mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

hahhaha you better hurry hurry choose!! cos once he start he will rush you all for the WC and the sinks... :)

Ya so now you know what I mean by he really BO PIAN. He really doesn't have time to relax and talk. So Sunday when he switches off his phone I think he really deserves the break.

YAY tomorrow select tiles!! Where? at Sin Lek Eunos there? if you all can't see what you like there... just go to Hafary or the LSH... he can also collect from those places one. :) You just rem to get the model number of the tile for him and tell him where you want it so that he can calculate the number of tiles. :P

hehe nvm nvm.. add a little bit more ok one. :) Remember to ask for freebies when the reno is going on ok? Dun pai seh. :P If the thing is going to cost you he will tell you. :)

No wonder he was talking to the tiles guy Ah Di over the phone at my place n say "tmr u dun call me ah, dun call me ah!". He really needs a break, he look like he hasnt been sleeping or having time to even comb his hair! So cute!

Ya, i think its the Eunos one. so if i dun like can just tell them ah? Cos mine like super rush leh. next wed hacking already. And i dun have time to go n select during office hours. Tmr still must go n buy WC. I think he's so fast i'm finding it hard to catch my breath now!

I already ask a lot of things from him, until hub also paiseh. My list gets longer n longer, until the point i say i wanna chge solar film for all my windows he say "i give u a contact, u call. This one i earn not much, i cannot do.." But those little things here n there all he very accomodating, i like how he say "this one, ok. do for u. no need money". HAHA! Even offer to send one of my cabinet after hacking to my mum's place!

Hub finally said to him "uncle, if in the end need to charge u let me know hor." :notti:

Wow, he can finish in three weeks. I will press him to finish mine in 5 weeks.

don't worry. u dun stress him he will also finish chop chop for u one. My unit to him it 'small case' as he claims, cos i not chging living rm/bedrm floors. only overhaul toilets/kitchen + carpentry here n there.

now i think is he stress us not we stress him. We say give him 2 mths he say no. :(

No wonder he was talking to the tiles guy Ah Di over the phone at my place n say "tmr u dun call me ah, dun call me ah!". He really needs a break, he look like he hasnt been sleeping or having time to even comb his hair! So cute!

Ya, i think its the Eunos one. so if i dun like can just tell them ah? Cos mine like super rush leh. next wed hacking already. And i dun have time to go n select during office hours. Tmr still must go n buy WC. I think he's so fast i'm finding it hard to catch my breath now!

I already ask a lot of things from him, until hub also paiseh. My list gets longer n longer, until the point i say i wanna chge solar film for all my windows he say "i give u a contact, u call. This one i earn not much, i cannot do.." But those little things here n there all he very accomodating, i like how he say "this one, ok. do for u. no need money". HAHA! Even offer to send one of my cabinet after hacking to my mum's place!

Hub finally said to him "uncle, if in the end need to charge u let me know hor." :notti:

Aiyah he never combs his hair la. In the morning it still looks reasonable. By evening it's like a nest. Did you see? He use raffia string as a belt... no time to buy a proper belt.

Hehe if you don't like the tiles there... you just tell them.. you come back later or what... then you go to LSH/Hafary.. these two are side by side so quite convenient to go. Tomorrow should be able to choose tiles ba.

Next weekend then buy WC and basin ba. Since he is hacking on Wednesday, then tiling will take place from Fri/Sat and spill over to the following week so you should be safe. :)

Oh yes.. the stuff that you ask him to do hor.. must write down ok? They won't be in the quotation... you have to remind him cos he will forget some one. :)

haha I also said what your hubby said... "UNCLE 要钱的你要早点讲hor 不然我没有钱给你leh" hhaha

Yes!! we decided to go ahead w him. His eventual quote for us exceeded a few k, but that becos my dear hubby decided to throw in a lot of things since Ah Soon's prices are really cheap. Now additonal on my list got TV console, MBR TV console/cabinet (!!!!), shoe rack n kitchen wall tiles! 8|8|8|

But must really credit this uncle for his 'fast'. Everything also fast, he talk also fast, chop chop finish talking to us he rushing for next place. N he dun wanna drag until Mar then start cos he already got a lot of projects starting in Mar, so he say "ok ah, start next tues. 3 wks i handover house to u all." :jawdrop: Arrange for us to select tiles tmr!

Now my turn to panick. We only bought 1 WC + basin, everything else haven buy!!

CONGRATES! Hehehe.. U got ur contractor liao, and can start work next Tuesday! :good:

:jawdrop: Handover in 3 weeks?! That'll be like slightly earlier than mine! Ah Soon is very very fast! :bow:

CONGRATES! Hehehe.. U got ur contractor liao, and can start work next Tuesday! :good:

:jawdrop: Handover in 3 weeks?! That'll be like slightly earlier than mine! Ah Soon is very very fast! :bow:

ya... he says he pays workers by day so he don't like it if the main part of the reno drags....

Heheh, Icic. No wonder he's able to give such good priced quotes to customers. :)

I think mrspiglet must be busy searching for her housing stuff now. :P

he seems ok for Pinkpetter leh. I went up to her house to view his works and he did go up to do rectifications after handover. The only question is i dunno how long does he 'warranty' his works, esp the wet works.

so far IDs all quoting me ard $26k, 1 contractor quoting me $24k, all exclusive of electrical works! Frankly how much he quote per item doesnt matter already, i only look at the final amt. I compare items by items in so many quotations until i realise it will end up almost the same. So long as final bill is within my budget... i'll just let him do. :)

Where's ur t-blog? Show pic leh!! :sport-smiley-018:

Don't mind can share what's Ah Soon's quote? If inconvenient, can pm me? Thanks

WAH Gaku... I didn't know yours is so bad! For me, I faxed him my floorplan and items and he gave me my first quote that very night with a drawing of the kitchen. Then two days later I called him to *negotiate* and he gave me a cheaper quote the next day. Then after viewing his works, he gave me a final quotation 2 days after viewing. mmm I really had no idea he dragged yours for so long.. He ah 8|

Seems like I have missed your post, my bad. I see you get response very promptly.

Yes for my quote he has been dragging for close to 2 months. My wife was very mad at me for giving him a second chance again and again.

I guess he is up to his neck now and has difficulty coping. That day when I met him, he just rushed out my quote on the spot and quickly order his dinner. He told me he didn't take any food since breakfast. The quote was too brief and there are many errors. Some of the items I wanted are not in the quote. I will have to discuss with him again when he is not that busy.

Seems like I have missed your post, my bad. I see you get response very promptly.

Yes for my quote he has been dragging for close to 2 months. My wife was very mad at me for giving him a second chance again and again.

I guess he is up to his neck now and has difficulty coping. That day when I met him, he just rushed out my quote on the spot and quickly order his dinner. He told me he didn't take any food since breakfast. The quote was too brief and there are many errors. Some of the items I wanted are not in the quote. I will have to discuss with him again when he is not that busy.

oh no.... but at the rate he's going he really doesn't look like he will ever be "not busy". But I suspect.. he drag your quotation cos it's not so urgent. He has to finish all the rest first cos they have their keys and they have closer completion dates. He's trying to prioritise ba.

That said, I really think 2 months is quite ridiculous. I do wish you have more luck. haiz. 8|8|

oh no.... but at the rate he's going he really doesn't look like he will ever be "not busy". But I suspect.. he drag your quotation cos it's not so urgent. He has to finish all the rest first cos they have their keys and they have closer completion dates. He's trying to prioritise ba.

That said, I really think 2 months is quite ridiculous. I do wish you have more luck. haiz. 8|8|

Thanks, I need all the luck for my reno.

Actually the reason was that he has lost the floorplan.

I do not want to hurry things because I do not believe rush work will not be of quality. So guess I will wait for a while.

actualli we oso 1st asked quotation fr him last nov and onli get to c the 1st quote this jan but its ok for us cos we werent in a hurry n were asking ard for other quotations as well... :)

guess mayb u can wait a while ba...if u r nt patang, i believe april (qing ming) should b a lull period..

actualli we oso 1st asked quotation fr him last nov and onli get to c the 1st quote this jan but its ok for us cos we werent in a hurry n were asking ard for other quotations as well... :)

guess mayb u can wait a while ba...if u r nt patang, i believe april (qing ming) should b a lull period..

sorrie i oso wanna add tat when he giv us his 1st quote he stil has the 1st floorplan which we forwarded him..so i tink he's realli sincere jus tat mayb he's realli bz...can tell fr wat u told us abt him nt taking any food since bfast..quite sad leh...

i wished he can be slowly. I'm finding it so hard to catch my breathe!!

Heheh, Icic. No wonder he's able to give such good priced quotes to customers. :)

I think mrspiglet must be busy searching for her housing stuff now. :P

heheheh ya Maybe later she'll come back with pictures of her tiles!!! so exciting. hehehehe

Yes, i'm super tired now lor. Super in need of time to go n buy my remaining WC n sink. And lights! N thinks pinkpetter!! super great for helping me with the hafary shop add. In the end we only managed hafary cos we spent like 2.5hrs at sin lek and eyes all rolling already.

Don't mind can share what's Ah Soon's quote? If inconvenient, can pm me? Thanks

Sure, but i can only get the finalise quote tmr night. Anyway its not accurate one, he gives an overall discount and a lot of little things here n there he wun write down in formal quote, but rather on the pc of paper where he scribbles all the chinese words. My current quote comes out to be ard $21-22k for toilets/kitchen overhaul, plastering (the ex one!!!), carpentry for 2 TV consoles/shoe cabinet.. wrought iron gate/grills (for living n 1 bedroom).

Mrspiglet! Any pics of ur purchases to show us? :D We wana see your tiles selections! :)

Got got! Chiong sales, chiong tile shops, chiong toilet accessories. Gimme a min, i wished i had 4 legs n 8 hands now!

I agree with pinkpetter after meeting ah soon, that he is trying to prioritize. He also has to fulfill current reno n meet their datelines so those that still waiting for keys he will do at a later stage. Rest assure once he get access to ur house, he knows exactly what he needs to do.. then he can give a quote very fast. Went up my house 1st time Fri night, sat aftn gave me revise quote, on the spot i add a lot of little things.. n he gave a final quote straight away. Even to our IC no. to apply for permit already, when we still waiting to sign the official contract tmr.

Edited by mrspiglet

Spent a lot of $$ over these 2 days. Rushing to sales after sales, from tiles shops to toilet accessory shops. My back n legs are breaking.

DSCF0997.jpg

1st.. to the Mayer sales. Apart from the Samsung fridge display set going at more than $200 off retail price in HN, we grabbed a few good buys too.

DSCF1002.jpg

Toilet accessories. 7-in-1 set only at $40. Includes toilet pp holder, soap/mug/towel holder, towel bar, glass tray.

DSCF1003.jpg

Wine glasses n cutlery set.

DSCF0999.jpg

Then off to ikea to get my cheapo storerm/service balcony lights. $3.90 ea. cheap!

Next up.. Tiles n Taps.

Today to the tile shops... We went to Sin Lek as recommended by Ah Soon and were not very convinced that the tiles were the best we can get. Typically KS, we went down to Hafary (thks to Pinkpetter for the add at the last min!!) and took look for a 2nd option. Took the tiles back n decided that our 1st choice at Sin Lek seems to win hands down under normal room lighting conditions. So the final choices...

DSCF1004.jpg

L to R: Kitchen Wall/Floor (mosaic for a mini border design), Common Toilet Wall (White w green+mosaic as border design), MBR Toilet (dark grey for wall n floor, off white for another 2 walls, mosaic for one mini slab of wall as design).

DSCF1007.jpg

MBR Toilet for a Resort feeling. Hub almost use the mosaic sample to hit me when i say i choose tis over Hafary tiles becos it can go along w my blink blink mosaic. 8|

Next, taps. Wanted to get my WC for common toilet and all the remaining sinks, but by the time we were at J.Besar all shops were closed. Thinking of going down to Geylang but running out of petrol n energy. So headed home instead. But still...... we managed to buy something from Bellari!

DSCF1010.jpg

I've nvr seen taps this nicely packed b4...

DSCF1011.jpg

L to R: WM tap, common toilet tap, kitchen sink tap.

DSCF1013.jpg

I think its super chio for that kinda price. :sport-smiley-004:

Edited by mrspiglet