PsyfaQ 0 Report post Posted February 27, 2009 PsyfaQ: Hihi!!! Ooopss. u spent a lot also issit? I was telling my mum i saw a toilet basin @ $80, she already cannot imagine her face if i tell her my rainshower set cost me a few hundreds. think she will faint! Ya lor... haha... Anyway, nice rainshower set, I bought e round head type... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted February 27, 2009 P is from the wall? S is from the floor. The one from Eestilo is quite safe cos the range very wide. but others I dunno.. mm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawry 3 Report post Posted February 27, 2009 (edited) u talking abt my unit? Nice windows (ok lah, not too bad), nice floors (yes, broken marble floor), west facing unit (east n west in fact, MBR facing west! but hub like leh, he say like tt i wun keep sleeping). I tot i could save a bit w the marble floor. End up $10k COV + $21k reno. Back to square one if i were to choose all over again, i oso wan $0 COV n do everything from scratch. But i dun think i can afford another reno in the next 5yrs....Pockets drained! i'm actually quite concern y they use plastic, but their reason also valid lah. Cos customer feedback say they drop their handspray n crack the floor tiles. Rather chge handspray then repair floor. Hmm.. sounds logical. My old place was West/East facing, it can make the room quite hot at night after a day of baking, you might want to consider block out curtains and also need to on the aircon often. Depending on the time you get your place, sometimes even possible to get negative $COV when there's no demand. At my time, in late 07 to mid 08, people want $30 to $50k COV!! Madnesss, esp for first time buyers. Unless you downgrading/upgrading, then can still offset from the sales profit of your own unit. I use metal handspray, very heavy, regret, have to be careful, if I ever drop that and it hits the toilet bowl or tiles ..... that's it. Another thing about plastic handspray, you must switch off the mains after using also, if not the pressure of the water with cause the handspray to leak at the joints. Edited February 27, 2009 by lawry Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted February 27, 2009 huh? Jialat. I just buy leh, w/o knowing wat is P or S. I tot WC is just the inches offset from the wall to the sewage hole? I just called n chge my handspray to matt liao! i'm actually quite concern y they use plastic, but their reason also valid lah. Cos customer feedback say they drop their handspray n crack the floor tiles. Rather chge handspray then repair floor. Hmm.. sounds logical. Hee.. Don't take my word for the P/S trap hor. Cuz I still dun really know much about them. I just repeated what my contractor told me to the sales person, and they showed me the WCs accordingly. Then the S-trap WCs also have different inches as well. Mine is 6" i think. Well, that does sound logical. To change tiles is very leh chey woh. Now I gota rem that I gota refrain from dropping my handspray. If my tiles crack cuz of that, I'll be super heart pain! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 PsyfaQ: From the same shop or somewhere else? Round head cheaper, which i seriously dun mind too. but my dear hub got expensive taste. Pinkpetter: I only got 1set from Eestilo, I suppose all are S type ba? I dun see anything going into the wall. After 2 days of hacking, my WC is still in its original position. lawry: My mum's been warning me again n again that this unit's gonna be very hot, top level somemore. But we are not at home most of the time, at most on aircon lah. My current place is NS facing, when its hot season, its still VERY hot! Basically i think everywhere in SG is HOT, unless i get those 20+ storey flats which then again i've a phobia for heights... so i wun buy those flats either. U r right! My agent's telling me now valuation is so high, EA EM and now even 5rm is going below COV! But 4rm seems to be still very popular, i rarely hear pple selling below COV. No no metal handspray for us. We are clumsy pple. So the shop owner was honest and not telling me some cock n bull story afterall. Angel: U got a metal spray ah? I went PJ today n tried the metal one, really very heavy. Now i'm glad i took the plastic one... at least wun crack my tiles or WC so easily. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 Angel: U got a metal spray ah? I went PJ today n tried the metal one, really very heavy. Now i'm glad i took the plastic one... at least wun crack my tiles or WC so easily. I think my black ones are plastic ones. But I didn't hold them, so I duno how heavy they are. Just hope that they are not too heavy and will crack my tiles when dropped bah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 eh? I think my WC was one of the first few to be yanked up. But maybe the worker left it there for his convenience... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 eh? I think my WC was one of the first few to be yanked up. But maybe the worker left it there for his convenience... Haha! Speaking about convenience, I think that was why ours was requested to be sent so early! So sad to think that the owners (us!) are not the first ones to use the nice nice WCs. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 *sigh* when I went to my flat during reno I saw yellow stains ALL OVER the bowl. super sad. urgh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 Some worker actually did a very messy super big biz in my MBR toilet on 1st day w.o realising the WC flush is spoilt. Which explains what i saw! I went up to a sample house one of my shortlisted contractor was showing me, and i saw the owner actually wrote "MBR toilet, pls do not use. Thk u" and taped the WC cover to the bowl. Clever move, i shall do that too! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 WAHHHH yes that's a smart move!! Must do that! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 Some worker actually did a very messy super big biz in my MBR toilet on 1st day w.o realising the WC flush is spoilt. Which explains what i saw! I went up to a sample house one of my shortlisted contractor was showing me, and i saw the owner actually wrote "MBR toilet, pls do not use. Thk u" and taped the WC cover to the bowl. Clever move, i shall do that too! WAHHHH yes that's a smart move!! Must do that! Wah, very good idea! Ok, I'm going to do that tml! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 Another long day...! Reno Day 2 Went up quite late cos we had to settle the wardrobe design w ClosetDesign. Concrete sink support gone. Common toilet half done. MBR toilet also half done. The glass thingy in my half height kitchen wall removed! They cracked the wall thou, but i'm gonna seal up that wall anyway. Plastering also done in 2 bedrooms... super sharp corners n smooth walls! At the end of the inspection.... i found my tiles sitting alone at my void deck. Confirm its my tiles cos my full address was written on it! Why no one shifted the tiles back to the unit 1st? Later i tio complain ah.... Reno Day 3 Sat, no hacking allowed. But they have shut off my electrical mains cos i was navigating in the house in darkness. Only armed w my camera flash. Hub still scare me say i shdn't take pic in the dark... wat if i see sthg i shdnt in the pics.. Tiles shifted up. Living rm plastering started. i think my whole house plastering is enough to keep them busy for daysss. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mrspiglet 2 Report post Posted February 28, 2009 Lights Shopping! We realised we were asked by Ah Soon to get ready lights by next Thurs, so gotta abort all plans n chiong to the lights shop 1st. No extra energy to go diff places to compare prices already. So just fixed on Geylang and asked a few more shops for quotation before going back to the uncle at No.1 Lightings for the 3rd time. His prices are not the cheapest ard, but we are most comfortable dealing w him. Sincere n honest, without hardselling wins our deal. So bought the all the lights from him n got a discount after discount. Top: For my wardrobe/lollipop room. Bottom: MBR Top: Guest Rm. Bottom: Futuristic looking light for Kitchen (so i no need to clean the cover that's filled w insects!) Simple n cheap but BRIGHT light (silver holder) for both toilets. 10 Square DL for living room. Still feeling a lil' upset for not having a dining light, but i've yet to fix my dining ard n the fact i light to move my things ard... so no dining lights for the moment. All in all, my whole house lightings (plus a wireless doorbell) = <$600. Best deal of today: a towel rack (those like hotel style) at $15. He's no longer selling and left w last 2 to clear stock, so its a super steal! We were quoted like $30-$40 for a piece at other shops lor! More toilet fittings! After surveying for so long, we finally decided to go back PJ to get the rest of the toilet fittings. Their listed prices are misleading, so much diff from what we are actually being quoted. Everything was within budget except for this sq big mirror for MBR toilet. But both of us like it... so...sold. $120 WC, mirror for common toilet, Rubine double bowl kitchen sink. L: Basin from Eestilo that we are thinking of topping up the package for... R: Identical one @ $85! On the side note.... The uncle at the Bkt Merah shop was so cocky n irritating, refused to do delivery despite ordering 2 sinks+other misc stuff from him n insisted that we either pay for delivery or self collect. The mini conversation (in mandarin) goes.. Me: Sorry ah uncle, WC n chrome piping i dun want already. The rest remain lor. So can u confirm delivery on wed? Uncle: Huh? Don't want ah? So u still want wat? Me:.... *continues going thru the list patiently w him* Uncle: Ok lor, if 顺路i deliver. Me: Huh? Wat u mean? Uncle: If my delivery happen to passby i ask them deliver lor. Me: HUH?! then how i know if ur guys 顺路 or not on wed? Uncle: ur order very little. U can collect urself wat. If not i have to charge delivery. I know my deal is not a mega deal, if wanna ask me to self collect can put it across nicer. Dun give me the crap of 顺路 or not! With that, i've decided NOT to let him earn a single cent from me. I bought everything from PJ and identical ones. N even CHEAPER! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted March 1, 2009 Lights Shopping! We realised we were asked by Ah Soon to get ready lights by next Thurs, so gotta abort all plans n chiong to the lights shop 1st. No extra energy to go diff places to compare prices already. So just fixed on Geylang and asked a few more shops for quotation before going back to the uncle at No.1 Lightings for the 3rd time. His prices are not the cheapest ard, but we are most comfortable dealing w him. Sincere n honest, without hardselling wins our deal. So bought the all the lights from him n got a discount after discount. Still feeling a lil' upset for not having a dining light, but i've yet to fix my dining ard n the fact i light to move my things ard... so no dining lights for the moment. All in all, my whole house lightings (plus a wireless doorbell) = <$600. Best deal of today: a towel rack (those like hotel style) at $15. He's no longer selling and left w last 2 to clear stock, so its a super steal! We were quoted like $30-$40 for a piece at other shops lor! More toilet fittings! After surveying for so long, we finally decided to go back PJ to get the rest of the toilet fittings. Their listed prices are misleading, so much diff from what we are actually being quoted. Everything was within budget except for this sq big mirror for MBR toilet. But both of us like it... so...sold. $120 WC, mirror for common toilet, Rubine double bowl kitchen sink. L: Basin from Eestilo that we are thinking of topping up the package for... R: Identical one @ $85! On the side note.... The uncle at the Bkt Merah shop was so cocky n irritating, refused to do delivery despite ordering 2 sinks+other misc stuff from him n insisted that we either pay for delivery or self collect. The mini conversation (in mandarin) goes.. Me: Sorry ah uncle, WC n chrome piping i dun want already. The rest remain lor. So can u confirm delivery on wed? Uncle: Huh? Don't want ah? So u still want wat? Me:.... *continues going thru the list patiently w him* Uncle: Ok lor, if 顺路i deliver. Me: Huh? Wat u mean? Uncle: If my delivery happen to passby i ask them deliver lor. Me: HUH?! then how i know if ur guys 顺路 or not on wed? Uncle: ur order very little. U can collect urself wat. If not i have to charge delivery. I know my deal is not a mega deal, if wanna ask me to self collect can put it across nicer. Dun give me the crap of 顺路 or not! With that, i've decided NOT to let him earn a single cent from me. I bought everything from PJ and identical ones. N even CHEAPER! WAHHHH $600 only Good for yoU! That's cheap cheap le! AIYOH why the uncle at Bukit Merah like that. He can arrange for them to be Shun Lu wat. Too much le. I'm glad you didn't buy anything from him in the end. HORRIBLE! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites