mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

u just reminded me! i haven login to my cpf today. also my daily routine to see when the account goes up (for the housing grant) :dancingqueen: ... and when it will get wiped out. :(

Till date, still no diff. Other than my pathetic bonus pumping up a bit more in OA account. :unsure:

u just reminded me! i haven login to my cpf today. also my daily routine to see when the account goes up (for the housing grant) :dancingqueen: ... and when it will get wiped out. :(

Till date, still no diff. Other than my pathetic bonus pumping up a bit more in OA account. :unsure:

Haha! Yah! So excited to see my a/c increase by $15k, then see almost the whole amt wiped out after awhile. :)

Wah seeing it wiped out is a sad thing.... :P

Haha, sad... cuz OA empty liao. But that amount actually appeared in the housing section in the CPF statement. So the number actually just shift from one section to another only (trying to comfort myself... :P ). My Jan instalment also deducted liao... That one also excited but heartpain. :)

hee, at least i get to feel the thrill of seeing the grant. mine $20k.. cos near parents :deal:

i'm learning to console myself that i'm gonna be promoted to a house owner.. to ease the pain in seeing OA being wiped out. Its such a dilemma, excited yet sad tt i'm gonna be poor!

got any advise on what to take note during the inspection b4 2nd appt? :dunno:

The $20k came on 19th, then gone today with the rest of my $ in OA. Mixed feelings, happy that i'm one step closer to getting my house, sad i'm sooo much poorer in OA. Now every mth left miserable amt to save in OA.

Bought this bedframe 2 wks back.. in darker brown (small sample patch at the backing). Hope it goes well w ICI Mysterious as my backing wall.

Bedframe.jpg

The $20k came on 19th, then gone today with the rest of my $ in OA. Mixed feelings, happy that i'm one step closer to getting my house, sad i'm sooo much poorer in OA. Now every mth left miserable amt to save in OA.

Bought this bedframe 2 wks back.. in darker brown (small sample patch at the backing). Hope it goes well w ICI Mysterious as my backing wall.

Bedframe.jpg

woo...looks like a S**ly bed to me ya :notti:

hee, at least i get to feel the thrill of seeing the grant. mine $20k.. cos near parents :deal:

i'm learning to console myself that i'm gonna be promoted to a house owner.. to ease the pain in seeing OA being wiped out. Its such a dilemma, excited yet sad tt i'm gonna be poor!

got any advise on what to take note during the inspection b4 2nd appt? :dunno:

Hee.. We also thought of taking the extra $10k grant, cuz in-laws staying wif mi. But decided against it, cuz dun wana tie them down. Anyway the extra monthly installment is a couple of bucks more only. :) Hee.. Totally understand how u feel. Hehee.. Wait till u get ur property tax letter. That one even more painful. :P

Decide on what you want to keep, and inspect those carefully. For example windows and doors, check that they open and close easily and not falling off liao. Check that the ceiling don't have wet patches. Those that you don't intend to keep, don't need to care about them. After all, they'll be hacked/removed. :P

Very nice bed. Looks very shiok. :P Should look good with ur mysterious purple.

Edited by Angel81

woo...looks like a S**ly bed to me ya :notti:

Haha! no.. far from it. Bought this bedframe n the Vono mattress. Cheaper alternative for the moment cos budget's really tight.

Hee.. We also thought of taking the extra $10k grant, cuz in-laws staying wif mi. But decided against it, cuz dun wana tie them down. Anyway the extra monthly installment is a couple of bucks more only. :) Hee.. Totally understand how u feel. Hehee.. Wait till u get ur property tax letter. That one even more painful. :P

Decide on what you want to keep, and inspect those carefully. For example windows and doors, check that they open and close easily and not falling off liao. Check that the ceiling don't have wet patches. Those that you don't intend to keep, don't need to care about them. After all, they'll be hacked/removed. :P

Very nice bed. Looks very shiok. :P Should look good with ur mysterious purple.

living w parents also got $10k ah? Yalor, if u still can afford it then no need to take the grant lah. some pple telling me that i have to pay back the grant when i sell off my flat, but when i checked during 1st appt, the officer say no need. Dunno who's right or wrong, but heck it... take 1st then say. since my mum die die wun shift house one.

I calculated the property tax yday.. :jawdrop: .. must reimburse to seller on 2nd appt right? And i'm wondering how the 40% tax rebate announced yday gonna work for us. ;)

I only keeping windows n grills.. so will check for that. Ceiling looks fine. i think my current house ceiling even more terrible! haha! My unit is top level, so any leakage i'll complain to HDB! :sport-smiley-004:

N thks for the compliments! Too bad mattress is cheaper version.. Slumberland's sister Vono. But feels hard enough for us n comfy w the top layer cushion.

i have a checklist in my blog..but its meant more for new flats. but old ones maybe some can apply.

but do note to check for any unauthorised reno before thehandover...

Thks diva! ur blog got sooo much info! I'm not too sure of unauthorised reno cos the house looks very bare, owner didnt really shifted in b4. Anyway b4 1st appt someone from branch office already checked the house, so i supposed there isnt anything that is not approved.

living w parents also got $10k ah? Yalor, if u still can afford it then no need to take the grant lah. some pple telling me that i have to pay back the grant when i sell off my flat, but when i checked during 1st appt, the officer say no need. Dunno who's right or wrong, but heck it... take 1st then say. since my mum die die wun shift house one.

I calculated the property tax yday.. :jawdrop: .. must reimburse to seller on 2nd appt right? And i'm wondering how the 40% tax rebate announced yday gonna work for us. ;)

I only keeping windows n grills.. so will check for that. Ceiling looks fine. i think my current house ceiling even more terrible! haha! My unit is top level, so any leakage i'll complain to HDB! :sport-smiley-004:

Got.. Stay nearby mah (They just stay so near that it's near room :P ). Oh, that one I duno. My 2nd appt was end of last yr. Think my seller haven pay property tax yet at that time. Think property tax amt still ok, just that have not shifted in gota pay tax for it liao. haha.. Pocket getting lighter & lighter. Yah loh, wonder how the rebate will work, since I have to pay my tax by earli Feb. :P

Wah.... Ur's will be almost complete overhaul then. Good to keep windows & grills, expensive leh.

Got.. Stay nearby mah (They just stay so near that it's near room :P ). Oh, that one I duno. My 2nd appt was end of last yr. Think my seller haven pay property tax yet at that time. Think property tax amt still ok, just that have not shifted in gota pay tax for it liao. haha.. Pocket getting lighter & lighter. Yah loh, wonder how the rebate will work, since I have to pay my tax by earli Feb. :P

Wah.... Ur's will be almost complete overhaul then. Good to keep windows & grills, expensive leh.

near = next room... 8|

My pocket is already v light. Not complete overhaul, i'm keeping my broken marble flooring. But kitchen n 2 toilets complete makeover. Plus electrical rewire lor. That will cost me another bomb. :jawdrop:

Share share how they rebate u after u pay ur tax!

near = next room... 8|

My pocket is already v light. Not complete overhaul, i'm keeping my broken marble flooring. But kitchen n 2 toilets complete makeover. Plus electrical rewire lor. That will cost me another bomb. :jawdrop:

Share share how they rebate u after u pay ur tax!

hahaha, perfectly understand. my bank account has seen a dramatic drop in record time, like never before. very very scary! like you, i am also keeping flooring and kitchen wall tiles, and complete makeover for toilets only. electrical rewiring too. no fancy feature wall or boxing up of pipes etc. reno cost already over $20k. very painful.

am even going for second hand furnishing now. sigh......

Haha! no.. far from it. Bought this bedframe n the Vono mattress. Cheaper alternative for the moment cos budget's really tight.

:) I also kept window grilles and windows to save money. But when the whole house was done it was upsetting to see how odd the old grilles looked. SIGHHHH But really saved a lot ba. :)

hahaha, perfectly understand. my bank account has seen a dramatic drop in record time, like never before. very very scary! like you, i am also keeping flooring and kitchen wall tiles, and complete makeover for toilets only. electrical rewiring too. no fancy feature wall or boxing up of pipes etc. reno cost already over $20k. very painful.

am even going for second hand furnishing now. sigh......

nvm gal, let's work hard for it. I'm lucky that i dun have to do box up cos top level. But i have to spend on plastering cos whole house painted w rockstone paint previously. :bangwall:

u can buy ur furnishing slowly, bit by bit. I'm putting my sofa, dining table, bookshelves n storage all on hold. At least my bank account gets to breathe a little.

:) I also kept window grilles and windows to save money. But when the whole house was done it was upsetting to see how odd the old grilles looked. SIGHHHH But really saved a lot ba. :)

Understand perfectly! Was thinking of keeping kitchen flooring n wall tiles then hubs thinks like spent so much $ yet not here not there.. so decided to do flooring as well. I'm still hoping to just plaster n paint the kitchen walls to cut cost since i dun really cook often.

Edited by mrspiglet

nvm gal, let's work hard for it. I'm lucky that i dun have to do box up cos top level. But i have to spend on plastering cos whole house painted w rockstone paint previously. :bangwall:

u can buy ur furnishing slowly, bit by bit. I'm putting my sofa, dining table, bookshelves n storage all on hold. At least my bank account gets to breathe a little.

Understand perfectly! Was thinking of keeping kitchen flooring n wall tiles then hubs thinks like spent so much $ yet not here not there.. so decided to do flooring as well. I'm still hoping to just plaster n paint the kitchen walls to cut cost since i dun really cook often.

exactly!! the same happened to me also. kept adding things along the way. haiz. Plaster and paint walls will definitely save some and the effect is quite nice!! :)