Jupiter Home

Jupiter's Home On Earth

Hey, not changing the kitchen tiles?

Nope, save cost lah.

Hi all, need some advice from the experienced owners here.

Which is better for kitchen top, soild surface or granite? I'm quite confused as to which one to choose.

f_solidtopm_8167bd5.jpg

f_granitem_4d6dd25.jpg

Nope, save cost lah.

Hi all, need some advice from the experienced owners here.

Which is better for kitchen top, soild surface or granite? I'm quite confused as to which one to choose.

f_solidtopm_8167bd5.jpg

f_granitem_4d6dd25.jpg

if solid top i will choose first row left most one. if granite i will choose first row centre one =)

i got granite as scratch resistance is very important to me

i can put hot hot pot on my countertop without worries

however, for granite you need to see the bigger pieces coz the 'pattern' is more obvious on the bigger ones :yamseng:

For me, I would choose granite. cos i don't want my kitchen top to look like those in the coffeeshop (not sure is it cos no maintenance or what but they look dull and unappealing).

But having said that, it also depends on the laminates that you are choosing for your kitchen cabinet and whether it matches the kitchen top that you have chosen.

mmm in terms of cost.. good quality solid surface can easily cost more than granite but judging from the samples you are given (same as mine) .. yours should be cheaper than granite.

Granite is better if you can afford but I guess balancing your needs and budget is more impt. :)

Solid Top is not as expensive as granite ---- and more prompt to scratches , choose a light colour top so any scratches will not be obvious.

Granite is more ex and more can resist scracthes better. But its more brittle ......

So its yr needs and degree of acceptance apart from budget.

i got my granite countertop at $100pfr, including cut out and backsplash

got cheaper alternative but makes not much difference coz my top is short

if you get it from the supplier directly, it'll cost less if your countertop is longer

mitlancer71, can ask why granite is more brittle

if it's something i don't know maybe i should stop abusing my countertop so much :lol: :lol:

Hi all, thanks for the precious feed back. Looks like most prefer granite. Noted.:)

applefreak, what colour granite did you use?

Here's some updates.

f_e1m_7e5cc7f.jpg

f_e2m_9b68412.jpg

f_e3m_7cb4ab4.jpg

f_e4m_a51b0f7.jpg

Next week start flooring tiling liao. :yamseng:

Edited by Jupiter Home

hi jupiter, i'm using blue pearl

love the bluish sheen of the stone :wub: :wub:

it'll be better to see bigger pieces coz it's quite difficult to visualise how it looks like in one whole piece :notti:

hi jupiter, i'm using blue pearl

love the bluish sheen of the stone :wub: :wub:

it'll be better to see bigger pieces coz it's quite difficult to visualise how it looks like in one whole piece :notti:

Ok, blue pearl, noted. Btw, the name sounds so high class leh. :D