Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 Curved Pathway to Kitchen Removed Overview of Kitchen/House Look at The Amount of Sand! Chute Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 (edited) Common Bathroom Basin Removed Floor Tiles for Both Bathrooms Common Bathroom Wall Tiles NIGHTMARE 1: Now, about the issue regarding the tiles. We were quoted $3.50 for 600X600 homo tiles for living and 2 bedrooms, $2.80 homo tiles for kitchen and both bathrooms (wall & floor), and was told if we choose something of a smaller value, he will refund and deduct from the total renovation cost. We were hesitating as we are not sure if we are going to choose tiles of such high value, but contractor is confident as he mentioned most of the glossy/glassy type ranges between $3.20 - $3.80. As we trusted him (then!!!), we decided to go ahead since there's nothing to lose if it's all refundable. So the day came and we tried to keep the selections within budget. In the end, came down to $3.50 for both living and 2 bedrooms, $2.80 for wall tiles of both bathrooms & $2.40 for kitchen tiles. We were very pleased as we did not go beyond budget with no need to top-up and may have more budget for additional works! So we sat down with him, wanting to talk to him regarding the refund. And guess what he said? "Oh, actually no refund cause it's for GST. See, I am absorbing GST for you so unless you want to pay the GST for your renovations, there will be no refund." Me and my hubby looked at each other in shock! We were like what the heck, you are out to cheat us loh!!! We kept our cool and decided to give him the benefit of doubt, since it's not quite a significant amount and we do not want a mere 40cents to ruin the relationship and in turn make a mess out of the renovations. So stupid of us to have such a mindset and be so nice to him loh! This in turned, got us into so much trouble and part 2 of our nightmare since he thinks he can get away with just everything!! He should be ashamed and condemed for all we care! Edited December 15, 2008 by Ami Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 Jupiter Home - Don't look like meh? I've stayed in Jurong my whole life, my old unit also something like that one, but in Jurong West. I think all Jurong units are built the same way. For Clementi units, the storage will be in-between the MBR and CBR. mafia_lim - Thank you very much! It's nice, but will be better if I did not engage the wrong contractor for the job! Hehehe... Yep, doing whole house. Very very old unit, previous owners did not renovate at all so it's like hacking and rebuilding loh. pinkpetter - Agreed! Me and my hubby were very pleased with the space when we saw the storage room hacked. Just nice for 2 + 1 dog. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 (edited) Door Frames Common Bathroom Wall Tiles Master Bathroom Wall Tiles Hubby Talking to Smelly Contractor regarding Master Bathroom Wall Tiles Edited December 15, 2008 by Ami Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 Close-up Master Bathroom Wall Tiles NIGHTMARE 2: Very nice tiles you may say, but they were all laid in a manner in accordance to the contractor liking! And before, he said he will call and arrange an appointment with us to see how we wants the tiles to be laid. So when we saw the tiles up (somemore not to our liking), we got a shock outta our lives! We had briefly went through with him where we want the tiles on the selection date but everything was well forgotten after that. Common Bathroom: We asked him to lay the patterned tiles on the right side of the bathroom since we are not doing any shower screen. But he went to lay it in the center cuz he thinks it's nicer to do it that way. FINE. MBR Bathroom: We asked him to lay the pattern tiles around the bathroom as we worry it might be too white for our liking. Instead, he went to lay just one side from left to right, above the bathtub cuz again, he thinks it's nicer to do it that way. He even had the cheek to say "Aiyah, no need to make a big fuss. You want I change for you lah. But wait not nice, don't complain again. You think your bathroom is public toilet meh? Only public toilets will like that lay. You want, I relay for you loh." Wah, ****ed up attitude loh he. In the wrong, still dare to speak to us in such a tone. Bloody ****, this is MY house or HIS house. We pay him to do work for us, yet still have to put up with his attitude ah. In the end, we did not change cuz we worried might damage the rest of the tiles. Plus we didn't want to waste time. Wall Done-up for Future Storage Room Kitchen Plastering Works New Door Frames Up! Living & Bedrooms Floor Tiles Up! Kitchen Plastering Kitchen Floor Tiles Base for Washer & Fridge Close-up of Tiles Common Bathroom Floor & Wall Tiles Close-up of Bathrooms Floor Tiles Installation of Bathtub Power Heater Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 Corridor Door Bathtub Installation Completed Electrical Works Commerce NIGHTMARE 3: Just a few words can summarise the torture he brought us: LAST MINUTE. He think we no need work is it! Already tell him so many times if he needs anything, give us few days notice in advance. But his work style is: Tomorrow want, tonight then tell us. Told us he needs the toilet accessories to be in tomorrow cuz his people will be there to install. Then we called the hardware shop, they say cannot cuz haven't order. We were pratically begging him to let us have the stock. So in the end, the shop very nice. Say he will ask the supplier to deliver directly to our place. Thank god loh!! You say lah, stupid and angry anot. "Peanut Design" for Entertainment Room Mixer for Common Bathroom AC Installation Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 Nightmare 2: WHY liddat!... if he want to anyhow lay then ask you all for what?? ask means must follow what. Ask liao then anyhow do... urgh. horrible. Nightmare 3: Wah even my contractor so busy also tell me 5 days beforehand when he wants all the stuff lor. ... tsk tsk Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 NIGHTMARE 4: Aircon - We called him and told him we no longer needed his guys to come down and give us a quote for the AC installation. We were given a very good quote from Best-Tech for a System 3-2 Toshiba invertor and placed a deposit immediately. He was so mad we didn't ask his guys to do it (I reckon because his commission fly away), he kept making things very very difficult for us. Told us we need the aircon guys to come down 2 times because he needs to lay the false ceiling first then the pipes can go up, then painting will take place before the aircon unit can go up. We were very sandwiched in-between as we didn't want to pay Best-Tech $80 to just come down and install the AC unit the 2nd time. Turn out, he was bluffing us cuz we heard it's a MUST to install the AC (both pipes & unit) before painting loh! Luckily we didn't listen to him, and blew $80 for something we didn't need. We had to listen to his nagging and grumblings for at least a week (seemed long enough!!). Where got like that one? I sometimes wonder who's the customers here loh. NIGHTMARE 5: MBR Bathroom Basin - This matter made us fuming mad, we wanted to terminate his service then!!! The day of AC installation, he came by for a quick site inspection (I suspect he wanted to see who's doing our AC). Then when he saw the bathroom basin was sitting out of nowhere, he asked us immediately to move it and asked us to open to check for any defects. And when we did, we found the basin broken into pieces! So contractor immediately said it's our AC guys who broke it (grumbling behind saying we anyhow ask people come and install, why not just let him do it. I sibei not happy cuz this is our renovations, we ask who do also not his problem what! Grumble and nag so much for what?) Then we confronted the AC guys, ask them if it was them who moved the basin, they said yes but not to the extend of breaking them. We then turned our attention to the smelly contractor why haven't install the basin when the bathtub and WC all are up already. So he voiced out saying his plumber say the stopper cannot work so he didn't install. BINGO! Must be the plumber lah, cuz if cannot install why now then tell us right? Common sense will tell us if cannot install, will immediately contact the owner or contractor one right? But stupid contractor kept defending his plumber loh, say cannot be. His plumber very responsible one, blah blah blah. RESPONSIBLE MY FOOT. End up we had to buy another basin for a mistake we did not commit. Hubby was so angry, he didn't wanna talk about this for days! NIGHTMARE 6: Windows - We had asked for a quote to change our windows panels for living and common, the glass panels for whole house including toilets and also wrought iron for living and common. He said $1,500 inclusive of FOC of glass panels for whole house, installation with no GST (I had asked very clearly after the painful experience). We asked him to proceed after calculating our finances. He said okay... When the windows were up, we saw only the glass panels for the living room and common bedroom were replaced but not the kitchen and MBR. We immediately called him and asked why. He said that was what was quoted. So we asked what about the FOC glass panels for the kitchen and MBR. He then raised his voice and said - I swear I didn't say FOC whole house. I only say the bathrooms I will change for you. Already so cheap, you still want FOC kitchen and MBR!! No no no, I won't change for you one. You want, top money loh. Change glass panels for kitchen and MBR, add $380. Wah, fuming mad liao loh. He kept saying we didn't tell him. It's him who didn't honor his words loh! Then bloody **** keep asking us want to change the remaining anot. I told him to go eat ****, I will ask Henry to do it. Really very dishonest. I reckon he got the windows from the supplier at a higher price, that's why in the end, tell us not FOC. MORON. NIGHTMARE 7: He bloody stopped work for about 1 week like that because of the basin. If I had not called his son, I think he would have stopped longer! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 but the pattern tile for the common bathroom very wasted leh covered by the tap and pipe this contractor should be :fire: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 ... You all already very good le. So angry still follow along pay for basin all that. Sigh. poor thing. Lucky now you stop him liao then the money part how? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 but the pattern tile for the common bathroom very wasted leh covered by the tap and pipe this contractor should be :fire: We wanted the mixer to be on the patterned tiles so it's not the contractor's fault. It's just the location of the tiles we so very hate. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 ... You all already very good le. So angry still follow along pay for basin all that. Sigh. poor thing. Lucky now you stop him liao then the money part how? I also think I very good liao, first time so patient loh. Somemore you know what he say - You are the worst customers ever. I don't want to do your business already! PLEASE LOH! I think we should say that loh!! Aiyoh, give up!! We will pay loh, what to do. He did finish up the works mah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 !!!! wah still dare to say such things!! .... horrible! Earn so much money from you all and still dare to talk nonsense. What the ****. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ami 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 !!!! wah still dare to say such things!! .... horrible! Earn so much money from you all and still dare to talk nonsense. What the ****. Ya loh!! I also don't know why we so suay, meet such a "ke wu" contractor loh! Everytime go back do site inspection, confirm will see something we don't like (didn't request him to do, but he'll do). When pick up the phone, still got the cheek to say - "What's your problem AGAIN?" AGAIN!! He thinks we like to call him meh? Eat full no **** do meh? Hehehehe... Ask Henry loh, how much times we call him only?? We leave him to do his work, as long as he can do a good job and can finish on time, any problems call us immediately to notify. The last time when they were installing the cabinets, one of the tiles broke while drilling. I also didn't ask him to compensation. Tell him just mend and as long as not visible, we okay one.. Like that very difficult to work with meh?? Stupid lah my renovation contractor. Yue talk yue angry. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junxian 0 Report post Posted December 15, 2008 must really to both of you de endurance lvl. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites