mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

I was quoted $210 TS92X but not sure if is a good price.

Just met uncle yesterday to sign but the price was not correct. We had discuss about the quotation last week and confirm on the pricing but yesterday the english version was the old price. So he got to redo and I will meet him again this weekend to sign. Think he is too busy lah and I am kind of use to it, haha...

By the way, you have moved in right?

Eh, i cant rembr the individual pricing of the hood liao. Was like a bundled price, so no individual brkdown on the invoice.

Uncle is a bit blur sometimes, but since u not start reno soon, still can afford to wait.

I haven shift in yet lah.. furniture all not in also. :P

gongkia...i will still have curtains...hehe...is the film contact of uncle's too?

the one that did our film was the wallpaper guy, gotta wait for gongkia for the contacts. i dun have it. :)

We did our whole house window for $700. The film used is those plain white ones which you can't see from inside or outside. Which means, it can save us some money on curtains too haha.

Ahhh I wanted to ask about this... So the solar film can provide some privacy! Good good.. can block out reasonable light?? I want them too! I'm a little sick of pulling my blinds up and down all the time. URGH.

u guys wanna install solar films wor? we were jus telling Uncle we wanna remove all solar films in the hse, we think they r quite ugly wor.... =P

gongkia, can i hv the contact for the wallpaper guy too? thx!

Ahhh I wanted to ask about this... So the solar film can provide some privacy! Good good.. can block out reasonable light?? I want them too! I'm a little sick of pulling my blinds up and down all the time. URGH.

Yup, the solar film is more like privacy film. Doesnt blk out the sun totally, so the room will not be too dark even if the windows are closed.

U so fast sick of the blinds already ah? I was still contemplating to take do blinds cos i dun wanna wash curtains! :rolleyes:

u guys wanna install solar films wor? we were jus telling Uncle we wanna remove all solar films in the hse, we think they r quite ugly wor.... =P

gongkia, can i hv the contact for the wallpaper guy too? thx!

ugly meh? ok lah.. its just a piece of blur paper there. makes the window look like tempered glass.

Gotta wait for his contacts, he's reaching home soon. :)

Yup, the solar film is more like privacy film. Doesnt blk out the sun totally, so the room will not be too dark even if the windows are closed.

U so fast sick of the blinds already ah? I was still contemplating to take do blinds cos i dun wanna wash curtains! :rolleyes:

haha no no it's the situation I'm in... I keep my blinds up at night... then in the morning (when I'm still drowsy at 6am) I have to pull them down cos I have to change.. then I have to pull them up again before I leave for work as my parents insist that my room must be bright in the day. So it's a troublesome situation. I still love blinds really as I don't have the curtains brushing against my face situation (cos my bed is next to the window.)

Easy to maintain really and perpetually looks clean.

hmm... u gals r making me change my mind! maybe i shd keep them n save the $$$ for others.

btw, can i ask if the kitchen backsplash are automatically provided? or hv to request from Jason one. I really quite paisey to ask things from them le, my reno only $13k yet keep asking for things...my skin really thicker and thicker each day =P

hmm... u gals r making me change my mind! maybe i shd keep them n save the $$$ for others.

btw, can i ask if the kitchen backsplash are automatically provided? or hv to request from Jason one. I really quite paisey to ask things from them le, my reno only $13k yet keep asking for things...my skin really thicker and thicker each day =P

Backing on the wall or backsplash? backsplash is that little thing that turns up from the counter... that one should be automatically provided if you did your worktop. Backing on the wall I asked for it before the final quote but it didn't appear in the quote, and they gave it to me for free. Mine was large cos I didn't have any top cabinets.

When I asked Ah Soon to quote, I specifically requested for stainless steel backing on the wall for the entire stretch where the hob / sink is end-to-end. It's not written inside the quote but he said it's included.

I've been using the stainless steel backing for my current kitchen and it works well.

haha no no it's the situation I'm in... I keep my blinds up at night... then in the morning (when I'm still drowsy at 6am) I have to pull them down cos I have to change.. then I have to pull them up again before I leave for work as my parents insist that my room must be bright in the day. So it's a troublesome situation. I still love blinds really as I don't have the curtains brushing against my face situation (cos my bed is next to the window.)

Easy to maintain really and perpetually looks clean.

Good good! Was thinking of doing blinds for 2 bedrooms and day/night curtains for MBR. But i'm really lazy to chge curtains, let's see what the curtain guy tells me this Fri when he comes up for measurements. :rolleyes:

Actually if u r hardworking enough, can buy the film from DIY shops like homefix to paste urself leh. I think pasting is ok, i did it for a small panel of window in office b4. Only the removal part and cleaning part is :bow:

Hahaha! ashes, i tot urs is shrinking already? If u open the windows often i think not much diff if u have it or not ba?

I think u toking abt the stainless steel backing right? My case similar to pinkpetter and growler, i asked for it but not included in the quote. But eventually he also gave me the backing and didnt charge me for it. :)

growler: check with u, did u have to buy any special cleaning agent for the s/s backing? cleaning with normal soap/water leaves a lot of ugly watermarks leh...

Edited by mrspiglet

Good good! Was thinking of doing blinds for 2 bedrooms and day/night curtains for MBR. But i'm really lazy to chge curtains, let's see what the curtain guy tells me this Fri when he comes up for measurements. :rolleyes:

Actually if u r hardworking enough, can buy the film from DIY shops like homefix to paste urself leh. I think pasting is ok, i did it for a small panel of window in office b4. Only the removal part and cleaning part is :bow:

Hahaha! ashes, i tot urs is shrinking already? If u open the windows often i think not much diff if u have it or not ba?

I think u toking abt the stainless steel backing right? My case similar to pinkpetter and growler, i asked for it but not included in the quote. But eventually he also gave me the backing and didnt charge me for it. :)

growler: check with u, did u have to buy any special cleaning agent for the s/s backing? cleaning with normal soap/water leaves a lot of ugly watermarks leh...

Water stain is normal. Don't use rough scouring pads (green ones) as it'll leave scratches. Just use sponge and cif / jif and wipe. Then clean with damp / dry cloth.

mrspiglet

:) Good idea since you wouldn't be in those rooms often anyway. Washing curtains is troublesome, washing for rooms that you rarely use would make anyone feel worse. haha ;)

hardworking ah? Lazy is my middle name. I shall explore this option in ... June. :P

oohhh so tats call the backing ah? i googled backsplash and saw the stainless steel pics so i tot tat is call backsplash haha!

i actually wanted a small piece only, jus between my hood n hob. not too much hor? hehe

my solar film still working well actually. jus tot when removed, can have a clearer and brighter feel lor.

shall see how much Uncle quote me!

Shrinking is normal.. dun worry. My existing house film also shrunk after many yrs, but likewise, its not obvious until we walk closer to see. Mine also sticky, so my very splendid mum go n paste masking tape *faintz*

If u putting curtains i think no need for the film for the moment? Can wait till later than do.. save a bit now. :)

i think ah soon very nice to help out!!

Good to know about shrinkage is normal, will take that into consideration about doing solar film.

Wah, your mum into diy, so cute de .. kekeke

I think everyone agree that ah soon is quite nice!

oohhh so tats call the backing ah? i googled backsplash and saw the stainless steel pics so i tot tat is call backsplash haha!

i actually wanted a small piece only, jus between my hood n hob. not too much hor? hehe

my solar film still working well actually. jus tot when removed, can have a clearer and brighter feel lor.

mm ya That time one of the IDs here (Pierre) I think.. explained that in another thread. heh. MmM small piece should be ok I guess. No harm asking. :)

Water stain is normal. Don't use rough scouring pads (green ones) as it'll leave scratches. Just use sponge and cif / jif and wipe. Then clean with damp / dry cloth.

i read somewhere in the forum that there's s/s cleaner. but on a 2nd tot, my cleaning agent list is getting longer n longer! Gd that i can just use cif, i already equipped myself with one, its very gd for cleaning white solid surface! :)

mrspiglet

:) Good idea since you wouldn't be in those rooms often anyway. Washing curtains is troublesome, washing for rooms that you rarely use would make anyone feel worse. haha ;)

hardworking ah? Lazy is my middle name. I shall explore this option in ... June. :P

Ya, now i'm thinking MBR shd i do blinds too. Wanted to do roman blinds, but read that its ex and hard to maintain. Now a bit lazy thinking that curtains also need washing. haha!

If lazy is ur middle name, i think i have double middle name. EXTREMELY LAZY! :P

Just ask for ur backing! no worries one lah, i think uncle is very easy going on these small items. Backsplash, like wat pinkpetter said, its the curved-up solid surface top that attaches to the wall.

Removing of the solar film i dun think uncle will charge u ba?

Good to know about shrinkage is normal, will take that into consideration about doing solar film.

Wah, your mum into diy, so cute de .. kekeke

I think everyone agree that ah soon is quite nice!

my mum can compete with pinkpetter's mum one. Some of the things she does really makes me faint! U know wat? she just told me yday she's re-painting the living room in preparation for my wedding. Told her i'll get uncle to help, she say NO! she wants to do everything HERSELF! :(