Ami

Mr & Mrs Ng Lovenest

Shoe Cabinet (Hubby's Design)

IMG_4503.jpg

Solid Top Installed

IMG_4564.jpg

IMG_4567.jpg

By the way, is it common for the top and bottom kitchen cabinets to differ 2-3cm in length? Cuz we have asked for even-length but when Henry's guy came over to measure the tilted glass in-between, we then realize wor. Anyone please?

MBR Bathroom Basin

IMG_3754.jpg

IMG_3755.jpg

NIGHTMARE 11:

Not really a nightmare but I just find it funny how a PROFESSIONAL plumber can find this acceptable! This is obviously slanted loh!

Luckily contractor in good mood, say will come down and take a look and ask his incompetent plumber to realign.

Like dat also can, that plumber really got no pride in is work. How come your contractor never spot it, wait until you tell him.

They dreaming maybe? Hoping we won't notice? Hahaha... I don't know.

But you know hor, the plumber came down at least 5 times to rectify our problems loh. CAN YOU IMAGINE!

Shoe Cabinet (Hubby's Design)

IMG_4503.jpg

Solid Top Installed

IMG_4564.jpg

IMG_4567.jpg

By the way, is it common for the top and bottom kitchen cabinets to differ 2-3cm in length? Cuz we have asked for even-length but when Henry's guy came over to measure the tilted glass in-between, we then realize wor. Anyone please?

Wah the shoe cabinet very nice. Mmm I guess you are proud of these cos Henry did them ba.

As for your cabinets ah, it's possible ba. Cos on the right of the picture there is a beam... but you made an L shape counter below it... so your top cabinet will prolly make all the way to the beam cos if leave a gap and end at the same place as the bottom one will look ugly. But your bottom cabinet is restricted on the other end by your fridge base... Will have some difference but not visible one...

make the glass follow the bottom one can liao la. :)

The more I read your thing the worse i feel. haiz

Wah the shoe cabinet very nice. Mmm I guess you are proud of these cos Henry did them ba.

As for your cabinets ah, it's possible ba. Cos on the right of the picture there is a beam... but you made an L shape counter below it... so your top cabinet will prolly make all the way to the beam cos if leave a gap and end at the same place as the bottom one will look ugly. But your bottom cabinet is restricted on the other end by your fridge base... Will have some difference but not visible one...

make the glass follow the bottom one can liao la. :)

The more I read your thing the worse i feel. haiz

Maybe cause met a bad contractor, and when someone good comes along, you just feel great loh. It's like God made that stupid contractor in order to make us appreciate Henry. Or something along that line lah. :D

I also don't know leh cuz Henry said it's very common. But he said if I want same length, can also be done but told him I want to see the glass up first then decide. And yes, it's following the bottom cabinets length, Hubby decide one. Smart *** lah he. Hahahaha..... I will see how tomorrow loh, before deciding if I want same length or not.

Actually it's very painful lah, and also very frustrating. But thinking back, also very funny how he can directed the whole thing loh. Now that it is nearing handover (he's coming again to rectify the wrought irons and doors tomorrow), I'm actually feeling happier I don't have to see his face and hear his voice anymore!! Hopefully nothing will go wrong again!

I'm starting my reno soon, after reading all your nightmares, I also scared scared liao. Hope he quickly settle and handover to you so no need to see him anymore.

Don't worry! You'll be fine! Read the posts here at Renotalk, all are very informative. Before you make any purchase, decide anything, sign on any dotted line, check here first!!!!! Hehehe...

This place is my best bet now liao. Before I do anything now, I will come here and check check first before deciding. :good:

i'll suggest the same thing like i suggested to another RT user whom is facing contractor problems too but with more drama~ :P

Appear at contractors office in sweaty soccer attire+muddy boots and sloooooowy write the final check while 'nua-ing' and 'goo-ing' on their nicest chair full of sweat smell.dont forget to walk around too ah. they very likey to lose their patience judging by your conflicts with them now & lash out at you. make a commotion.call all the villagers nearby or the cops whatever. haha. all the ppl/shops there sure throw funny looks at them de,i belive that area has alot of there competitors shops on the same level . we paisey 1 time,they paisey forever there and become laughing stock for competitors,this they sure buay tahan one.lolx. :P

remember to act as victimized as possible while they throw you out of the shop or lash out at you ah.cos ppl wouldnt know the story behind & nightmare you been through. cant say act also as you really are the victim ma,so conscience is clear. just a stupid idea la. but you should do it if u can.haha.sure be fun to see his face red & showing his true colors infront of everyone for all he put you through. :D

By the way, is it common for the top and bottom kitchen cabinets to differ 2-3cm in length? Cuz we have asked for even-length but when Henry's guy came over to measure the tilted glass in-between, we then realize wor. Anyone please?- not able to comment unless you show us the kitchen cabinet picture end to end but it is possible and if it is the base cabinet that is longer(normally the case due to the capping solid surface at side) just add another side board 20mm thick to the top cabinet to balance.

That Plumber is totally irresponsible. :curse:

To deal with such a person you will need a person that can reason/deal with him boldly in his face.

Anyhow do work, then you anyhow cut fee. Let him reason with you, you hear then tell him to get back to him ha ha. Waiting cant kill him and take this time to inspect his work carefully and prepare a work warranty in paper for him to sign first so no excuse for him later to rectify work if needed, only then talk balance payment with him.

Edited by 77suns

Very nice shoe cupboard design! Thumbs up to ur hb. :)

Haiz.. Sounds like u have lots of pblms. Hope that it'll all go away and the rest of ur reno will be smooth smooth. :)

I like DoubleJ's solution... did something like that before...

I went to this groomer's shop my dog was inside. Then the groomer refused to pick my calls cos I complained against him. So now he refuses to give me back my dog.

So I kept knocking on his office door and cried... and went to ALL HIS NEIGHBOURS' shops and kept crying, asking them to help me call him. Soon there were 15 people, including my taxi driver all calling his hp, his partner's hp, his office and his home. hahahahahahhahahahaha

he has no choice but to come out from his office and give me back my dog. I even smiled and told him, will pay him next time round ok? ;)

Ami.. should try something like that. :P

Edited by pinkpetter

Condition of Wrought Iron

Common Bedroom (Entertainment Room)

IMG_4507.jpg

IMG_4515.jpg

Living Windows

IMG_4521.jpg

IMG_4525.jpg

NIGHTMARE 12 (I think! Lost count liao. Haha~):

This was what sparked us to change the lock, and deny entry to him and his incompetent workers! House was “officially” handed over as he has “claimed” he finished all the works as stipulated in the contract/quotation. That’s just bull loh.

Issue 1: We didn’t fricking choose this design! On the day of handover (including calculating the final payment), we were shocked to see this design sitting on our windows! Both of us have clearly remembered we chose the musical notes one but contractor’s claim was this was what we selected, how else would he have obtained this code! So we demand he go back check and let us know if it can be changed. The next day he called Hubby and screamed at him – ”WHERE GOT THIS DESIGN! YOU WANT TO PLAY PUNK IS IT? THE DESIGN IS YOU DREAM ONE, OR SAW AT OTHER CONTRACTORS’ OFFICE ONE IS IT? THEN COME AND TELL ME TO INSTALL SOMETHING I DON’T EVEN HAVE!!” Wah, pissed off liao loh. We told him we’ll go down to his office and talk. When we reached, he gave us HIS SO-CALL ALL available suppliers’ catalogue but I don’t see the catalogue we choose the design from so we question him lah. But his response was this is all he had. Then we notice the original quotation he was holding onto had erasers’ marks loh!! Wah, piss anot you tell me lah! Then we tell him never mind, he will hear from our lawyers soon enough. Hahaha…

Issue 2: We were having problems with the wrought iron as you can tell from those pictures. Bleeding, peeling and can see bubbles foaming on the wrought irons. I went to do a check online and came up with the following conclusion, 1) He didn’t sand properly (which can be one of the factor cuz he is super SUB-STANDARD), 2) He didn’t spray properly or use the wrong kind of spray paint, 3) He used 2nd hand one!! which leads us to Issue 1! Our best guess is that he uninstalled that design at one of his customers’ place and in order to save cost, he installed it on our house! Wah, also win liao loh. Hubby meeting him today, see if can remove the wrought iron anot and I’ll get Henry to do it. He don’t want to earn (or want to earn more by using 2nd hand), I let him earn nothing at all.

HE ****ING SO GOT THE CHEEK TO SAY – LAST PAYMENT HAVEN’T MAKE, COME AND FIND TROUBLE AND PROBLEM FOR ME. I KNOW ONE. YOU WANT I COME DOWN AND TAKE A LOOK LOH. Bloody **** still keep chasing us for last payment. Do until like that still want me to pay, he is siao or what! [LATEST UPDATES AS AT 1.15PM – Smelly contractor demanded payment from Hubby and say it has been long enough. Hubby told him to rectify problems before he will pay. Know what he said – ”I GOT SHOP AT BEAUTY WORLD ONE, I WON’T RUN AWAY. I AM UNLIKE THOSE CHINA WORKERS, NO SHOP. 1 – 2 YEARS IF YOU GOT PROBLEMS, I WILL STILL HELP YOU ONE.” Seriously loh, after so much had happened, still want me to believe him ah. I really feel like slapping him in the face loh.

And when calculating the last payment, he added one sentence which pisses the **** out of me! "Wah.. so little only meh? Sure anot? I think have more leh, but I just don’t know where. I got write down, but I don’t know what I didn’t. Must have one, if not why I write down." I ask him go inspect the whole house, say we will never shortchange him one, even though he’s been very smelly and dishonest! Then in the end, still cannot find. **** lah he. :curse:

Happy for you that you never have to see him again also. Things will be all fine soon!!! :)

Hubby seeing him today. So hope can settle everything and don't see/hear from him anymore!!!!! And have nothing to do with him.

I HATE HIM LAH. :furious:

DoubleJ & pinkpetter - Wah, like that sibei drama leh. Hehehehe~ let him no business there also good!! Curse him man. But I read some comments here about his son's ID company, like not bad one. So... also don't know how. Make life difficult for him, means make life difficult for his son. Hmm...

If I go CASE also no use right, in this case? Nothing in black and white?

77suns - Okay, I will go back today and show you how it looks like. According to Henry, the glass should be up today, so should be able to decide if we want to extend anot loh.

He won't anyhow let us cut his fees one. He keep saying he already very cheap, go out cannot find this price, etc etc. Listen liao also angry lah. He really CMI lah.

Angel81 - Thank you! My hubby alot of crazy and funny ideas one lah. He also got one design for our TV console and coffee table. Very nice but will be expensive to do cuz alot of curves. I am still waiting for Henry's quote.

Condition of Bad Painting by Contractor

IMG_4528.jpg

Condition of Bad Cleaning of Common Bathroom

IMG_4554.jpg

IMG_4555.jpg

More Defects of Bad Door Painting

IMG_4568.jpg

IMG_4599.jpg

IMG_4600.jpg