kubica

First Hdb Soon, Guide Me Through Costs Pleaaase

I may be getting a resale 4 room HDB flat sometime next year.

This is my first purchase, so would you guide me on the cost for decor ?

Lets assume worst case scenario, where I want to rebuild the whole house.

Lets ignore all non-built in electrical appliances as well as non-built in furniture.

I would like Homogenous tiles in the halls, and laminated flooring in the rooms.

Built in cabinets in all 3 rooms.

Please assist with helping me breakdown the main costs, I am afraid I missed out on something,

currently running pretty tight budget, yet, I want a nice minimalist contemporary(MUJI) style kinda of decor.

Very much appreciated! :dancingqueen:

Edited by kubica

Demolition works

Hack all existing floor tiles in living and bedrooms

Hack off 2 existing toilet bowls and remove all toilet things.

Dismantle kitchen cabinets and sink support

Hacking of all wall and floor tiles of kitchen

Hacking of all wall and floor tiles in both toilets

Haulage

(should set you back $1500-$2000)

Masonry Works

Supply and Lay 600mmX600mm homo tiles in living, bedrooms and balcony (Max $3/sqft) ($4000+)

2" homo skirting (included above)

Kitchen cabinet base

Laying of tiles for kitchen floor and wall (or you can choose to cement the walls)

Supply and lay wall and floor tiles in both toilets ($2500?)

Supply Labour to install toilet bowls and basins ($400)

Shower kerbs in both toilets ($300+)

Carpentry Works (All to use same laminate/materials)

Fabricate and install kitchen cabinet with laminate finish ($90-$110 pfr) (depends on how long You want)

Fabricate and install kitchen cabinet for pipes

Fabricate and install cabinet cover for rubbish chute

Solid Surface Worktop ($70 - $150 depending on typ and brand you use)

** besides Solid surface there's also Postform (cheaper), Granite (more ex)

Glass/Aluminium Works

Changing grilles and windows for a more minimalist look ($1000 each?)

Plumbing Works

Run inlet and outlet piping for Sink and Washing Machine

Change pipes in both toilets

($500++ for both)

Misc Works

Acid Wash (FOC)

Whole house painting (including door, door frames and pipes) ($1100 - $1400)

Might want to change doors and door grille also?

Electrical points (per socket and outlet)

I reckon.. overhaul a 4-room.. minus all the frills with less minimal carpentry ... $20k should be more than enuff.. mm

kubica, U don't have to be so worried now. Maybe by then you maybe will "kyou tio" leh. Very difficult to say one.

Maybe by then someone may sell you

a 4 room resale flat (just renovated within 2 years) then u don't have to reno liao..

4 room flat got different size also.

4A , 4I, 4NG. Depend on what type of housing u got.

Renovation can range from $20K to $50K depend on the design.

if there is a lot of custom-made furniture like

wardrobe,

TV feature wall,

TV console,

dining table ,

Bar Top, Bed,

side table,

Platform.

Then your quotation would be more expensive.

agree with Alan.

when you have your eyes on your unit... after you sign the option you will have months to research. :) Then you have a better idea of what you need to do la. :)

agree with Alan.

when you have your eyes on your unit... after you sign the option you will have months to research. :) Then you have a better idea of what you need to do la. :)

Thanks! I really hope I kyo tio.... then happy liao ! all in the HDB loan.