whitelily

BEWARE when buying Lights

Hi there,

Just to share an experience with a lighting shop at Balestier. Wanted to get all the lights at a shop so as to make the installation a breeze. How wrong we were. The boss was all nice and accommodating when we were choosing lights, telling us bulbs supplied are GE bulbs from hungary and not osram china bulbs that die very very fast, plus good ballasts from australia ..yaddah yaddah. I mean, sounds all nice and all, plus showed us the bulbs that were to be used. And there were really quite a no. of customers before us there who bought lights for the entire house as well. Not that their in-store service was poor or anything. It was quite good.

The problem came during installation. This is why it is impt to be physically present when the electrician comes down. Checked through the things that were packed by the boss. So not the electrician's fault. Found that ballasts were indeed from aussie. ok fine there. Really thot this would be a reliable shop that can be recommended to frens. but then came the problem. Checked the bulbs, and guess wat. They slipped in osram bulbs togetehr with the GE bulbs. Pls. If u dare to make the claim that u are supplying european bulbs, make sure tat u are doing wat u preach. Not apologise when i call and complain and then in the backgrd murmur abt me being too smart and spotting wat u tried to slip in and make a profit out of it. I mean if u know exactly which box u added the osram bulbs to(there were 2 boxes), u perfectly well knew that u were trying to smoke us.

So if anyone ever steps into a shop along balestier with them telling u abt european bulbs and ballasts, run out as fast as u can.

Just went to buy lightings yesterday with my ID.. bought everything from this shop in balestier.. the salesman was quite quiet.. just follow us along.. never push sales.. we got all our lightings from this shop.. my ID said they will upgrade all the bulbs for us to better grade cos he is regular customer liao...

but actually, we are uncomfortable with buying everything from the same shop... never check out others mah.. told our ID and he offered to bring us to the lighting shops along balestier road... in the end, din find any that we like along balestier.. and i got to admit that the shop that our ID brought us to is quite reasonable in pricing loh.. our ID also honestly tells us that the shop usually give 10% comms to him for all the sales.. i blur blur loh.. should have ask him whether he will give us back the comms.. will check with him again on this.. he said before that he will give us back.. :good:

he also cautioned us against going into the mentioned shops... as someone mentioned, its same boss for the shops... dishonest...

talking about lights ....

i had very very bad exprience with Thomson lighting house ... After sales service .. terrible :notti:! spent a few thousand on their shop buy crystal lamps and after tat just terrible <:notti:!

tsk tsk ...

i was at balestier yesterday ... impressed by LC lighitng house but very ex ... Chan Huat not bad i think got tiny acro lamp only for 180 dollars :notti:!

Hi guys

Not sure if this is off-topic but hope someone can help with my budgeting; how much can I expect to spend for the following:

1. 3 x track lights (those with 3 to 5 bulbs can turn and face different directions),

2. 11 x down lights (energy saving),

3. 4 x halogen lights,

4. 1 x circuit for dropped ceiling (about 6 to 8 flourescent tubes),

5. 1 x hanging lights (for dining),

6. 4 x normal ceiling lights (for rooms),

7. 4 x normal ceiling lights (for toilets),

8. 2 x normal ceiling lights (for kitchen),

9. 6 x flourescent/LED tubes (to put under those suspended cabinets in kitchen & WIW),

9. 2 x wardrobe lights (normal/simple ones to lit up the inside of the wardrobes),

10. 2 x night lights (flourescent/LED tubes under my bedside's tables),

I budgeted about $2000 for all above; is it ok, too little or too much??

Edited by zirhk3355

You don't give enough details (eg downlights-- how many watts; track light-- how long is the track-- you can get 3ft, 4 ft, 5 ft, etc.), but it's probably not enough.

The problem with lights is that it's all about individual taste. A hanging light can be as cheap as $40 or as expensive as $1000-- depends on whether you want ah beng type or italian/spanish designer type.

You don't give enough details (eg downlights-- how many watts; track light-- how long is the track-- you can get 3ft, 4 ft, 5 ft, etc.), but it's probably not enough.

The problem with lights is that it's all about individual taste. A hanging light can be as cheap as $40 or as expensive as $1000-- depends on whether you want ah beng type or italian/spanish designer type.

Ya I know but let's just say on normal circumstances, say, hanging lights at about $300 to $400 type?

I not sure about the watt of the downlight; is the price difference very big? Just trying to gauge a budget...

I paid $19 for the stainless steel with glass downlights.

3. 4 x halogen lights,

$30 (a bit like spot light)

Round ceiling lights - $35 each

all at sungei road - i will post my pics soon.

Hi guys

Not sure if this is off-topic but hope someone can help with my budgeting; how much can I expect to spend for the following:

1. 3 x track lights (those with 3 to 5 bulbs can turn and face different directions),

3. 4 x halogen lights,

4. 1 x circuit for dropped ceiling (about 6 to 8 flourescent tubes),

5. 1 x hanging lights (for dining),

7. 4 x normal ceiling lights (for toilets),

8. 2 x normal ceiling lights (for kitchen),

9. 6 x flourescent/LED tubes (to put under those suspended cabinets in kitchen & WIW),

9. 2 x wardrobe lights (normal/simple ones to lit up the inside of the wardrobes),

10. 2 x night lights (flourescent/LED tubes under my bedside's tables),

I budgeted about $2000 for all above; is it ok, too little or too much??

i think $2K is more than enuff. then again, diff pp got diff tastes in lights :)

I paid $19 for the stainless steel with glass downlights.

3. 4 x halogen lights,

$30 (a bit like spot light)

Round ceiling lights - $35 each

all at sungei road - i will post my pics soon.

Hmmz that doesn't seem too ex, huh? Hehe...maybe can reduce my budget, $1.5k, can??

Looking forward to see your pics...

i think $2K is more than enuff. then again, diff pp got diff tastes in lights :deal:

Really...actually I was looking to cut my budget, so should be possible right? :~

I don't have hi-end taste lah, just downlights and normal ceiling lights, I won't want to spend alot. Maybe spend abit more for the dining's hanging lights, but that's it...

Hi, we just boughts $600 worth of lights from DK Lightings.

The shop is ran by a husband and wife team, must say they are very friendly and the price is reasonable. :dunno:

$600 worth of lights includes:

2 Living room Long Lights

2 Bathroom Round Lights

3 Bedroom Dark Wood Plastic Rim Square Lights

2 Master Bedroom Wall Lights (Ice-cube Types)

2 Kitchen Round Lights

1 Kitchen Hanging Lights

Total 12 Lights, Average 50 per light

From that list, we think its quite a bargain, plus they will personally send them to you, so any problem can settle on the spot.

So for those who are interested, here's there address :

DK Lightings (Near the petrol station)

642 Geylang Road Singapore 389574

Tel : 6741 1335 Fax: 6741 1779

Took a bus no. 21 from Tampines, and alight after the City Plaza bus-stop.

Edited by tim_chenie

Was quoted the following from a certain light shop. If anyone can comment if the price is reasonable.

4.5" Square 1x10w plc - $18

5.5" Square 2x13w plc - $29

All comes wif Atco ballast and Philips or Osram bulbs.

Thanks thanks. :D