mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

your money spent is definitely worth it, it's a lot of works for $20900, ah soon's price is the best too bad i cant speak hokkien/mandarin so will be hard to communicate.

but your kitchen door is really special leh, it's timber with white glass strips? very classy look!

where do you plan to put your dining table in the end?

because of the beam in the middle, we had to place ours near the kitchen so that we can put hanging lights

I have to agree its a very reasonable price for the works i've done. IDs quoted me $23-28k for just 1 toilet and kitchen cabinets. Madness! Its a pity u cant speak mandarin/hokkien, Ah soon's a steal for those on budget like me! :P

I haven decided where to put my dining table. I have a breakfast table that's supposed to be in the kitchen, but now its in my living rm (on the other half w.o the sofa). My area near the kitchen door is reserved for sofa/TV console already. The layout of our flat (plus the beams!) is really a headache for dining table.

oh i think your current spot for breakfast table is my current place for dining, it's in between kitchen door and tv console area right?

noticed your wardrobe system is from another contractor closet design? nice system you got there!

yeah that's why we engaged Yeak instead of ah soon, but from frontier concept in imm i got a reasonable quote also, only about 1.5k higher than yeak's quote and we are quite comfortable with the ID, so now deciding between the two, i think frontier is more expensive but can give us better design input, but yeak's quote is better and angel/roamca/rondy's house are nicely done by yeak, so a bit confused here hehe.

Edited by xherion

Ya, i think when he can share colors that r typically used, and also bases for the walls. i hope he doesnt lose a lot, Jason says they earn a bit, but uncle always dun check accounts one, so got money or not he dunno. Heard uncle say HDB project owe him $200k during CNY!

Ya, i'm quite happy the lolly wall wasnt chged. Hub likes my room more than his own room. Every friend that comes tell me that room is like a nursery room!

ya Uncle Soon doesn't keep track of the accounts.. I wonder who in the family does that. But I think it's much better now that he has more business as the payment will keep coming in, different owners paying at different times.. easier for him.

Not just that ba. I think when he does rectifications for HDB they don't pay them... in order for them to keep the HDB approved status thing. I heard that from another contractor. haiz. No wonder HDB rectifications are not nicely done. :P

oh i think your current spot for breakfast table is my current place for dining, it's in between kitchen door and tv console area right?

noticed your wardrobe system is from another contractor closet design? nice system you got there!

yeah that's why we engaged Yeak instead of ah soon, but from frontier concept in imm i got a reasonable quote also, only about 1.5k higher than yeak's quote and we are quite comfortable with the ID, so now deciding between the two, i think frontier is more expensive but can give us better design input, but yeak's quote is better and angel/roamca/rondy's house are nicely done by yeak, so a bit confused here hehe.

ya, i think its the same place. Near to the room doors area. I think with this kind of layout no where else to put also leh. :(

Yupz, wardrobe was not from Ah soon, signed up with closet design way b4 i found ah soon, bottomless track so we can just push our luggage bags in! That was the attractive part! :P

I think Yeak also did a very gd job for the 3 houses in RT. Why not u get Yeak and Frontier concept to show u some houses that they done up, compare the workmanship then make a decision?

ya Uncle Soon doesn't keep track of the accounts.. I wonder who in the family does that. But I think it's much better now that he has more business as the payment will keep coming in, different owners paying at different times.. easier for him.

Not just that ba. I think when he does rectifications for HDB they don't pay them... in order for them to keep the HDB approved status thing. I heard that from another contractor. haiz. No wonder HDB rectifications are not nicely done. :P

I dunno if uncle does rectifications, but he say he takes the job from main con, so as a sub con their profit is cut cut cut! Sometimes HDB delay payment to main con, then sub con also not being paid by main con. But he still has to fork out money to pay his workers! **** shiong lor... tts y he say this yr he dun wanna do HDB project liao. Concentrate on reno instead. Money comes in faster and he wun have so much cash flow problem.

I think Yeak also did a very gd job for the 3 houses in RT. Why not u get Yeak and Frontier concept to show u some houses that they done up, compare the workmanship then make a decision?

I dunno if uncle does rectifications, but he say he takes the job from main con, so as a sub con their profit is cut cut cut! Sometimes HDB delay payment to main con, then sub con also not being paid by main con. But he still has to fork out money to pay his workers! **** shiong lor... tts y he say this yr he dun wanna do HDB project liao. Concentrate on reno instead. Money comes in faster and he wun have so much cash flow problem.

ye I think Yeak really did a nice job for those houses too.. I did a search on Frontier but there aren't any recent comments on them. A little tough to make decisions like that...

Mmm I wonder if that was what the other contractor was referring to. Ya it's hard on Uncle but then I wonder if he doesn't do the HDB ones.. will the main con not apply permits for him?... mm I've seen the main con before. He came to my house with HDB officers after I moved in. Came without warning.

hi mrs piglet, i'm back again after this forum down so long...nice after pics you have! move in already? keke..the wedding album in store room ?

Hi mrspiglet,

I just saw your reno pictures. They are NICE!!! And the reno bill amount is also very reasonable.

Can you share your contacts and reno quotation with me? I am also looking at redo-ing my toilets, kitchen, rewiring and doing the tv console.

hi mrs piglet, i'm back again after this forum down so long...nice after pics you have! move in already? keke..the wedding album in store room ?

Hihi!! thou still a vast diff from a designer house, but its simple and gd enough for us! no leh.. my album still in the making at TWD. Today going to see the layout. :P

Hi mrspiglet,

I just saw your reno pictures. They are NICE!!! And the reno bill amount is also very reasonable.

Can you share your contacts and reno quotation with me? I am also looking at redo-ing my toilets, kitchen, rewiring and doing the tv console.

Ya, Ah Soon's quote is really reasonable. In fact, i would even say its CHEAP! :P

I'll PM u in a short while ya?

congrates mrspiglet on ur reno completion! Now can look forward to receiving ur furnishing. heheh :P

thks angel! its finally completed.. i cant wait for the furnitures to come in too! :dancingqueen:

hi dear, u mind share your quote from uncle with me? melcwl@hotmail.com

thanks dear... :D

hi jessiemel, i've emailed u. :)

yeah Mrs Piglet, i also wana see your move-in pics. furniture you buy oredi? moved in liao rite?

not yet! finish cleaning the house.. all ready for the furnitures to come in on fri! But cannot move in until end of the mth, taking my own sweet time. i haven started packing anything! :P

congrats mrspiglet!

ur reno nightmare over. so far retifications up to ur expectations? no more problem with mis-use of MBR toilet?

Glad you made it thro. :) but how come cant move in till end of the month?

congrats mrspiglet!

ur reno nightmare over. so far retifications up to ur expectations? no more problem with mis-use of MBR toilet?

Glad you made it thro. :) but how come cant move in till end of the month?

haha! now i think i having withdrawal symptoms from reno-no-more. Still pending some paint touch up cos somehow there were oil patches under my window grills. it just keeps appearing :(

MBR toilet.. i give up liao. I'm using bleach to scrub n disinfect b4 i really dare to sit on it. Imagine owner me gotta lay toilet paper on the seat b4 sitting.. i just shrug at the thot some stranger had used my toilet b4. :(

End of the mth becos of... QING MING! :bangwall: :bangwall:

anymore pics?

i also wished i had. but nothing leh.. :(

gotta patiently wait for my furniture to be in on Fri.