mrspiglet

B&b's First Home

yaa AIYAH then ok la your budget sure can. :) rem to tell people lower. like... $14k LOL then they'll quote you $20k :P

It happens. :P so exciting!!

After going thru' so many ID quotes and contractor quotes, we finally decided that our budget will fit more comfortably for contractor. Still trying to finalize the actual work we are gonna do, becos FH all of sudden decide to do up the kitchen floor/wall tiles and the common toilet. 8|

I think i backside itchy. Go thru so much trouble to take so many quotes n in the end, we are contemplating to go back to FH's uncle to renovate for us. Using all sub-cons.. much cheaper. His uncle's quoting us v much cheaper for carpentry and his lobangs for tiling/painting/plumbing are all giving us 自己人pricing. Very hard to resist...

The most happy part: we bought our 1st 2 items for the house over the past weekend and today - Laundry system & our wardrobe! My personal experience:

Laundry system

Ezz* Living won our deal over Tam*, it was easy to decide - price, quality & attitude. We were seriously pissed with the uncle at Tam* who didn't even allowed us take another second to consider. Kept giving us the stuck up and 'they-cannot-afford-one-lah' face. We walked down further to the next exhibitor at Expo and placed our deposit straight away with EL.

Closet

Went to both Clos*tDesign and Clos*tRobe's showroom. Michael from CD was not pushy and comparatively Eugene from CR was trying too hard to sell, esp w his "M*diacorp Appreciation cert". We left his showroom n drove straight down to Expo to place the deposit w CD. Material wise both r just as gd - scratch/fire resistance, all shelving and drawers with ABS trimmings. Michael gave us a more sincere feel and due to some blunder made by his staff, we got a discount w some freebies thrown in. The initial quotation from CR seemed to be cheaper, but do not come with soft closing for the drawers and there's additional charges if we choose bi-fold door instead of sliding door. I've read of -ve comments on CD, but i'm taking the chance becos we feel really more comfortable w CD.

Went to Nan Wah to see see look look at their sale items. Some 1-pc WC are selling real cheap.. <$200 i think. Cant rembr the pricing now.

Very tempted to buy their kitchen sinks..

For $171..

SNC00073.jpg

For $225..

SNC00074.jpg

For $238..

SNC00075.jpg

But i cant decide if i should buy now or wait till 2nd appt over. Or should i get shiny or matt finishing sink.. :unsure:

hehe! i guess old ppl allthe same, my parents also said something like ' why hack the room? u will regret one, why hack the wall? alot of money wasted u know? ' ' kitchen cabinet so nice and well maintain,can keep and use' :bow: i dunno wat to say :dunno:

so far wat i enjoy most i the shoping part! :yamseng:

yalor! my mum is almost driving me crazy until i showhand w her. i hack the whole kitchen, she say waste money. I hack the cornices, also waste money, i wanna plaster away the rockstone painted wall... also "this one very ex one leh, y u wanna waste money to plaster?"

She finally stopped when i say "u like the stove so much, i hack already i ask them to shift to ur house lor." :sport-smiley-004:

Edited by mrspiglet

yalor! my mum is almost driving me crazy until i showhand w her. i hack the whole kitchen, she say waste money. I hack the cornices, also waste money, i wanna plaster away the rockstone painted wall... also "this one very ex one leh, y u wanna waste money to plaster?"

She finally stopped when i say "u like the stove so much, i hack already i ask them to shift to ur house lor." :sport-smiley-004:

hehehe... parents r liddat de. as long as u r firm wif ur decision. can liao.

aft all it's ur love nest mah. u both must b comfy living in it.

if this dun like, that dun like, how live happily? everyday see liao oso eye sore.

hahaha...

whahaha so familiar. too bad I cannot say the same to my own parents... haiz... :P

Wah "own people" pricing sounds the best!! But I always find it hard to ask for things from people if we are too familiar with them... I'm not sure how to say... BUT seems like he's ready to give you the best price and if you've done your HW I'm sure things will go fine!

Lucky you!

Hahaha! My FIL also like this. We brought my PILs up during final inspection to take a look at the place. Almost everything he said dun need to do. I was like :furious: . But don't care la, we just do it the way we like. Too bad I can't say that to them, since my PILs will be staying with me. :P

hehehe... parents r liddat de. as long as u r firm wif ur decision. can liao.

aft all it's ur love nest mah. u both must b comfy living in it.

if this dun like, that dun like, how live happily? everyday see liao oso eye sore.

hahaha...

yes of cos. Die die will have to stay there for 5yrs. Imagine 1000+ days there and dun like this dun like tt, i think my life will be v miserable.

whahaha so familiar. too bad I cannot say the same to my own parents... haiz... :P

Wah "own people" pricing sounds the best!! But I always find it hard to ask for things from people if we are too familiar with them... I'm not sure how to say... BUT seems like he's ready to give you the best price and if you've done your HW I'm sure things will go fine!

Lucky you!

actually, that's the exact reason y i'm so relunctant to use his uncle as well. Afterall i'm still a paying customer, will be hard if he insist that 'its like tt one lah' when we are fussy abt certain things. I'm still waiting for FH to get the final quote. Materials i still get to choose, i just need to pay for materials (like tiles) and a bit of workmanship. His uncle does the carpentry only, others will sub to his group of friends who always work together. Like plastering.. he just called his fren and ask how much, the price for whole house is $1k cheaper than ID quote, and $400 cheaper than contractor quote! How to resist?!?!

Hahaha! My FIL also like this. We brought my PILs up during final inspection to take a look at the place. Almost everything he said dun need to do. I was like :furious: . But don't care la, we just do it the way we like. Too bad I can't say that to them, since my PILs will be staying with me. :P

i :bow::bow::bow: u leh, i cannot imagine how life will be for me if i have to stay w in-laws. my mum is already driving me crazy, and vice verse :sport-smiley-004:

Edited by mrspiglet

i :bow::bow::bow: u leh, i cannot imagine how life will be for me if i have to stay w in-laws. my mum is already driving me crazy, and vice verse :sport-smiley-004:

sadly, this is something that is bobian one. :( It drives me crazy sometimes as well. Just hope there are no :fire: can liao. :)

thanks rondy! got the add liao. Saw from ur t-blog pic that they are selling those big piping for toilet too? i may wanna check my toilet pipes too.

actually i was thinking its a bit too fast to find a house within 2 days of viewing. So scary until i cant sleep the whole night after we signed the OTP to place an offer to the seller!

fast good mah, dont have to fret about the matter, very stressful.

I advertised and sold my house in 2 days, viewed houses in 2 days and signed otp....everything done chop chop also.....but also that if come across nicer houses will be a bit heart itchy :P

wah..u sold ur own flat?

sorry sorry for the misleading statement. I meant my agent advertised my house for sale in ST on sat and it was sold on sun and mon started viewing houses and signed otp on tuesday for the new house :)

Have been logging into HDB website everyday since 1st appt... n finally change of status!

2ndappt.jpg

CPF also called up yday to check on some info for the Housing protection insurance. :dancingqueen:

Anyone's got any advise on what r the checklist during the viewing prior to completion date? what should i be checking for?

Have been logging into HDB website everyday since 1st appt... n finally change of status!

2ndappt.jpg

CPF also called up yday to check on some info for the Housing protection insurance. :dancingqueen:

Anyone's got any advise on what r the checklist during the viewing prior to completion date? what should i be checking for?

Hee... Very exciting to see the status change hor? I also did the same thing as u almost everyday. And I also log in to CPF everyday to see if they deducted the $ anot. :P