mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

WAH they are trying to camouflage the DB box???! That's certainly a first. Rockstone expensive le...

i also think they are really very rich to rockstone paint every single piece of thing they can. The pipes in kitchen n common toilet already in rockstone. Kitchen i can box up, but common toilet i think i'll just have to live w it already :(

Hmm.. For those area that can be seen, it'll be better to plaster them bah. What if you don't wana do the box up in the end? Then the rockstone will be very obvious woh.

My contractor told me that the DB box must be very accessible. That time, I wanted my DB box to be positioned very high, almost to the ceiling. But he said it should be at a height most of us can reach. Imagine power trip at ur house, and u need to search for a stool/ladder to reach the DB box. You'll be searching for it in the dark, and may fall. Not good to hide/put way up high if you have old pple/preggies at home. In the end, he's just going to put it slightly higher then recommended for us.

Okay lar, at least ur stuff can be delivered tomorrow. It should be installed before the weekend! :D

Really :bow: the previous owner for the rockstone DB box.

My DB box initial position also very near the ceiling leh. My current house DB box also position near ceiling by HDB, no issues abt it. But we already shifted the new DB box to reachable level without chair/stool. N die die i'm boxing it up cos its right beside my sofa position!

No so soon install leh, my tiles r still lying halfway. A lot of minor problems these few days. Will talk abt it when i get my camera back from hub. Mismatch tile size... wrong grouting color... :bangwall:

N finally!! Renotalk is back online!

i also think they are really very rich to rockstone paint every single piece of thing they can. The pipes in kitchen n common toilet already in rockstone. Kitchen i can box up, but common toilet i think i'll just have to live w it already :(

My DB box initial position also very near the ceiling leh. My current house DB box also position near ceiling by HDB, no issues abt it. But we already shifted the new DB box to reachable level without chair/stool. N die die i'm boxing it up cos its right beside my sofa position!

No so soon install leh, my tiles r still lying halfway. A lot of minor problems these few days. Will talk abt it when i get my camera back from hub. Mismatch tile size... wrong grouting color... :bangwall:

Mine is also near the ceiling... But it's reachable and we have a ladder anyway. :) mm I hope all your problems were resolved!!!

YAYYY I'm so happy RT IS BACK!

Oooo... No wonder u wana box ur up DB box, as it's at such a obvious area. :)

Wah, sounds like u have sme pblms with ur reno. Share with us bah. Hope that everything will b rectified soon!

ya lor my db also at my eyes level!herd from yeak ypur work will be done in 2 weeks time! :dribble:

Yah. He needs to handover to us b4 20th. He told us that our carpentry will be delivered on Tuesday, after that will fix up and polish lvl 1 marble. Then do sme touch up here and there and it's done! :P

Mine is also near the ceiling... But it's reachable and we have a ladder anyway. :) mm I hope all your problems were resolved!!!

Haiz, I wanted it high up. At least wun accidentally knock against it or watever. Above eye level means out of sight. Hope that it wun b too ugly.

Oooo... No wonder u wana box ur up DB box, as it's at such a obvious area. :)

Wah, sounds like u have sme pblms with ur reno. Share with us bah. Hope that everything will b rectified soon!

Yah. He needs to handover to us b4 20th. He told us that our carpentry will be delivered on Tuesday, after that will fix up and polish lvl 1 marble. Then do sme touch up here and there and it's done! :P

Haiz, I wanted it high up. At least wun accidentally knock against it or watever. Above eye level means out of sight. Hope that it wun b too ugly.

I've very happy to be back online w u all too!!!

My problems r nothing serious, but quite a handful thou. Some pics on taken on delivery day 1st...

reno7a.jpg

My kitchen sink, $120 WC, some other fittings and accessories.. plus my fav tap and handshower.

reno7b.jpg

Open concept kitchen being sealed back. Makes both the living rm and kitchen look smaller.. quite relunctant to seal it back.. but well. More practical also ba, since hub is all ready to do his deep fry food.. :(

Prob 1: Lucky thing i was at my place on Wed. The tiler started tiling and all the instructions given by Ah Soon to him were all wrong! Heng i was ard, so Ah Soon told him to chk w me again b4 laying, in case he rembr wrongly. :bangwall:

Prob 2: thurs hub went back during lunch. Tiler told him MBR toilet tiles are not of the same width. We ordered the beige n grey tiles 300x600mm, but one was 299mm and the other is 301mm! 2mm diff, imagine 10 tiles will be 2cm offset, so ugly! Immediately, Ah Soon n tile shop uncle came down. Tiler was super professional and insisted that it will look very ugly n obvious if we went ahead to do it. Chge batch also no use, so I (still very happy with the solution!) told hub to tell them use mosaic to border it. And tile shop uncle agrees to absorb the cost after much argument!

Prob 3: Electrical points in bedroom 2 n 3 were wrong. Plastering needs to be done to wall w DB box. To be rectified next wk.

Prob 4: went up on Sat n the workers were still laying tiles! :bow: Hub was telling me MBR toilet very nice. I went up w anticipation.. only to see my grey wall tiles done with white groutings! :furious: Super ugly. N the funny thing is... no one asked what color groutings i wanted? They just assume and do it. But still very pro when i told the workers that i wanted grey groutings for grey tiles, they immediately rectified the problem, no black face somemore. :good: So to prevent such miscomm again, i told them exactly what color to use for which tiles.

Story of the wk: The most patient award goes to.. the tiler master!

Reason: Saw him starting to seal up the kitchen entrance, then told him hub wants it at 34.5". After tt i realised it seems too small, my fridge dunno can go in or not. So MMS hub n show him. Meanwhile, the wall was already half done up. Hub came back n say he wants 1070mm instead, told tiler.. he "ok ok". Then hub chge his mind to 1080mm instead. Tiler still "ok ok..". I wished there was a hole for me to hide my face when i finish telling him the 1080mm....

Edited by mrspiglet

haha ok ok as long as rectified la. I guess they are rushing also.. I always think workers are like that... they just do, rarely ask... but the tiler guy very good wor he stopped tiling when he realised there is a problem... lucky for you! :)

Hello fellow colleague, i know u which yellow building liao. haha

actually you are very heng to get a pro tiler. lucky huh, if not rectification works will take quite sometime. u excited or not? 20 leh coming quite soon liao. then can move in! wow

Wah, the tilers are very nice! :good: Glad to hear that ur pblms can b rectified.

By the way, when's ur expected handover date? Pinklady was saying 20th. Really?

haha ok ok as long as rectified la. I guess they are rushing also.. I always think workers are like that... they just do, rarely ask... but the tiler guy very good wor he stopped tiling when he realised there is a problem... lucky for you! :)

ya, he promised to get me a gd tiler when i told him abt the tile problems that jesperbg had. but end up its not the tiler's skill but the tiles itself got prob!

Hello fellow colleague, i know u which yellow building liao. haha

actually you are very heng to get a pro tiler. lucky huh, if not rectification works will take quite sometime. u excited or not? 20 leh coming quite soon liao. then can move in! wow

Ya, which is y i insisted that they solve the problem b4 laying. Else hack again n lay, not only delay the whole progress, gotta disturb my poor neighbours also.

20th? u toking abt payday or? how come u know which blk i'm in? :notti:

Wah, the tilers are very nice! :good: Glad to hear that ur pblms can b rectified.

By the way, when's ur expected handover date? Pinklady was saying 20th. Really?

Not so soon leh. My carpentry haven choose laminate. Painting also not done yet. Aircon also haven come in. According to Ah soon shd be another 2 wks... but i doubt they can finish. I'm ok as long as we can shift in by end April. :)

Hee.. Icic. It's good that u dun need to rush the workers. Then they can do it nicely for u! :P

Ya don't rush better. Otherwise like me... after we move in then they come and rectify... I have to clean up every day... and after cleaning the whole place still seems so dirty.

After much time delay for hacking (i've no idea why it takes them 4 whole working days to hack 2 toilet+1kitchen)... finally things r speeding up.

DSCF1178.jpg

Shocking white groutings... :jawdrop:

DSCF1212.jpg

After inspection today, part of it rectified, but they missed out the beam area.

DSCF1208.jpg

Kitchen tiles 80% completed! Left with wall groutings and bases.

reno11a.jpg

Some tiles in kitchen seems to be misaligned.

DSCF1192.jpg

My green common toilet. Floor and mosaic not completed.

DSCF1199.jpg

Kitchen wall sealed up completed. Now left w plastering..

reno11c.jpg

False ceiling done. Box up of DB box done. Vent above bedrm and store rm boxed up done.

reno11b.jpg

We had so little time to pick our laminates. I have like 4 major items to choose for somemore... 2 tv console, kitchen cabinet, kitchen door. Some of the chosen ones...

Was only given lamitak. Anyone has other choices of laminates? Pinkpetter?

Taking off white for kitchen cabinet, i wonder if lamitak will turn yellow for white high gloss... :dunno:

Eh I think I was given another one le. but also one brand to choose from only. But as parents didn't want anything fancy I didn't bother also. But mine was a white-green book.

Ooo! ur green common toilet is cute! With the mosaic, it'll be very cool! :P

Which laminates did u choose for which area? They all look very nice! I think lamitak is one of those good ones. I rem a forumner advised mi to choose fr lamitak instead, as the gloss ones are really good.

20th? u toking abt payday or? how come u know which blk i'm in? :notti:

ur reno finishing on 20th rite?? ohh jeremyl told me leh. yup, 20th is always exciting 1 becos its payday!

anyway i in same blk as him leh

We had so little time to pick our laminates. I have like 4 major items to choose for somemore... 2 tv console, kitchen cabinet, kitchen door. Some of the chosen ones...

Was only given lamitak. Anyone has other choices of laminates? Pinkpetter?

Taking off white for kitchen cabinet, i wonder if lamitak will turn yellow for white high gloss... :dunno:

ah soon oso has edl, evershine, seng lee...lamitak is quite a gd brand so if i'l prolly go for tat...but we were not given lamitak leh...