mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

mm If this is from the contractor you PM me about... I didn't do False ceiling, TV console and the iron grilles and glass door. BUt I replaced the tiles in the entire house which alr came up to 7k+ (hack + tile) and my total was the same as yours.. about $24k liddat (from her la) mmm when she quotes me the cabinet and solid surface was the same... then I managed to squeeze a little more from her then press it down to about $175 for cabinet and $90 for solid surface...

WHICH is still more expensive compared to my final contractor.

I've seen... Kitchen Cabinet about $100-$120 is ok.. normal... and $70 for solid surface is usu the cheaper one... different range different price. mmm But you must see in terms of the other items also.... if her cabinets more ex.. maybe other things cheaper?

ya, its from the contractor that i PM-ed u abt.

TV console i'm prepared to take out of my quotation, cheaper to get offshelve. But will still need to do a laminated false wall to partition my living room cos once again, its too long! :bangwall:

I calculated the actual floor space and the diff between the pricing she gave, workmanship charges takes up ~50% of my total tile cost. Is that the norm?

Further breakdown of those u didnt do:

Wrought iron gate + kitchen glass door ~$1600

Plastering ~$1600

Polishing of marble floor ~$1000

Plus a little here n there, still dun add up to $7k plus leh. Not forgetting my tiles i'm only entitled to $2.20-$2.50psf tiles. Furthermore my quote is not inclusive of electrical points! :dunno:

I know its unfair to compare item to item. But i think on the avg most of the things i'm quoted are slightly pricier n hence it adds up a lot at the end of the bill. U think so? :(

Hi Mrspiglet...

Just bought my Fujioh 2-burner toughened glass cooker hob for $370 after discount from Hoe Kee. The glass part is lifetime warranty but the burner is 1 year warranty only.

Dunno if it's expensive. we went to Hoe Kee cos' some forumers recommended the shop and also it's just next to my work place..convenient lah.

Do they have package price? ya i know the burner only 1 yr. But that's ok. I think usually burner can last quite a while. My boss is using fujioh and he didnt even have to chge the battery after 7-8yrs of heavy usage. My only concern it the warranty against the glass.

Edited by mrspiglet

Hmm.. I can't rem the exact amt at the moment. I think it's around $1.2k, inclusive of the oven. I go home check and let u know again k?

Hee.. Yah, I did think of that as well. And wondered if I should take those slim hoods. But don't really like slim hoods, so decided to just go ahead with chimney hood loh. :) And I like the glass very much. :P

Total cost of the hob, chimney hood and oven is $1310. I rem the price before the oven package was around $800plus for just hob and hood. Take a look at the link attached, my items should be $1k plus, but Poh Joo gave discount & in the end it was around $800plus. :) So don't take the promo price on the web as a final price. :)

http://www.hobz.com.sg/GLASSHOB%20PACKAGE%20CATALOGUE.pdf

ya, its from the contractor that i PM-ed u abt.

TV console i'm prepared to take out of my quotation, cheaper to get offshelve. But will still need to do a laminated false wall to partition my living room cos once again, its too long! :bangwall:

I calculated the actual floor space and the diff between the pricing she gave, workmanship charges takes up ~50% of my total tile cost. Is that the norm?

Further breakdown of those u didnt do:

Wrought iron gate + kitchen glass door ~$1600

Plastering ~$1600

Polishing of marble floor ~$1000

Plus a little here n there, still dun add up to $7k plus leh. Not forgetting my tiles i'm only entitled to $2.20-$2.50psf tiles. Furthermore my quote is not inclusive of electrical points! :dunno:

I know its unfair to compare item to item. But i think on the avg most of the things i'm quoted are slightly pricier n hence it adds up a lot at the end of the bill. U think so? :(

mmm Take more quotes and compare ba. Have you tried bargaining with her? :) Anyway welcome to come see my place ba. Except that it's a little messy. wahha

Total cost of the hob, chimney hood and oven is $1310. I rem the price before the oven package was around $800plus for just hob and hood. Take a look at the link attached, my items should be $1k plus, but Poh Joo gave discount & in the end it was around $800plus. :) So don't take the promo price on the web as a final price. :)

http://www.hobz.com.sg/GLASSHOB%20PACKAGE%20CATALOGUE.pdf

The price is gd leh. Now i'm torn between Fujioh n Hobz. :dunno:

I find the gal who entertain me in PJ dun really know her stuff leh. Like blur blur one. Ask her the pros n cons she oso blur blur. Who did u speak to in PJ?

mmm Take more quotes and compare ba. Have you tried bargaining with her? :) Anyway welcome to come see my place ba. Except that it's a little messy. wahha

I'm gonna ask for a few more quotes to compare. I like her lah, but the price really is a little too high for the standards that i saw in her sample flat. So that puts me off a little already. :(

i'm seeing u this sat! :notti:

My seller.... 8|8|8|8|

Pushed for early completion. Made us sign the appeal letter. Next wk completion already, since monday till now dilly dally dun wanna arrange for us to go up the house to inspect. Now tell my agent wanna extend stay cos "he doesn't have time to shift his things".

:dunno::dunno::dunno:

piglet!!u confirmed ur ID already?so the final quotation after revised is how much lei?

haven leh... where got so fast? But i think hub contacted Yeak already. So will be getting a quote from him too.

Tot i getting keys next mon then can make measurements so that the quote will be more accurate. Now my seller 'chu pattern' again...

HAH! Why are they like that!....................... terrible...

Terrible right? I cannot understand this seller. When i delayed exercising OTP becos i needed to appeal for 1st-timer grant, his agent kept nagging at my agent. then we see they so eager to sell, mum tried to ask if he can let us start reno b4 completion, he say no. Then they want us to sign on letter for their appeal for early completion. N then now, dun wanna shift out. REALLY OMG!

The price is gd leh. Now i'm torn between Fujioh n Hobz. :dunno:

I find the gal who entertain me in PJ dun really know her stuff leh. Like blur blur one. Ask her the pros n cons she oso blur blur. Who did u speak to in PJ?

I went to PJ opp Lavender food court. I also spoke to a girl the 2nd time we went. A petite one who wore specs. She's quite ok. But if u wan sme1 who reali knows his stuff, look for Mr Seah. He's a skinny guy with specs. Reali know his stuff.

Go back and see both items and see whh one u prefer loh. One thing to note is that Hobz uses batteries not electricity to spark the gas. So occasionally gota change the batts. But they sae got sme advantages, can't rem wat though. hehehe.. Aniway, u don't need to confirm your stuff so soon. So go back a few times to take a look and imagine using them. :P After all, u'll b using it for quite afew yrs woh. :P

My seller.... 8|8|8|8|

Pushed for early completion. Made us sign the appeal letter. Next wk completion already, since monday till now dilly dally dun wanna arrange for us to go up the house to inspect. Now tell my agent wanna extend stay cos "he doesn't have time to shift his things".

:dunno::dunno::dunno:

Dumb dumb seller. Hate people like that. 8|

haven leh... where got so fast? But i think hub contacted Yeak already. So will be getting a quote from him too.

Tot i getting keys next mon then can make measurements so that the quote will be more accurate. Now my seller 'chu pattern' again...

Terrible right? I cannot understand this seller. When i delayed exercising OTP becos i needed to appeal for 1st-timer grant, his agent kept nagging at my agent. then we see they so eager to sell, mum tried to ask if he can let us start reno b4 completion, he say no. Then they want us to sign on letter for their appeal for early completion. N then now, dun wanna shift out. REALLY OMG!

He asked ur to sign letter liao, can charge him rent anot? Next time if he requests for anything else, don't be too nice. Either say no or sae must charge. 8|

I went to PJ opp Lavender food court. I also spoke to a girl the 2nd time we went. A petite one who wore specs. She's quite ok. But if u wan sme1 who reali knows his stuff, look for Mr Seah. He's a skinny guy with specs. Reali know his stuff.

Go back and see both items and see whh one u prefer loh. One thing to note is that Hobz uses batteries not electricity to spark the gas. So occasionally gota change the batts. But they sae got sme advantages, can't rem wat though. hehehe.. Aniway, u don't need to confirm your stuff so soon. So go back a few times to take a look and imagine using them. :P After all, u'll b using it for quite afew yrs woh. :P

Dumb dumb seller. Hate people like that. 8|

He asked ur to sign letter liao, can charge him rent anot? Next time if he requests for anything else, don't be too nice. Either say no or sae must charge. 8|

I just read ur post clear again. Ur hob+hood package is $1028, PJ gave u $200 discount so gd! I think i spoke to the same gal as u, young gal long hair w specs right? She not very sure abt hob/hood leh. Everytime gotta ask another lady. But she knows the basin n WC prices pretty well. :P

Battery need to chge, but u wun have to take up 1 power point for the hob. i would prefer that, but also depends on how easy to chge the battery also. :unsure:

My seller wanted to extend for another wk to 'shift his stuff'. But if u were to go back to my 1st few posts, the house is very bare lor. I also dunno why it takes him so long to shift. Ask me to give leave a spare key for him so that he can shift his things. How can like that? Later he go in n accidentally spoil something then how? :dunno:

Ya lor ya lor, really hate this type of guy, not gentleman at all.

I used to feel sorry for him cos we sensed something wrong between him n his wife. But since he already took my COV and his wife was the one that requested for early completion, then there's no excuse he got no time to shift his things!

My seller wanted to extend for another wk to 'shift his stuff'. But if u were to go back to my 1st few posts, the house is very bare lor. I also dunno why it takes him so long to shift. Ask me to give leave a spare key for him so that he can shift his things. How can like that? Later he go in n accidentally spoil something then how? :dunno:

I used to feel sorry for him cos we sensed something wrong between him n his wife. But since he already took my COV and his wife was the one that requested for early completion, then there's no excuse he got no time to shift his things!

... huh....I agree what if he spoils something... why would anyone need 1 week to move? 1 or 2 days can move already. Honestly I would prepare a chain and lock to lock up the place on completion day. Or change the lock of the main door. tsk tsk.

Even if you don't leave a spare key for him he might be making one spare now anyway....

I just read ur post clear again. Ur hob+hood package is $1028, PJ gave u $200 discount so gd! I think i spoke to the same gal as u, young gal long hair w specs right? She not very sure abt hob/hood leh. Everytime gotta ask another lady. But she knows the basin n WC prices pretty well. :P

Battery need to chge, but u wun have to take up 1 power point for the hob. i would prefer that, but also depends on how easy to chge the battery also. :unsure:

Yah, it was a rather huge discount. But we needed to get an oven, so took another package loh. Quite good lar the price. Hee... Yah, think it's the same gal. She was quite ok when she tok to us abt the hob/hood leh. But must still say that Mr Seah is much better. It's relatively easy to change the batteries, so can consider. :)

Yah! Say no! Don't give him a spare key. I would think it's better if u give him extra 2 days to shift his stuff out, and that's it.

Congrates on finally getting ur 2nd appt date! Next Monday woh. Excited? :yamseng:

... huh....I agree what if he spoils something... why would anyone need 1 week to move? 1 or 2 days can move already. Honestly I would prepare a chain and lock to lock up the place on completion day. Or change the lock of the main door. tsk tsk.

Even if you don't leave a spare key for him he might be making one spare now anyway....

My seller v weird right? Give him this wkend to shift he also not free already. What makes me trust that he can shift out by next wk?

Mum also suggested same thing. buy a new lock n lock the gate up. He will have spare keys anyway.

Yah, it was a rather huge discount. But we needed to get an oven, so took another package loh. Quite good lar the price. Hee... Yah, think it's the same gal. She was quite ok when she tok to us abt the hob/hood leh. But must still say that Mr Seah is much better. It's relatively easy to change the batteries, so can consider. :)

Yah! Say no! Don't give him a spare key. I would think it's better if u give him extra 2 days to shift his stuff out, and that's it.

Congrates on finally getting ur 2nd appt date! Next Monday woh. Excited? :yamseng:

My agent very nice, he say dun give him spare key, but rather my agent will hold the key for us n open door for him n make sure he doesnt spoil anything. But then i dun want unnecessary hassle for my agent, hub n mum both disagree, so die die he gotta shift his things away by this wkend.

Actually very excited when i got the date. But becos cant find a suitable contractor n quote, plus seller problem.. a bit :( already.

My seller v weird right? Give him this wkend to shift he also not free already. What makes me trust that he can shift out by next wk?

Mum also suggested same thing. buy a new lock n lock the gate up. He will have spare keys anyway.

My agent very nice, he say dun give him spare key, but rather my agent will hold the key for us n open door for him n make sure he doesnt spoil anything. But then i dun want unnecessary hassle for my agent, hub n mum both disagree, so die die he gotta shift his things away by this wkend.

Actually very excited when i got the date. But becos cant find a suitable contractor n quote, plus seller problem.. a bit :( already.

Yah.. Totally weird guy. Just don't care and make him shift out before Monday. Get all keys in front of the HDB officer from ur seller, and don't return them to him after completion. Then immediate go ur new home and use your new lock to lock the gate up! :P

Hee.... Don't :( . There r bound to be little delays here and there. U see mine, delayed for 1mth then start work. But now, I super happy and excited about it. It's better to delay abit and select a good & cheap contractor, then fast fast select and regret later. :) Moreover ur AD coming soon. Better to get a good one, and have lesser worries right? :P

Yah.. Totally weird guy. Just don't care and make him shift out before Monday. Get all keys in front of the HDB officer from ur seller, and don't return them to him after completion. Then immediate go ur new home and use your new lock to lock the gate up! :P

Hee.... Don't :( . There r bound to be little delays here and there. U see mine, delayed for 1mth then start work. But now, I super happy and excited about it. It's better to delay abit and select a good & cheap contractor, then fast fast select and regret later. :) Moreover ur AD coming soon. Better to get a good one, and have lesser worries right? :P

Ya, gotta go buy lock this wkend. I also wish i can afford to take it slowly. but if say reno 2mths, plus cleaning, moving house... already May. That will be just nice for us to throw house things aside n do AD stuff. Guest list!! OMG...

latest update: he agree to move out, but on monday morn b4 completion. -_-'''

my hub will be activated to go n do final inspection after he moves.