sure about electrical bills... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ivy 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 Hey fondue, after hearing so many people drooling about ur reno hor very eager to see more leh!!! can post more pics soon??? yishun very far for me...I'm in the west. I am Clementi Ivy.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
growler 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 on the topic of heater...does storage tank consume more electricity than instant? wanted to use storage but not sure about electrical bills... Do not buy storage heater unless you want to use rain shower or long bath. In the long run, your electrical consumption will be very high. I learnt it the hard way. I'm changing all my showers to instant water heaters now after the renovation of my kitchen and MBR toilet ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
preciousjam 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 Do not buy storage heater unless you want to use rain shower or long bath. In the long run, your electrical consumption will be very high. I learnt it the hard way. I'm changing all my showers to instant water heaters now after the renovation of my kitchen and MBR toilet ... thanx for the advice!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 aubrey: i doubt ur house's piped up for citygas right? I'm using citygas instant heater for the rainshower, works a little diff from both the conventional type of instant heater and the storage tank heater, but at the same time able to support my rainshower. Gotta have hot n cold water piping for the shower points, plus the hot/cold water mixer to adjust the water temp. Have got a coll who's using this as well, n she's pretty concern abt bills so no complains from her shd be fine on my pocket, i hope. Agree with the rest on the electrical part for storage tank. Would be quite a waste unless everyone in the family showers all ard the same time so that the water doesnt have to be re-heated again. The tank seems quite big as well, u may wanna plan ur spacing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
aubrey 0 Report post Posted April 19, 2009 fondue_ 1) how much are these t5? some friends say not practical, have to keep changing it n solely for aesthetic purposes.. now im thinking about it. and i think we're going to have normal bottom cabi unlike yours cos i think i need all the storage i can get now. plus i dont know how uncle soon is going to design and make it work with my 2 LPG gas tanks. i dont think i can heave them up to the storage area. 2) woah so shiok? will it apply to me??? 3) i am so hopeless with these things. but i dont want to pay too much for elec bills.. and i dunno where to place it n uncle is not that free to discuss with me also. 4) he will revise according to installation charges? are u getting them direct? how abt wardrobe? mrspiglet how are your bills like? we only have experience with instant heaters. yes my place i think we have some gas pipes. but dunno if we can use that. if we opt for the citygas one, does it make sense to get citygas instead of LPG? i am quite tired of the ping pong match i have with my mom over these little things. she's been using LPG since she started to stay here. to be honest i dont like the huge water heater tank. is this the gas tank? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 20, 2009 aubrey, have replied u in ur t-blog Share this post Link to post Share on other sites