gongkia 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Mrspiglet, can share about your paint used? we were given nippon paint catalogue to choose our paint, however today when we went up to our unit, we were shocked that the paint can was Jotun We called Jason and Ah Soon. Both of them said the base will use Jotun and 2nd with Nippon. But doesn't make sense, both might have different properties and color difference. Fingers crossed. Really skeptical and hmm don't know what to say.... Hmm. So we wonder how is the others Ah Soon customer paint like? Can share? Guess you can be quite safe on the base. The base is actually just a layer of paint on the wall, to even out the different colors you have on your existing walls (eg. cement, previous color, dirt). After the base color, they will paint with what you have selected using Nippon. What we saw is that they usually paint about 3 layers altogether (base, first layer of paint and then second layer or paint) eventually, your color will turn out just fine. Even after that, due to moving of furnitures or other works that resulted in scratches, they will come and repaint again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 hahah I think with the k set, Mahjong, Wii and PS3 your house will be the perfect entertainment centre! $600 wor... mm have to rethink. Will check out that Tampines game shop on Thursday. hehe Thanks!! k-set!!! I'm keen too!LOLx...guess my new neighbours will find us very noisy :x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Mrspiglet, can share about your paint used? we were given nippon paint catalogue to choose our paint, however today when we went up to our unit, we were shocked that the paint can was Jotun We called Jason and Ah Soon. Both of them said the base will use Jotun and 2nd with Nippon. But doesn't make sense, both might have different properties and color difference. Fingers crossed. Really skeptical and hmm don't know what to say.... Hmm. So we wonder how is the others Ah Soon customer paint like? Can share? i didnt use Nippon. I told them i wanted ICI instead becos Nippon doesnt have the colors i wanted. Base i think its Jotun, cos i saw a huge tub of Jotun. But total 3 coats, base = white (most prob is the Jotun) and 2 coats of colored paint. For me its alright, i wouldnt expect them to use Nippon paint for base given the super low price i'm quoted for painting. So long as the final color is even n nicely painted, it doesnt matter to me wat base paint they use. I dun think it is possible for them to use Jotun as one of the color becos diff brands of paint have got very different tones. My final output is nice n exactly the same as the catalogue ...on my smoothly plastered walls. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 k-set!!! I'm keen too!LOLx...guess my new neighbours will find us very noisy :x the k-set that rondy had can go k-box n download the latest songs somemore! Sounds very attractive... but price very 'attractive' too. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 the k-set that rondy had can go k-box n download the latest songs somemore! Sounds very attractive... but price very 'attractive' too. dl from kbox?! how much n how does it work?? im interested leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 i didnt use Nippon. I told them i wanted ICI instead becos Nippon doesnt have the colors i wanted. Base i think its Jotun, cos i saw a huge tub of Jotun. But total 3 coats, base = white (most prob is the Jotun) and 2 coats of colored paint. For me its alright, i wouldnt expect them to use Nippon paint for base given the super low price i'm quoted for painting. So long as the final color is even n nicely painted, it doesnt matter to me wat base paint they use. I dun think it is possible for them to use Jotun as one of the color becos diff brands of paint have got very different tones. My final output is nice n exactly the same as the catalogue ...on my smoothly plastered walls. All the walls is now painted with colors. our living room is already lily white color and also wardrobe feature wall in pink. We saw smaller tubs of jotun colored paint with the nippon code. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Guess you can be quite safe on the base. The base is actually just a layer of paint on the wall, to even out the different colors you have on your existing walls (eg. cement, previous color, dirt). After the base color, they will paint with what you have selected using Nippon. What we saw is that they usually paint about 3 layers altogether (base, first layer of paint and then second layer or paint) eventually, your color will turn out just fine. Even after that, due to moving of furnitures or other works that resulted in scratches, they will come and repaint again. base coat should be white right? then 2nd & 3rd quote the actual color? Ours is already the jotun colored paint for the first coat le. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gongkia 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 base coat should be white right? then 2nd & 3rd quote the actual color? Ours is already the jotun colored paint for the first coat le. i think sometimes they use the tin for Jotun for the paint as well. Like mrspiglet said, the color used eventually will be the same as what was chosen and i've seen the ICI tin before. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
familyof4 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 i think sometimes they use the tin for Jotun for the paint as well. Like mrspiglet said, the color used eventually will be the same as what was chosen and i've seen the ICI tin before. could it be a matching colour? my mom ever chose from the catalogue and the painter mix the paint to a similiar color for her...think best to double check with Ah Soon again. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 dl from kbox?! how much n how does it work?? im interested leh... If i didn't recall wrongly was $1800 for the set? Rondy mentioned in his t-blog can bring the hdd to k-box, $1 per song, something like that. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 mmm I think.. when the painting is done, get the catalogue and compare... if it's the same.. then it should be ok ba.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 ya. that's wat i tot so too. As long as the final color is painted nicely n evenly and same as the catalogue, i also no energy to compare wat brand they use ba? Afterall, so many materials used in reno, we just have to trust them with the work. Micro-manage very tiring leh. Anyway.. like wat gongkia said, we really did see the ICI tins in my storeroom. Those small tins which there's still leftover paint. The colors i pick r so strong and rarely used, i doubt they can mix cheaper paints till the exact color i wanted lor. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 Oh I didn't chip in to this paint talk. I had a mix of Nippon and Jotun cans in my house. As most of you know, I was on block leave then and my father (who's very free) and I came to the house every day during the reno. I had one big nippon one which had the words that implied it was a sealant.. that was for my kitchen and balcony... Initially I had one pot for the kitchen only then after much nagging from my dad, two pots appeared. These looked brand new and came sealed. Then I had jotun and nippon paint pots. But to be honest.. even the nippon paint pots looked like they were recycled cans. Anyway as long as the house turned out the way we wanted... VERY WHITE... I really didn't bother. I suspect my dad did though. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 it's not micro manage la just that we want to get what was decided on. Maybe we just too particular about quality. there is really a difference for paint quality. we used nippon teflon easy wash for my current home, when there is dust, i can use water and wipe it off easily. i don't know about jotun.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
fondue_ 1 Report post Posted April 6, 2009 could it be a matching colour? my mom ever chose from the catalogue and the painter mix the paint to a similiar color for her...think best to double check with Ah Soon again. my hubby called ah soon just now and he said jotun is only used for the base. but we thought that base coating should be white and not colored paint. is that true? anyway we are keeping our fingers crossed and how it goes tomorrow. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites