pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2009 hehe so now you're forced to change your casement window handle already! Change ba since it's cheap. Think you can get at those 5-gold (Wu Jin) shop. But if you get it yourself you're going to put it up yourself? if it's easy to put.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xherion 0 Report post Posted February 25, 2009 Hi asianms, Your curtains look lovely. May i know where is MGL located? Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yokine9a 1 Report post Posted February 25, 2009 Where to buy the window handles? I don't know leh... I asked my reno contractor to buy & change some of the bad condition ones when he was still doing my reno work... During changing of handles, he told me these things cost 90cts from his supplier... but if we go to those Home-fix stores, they will selling around $1.20 each. Your reno shifu might have the lobang, ask him what price he can get for you. Windows without handles how to close them tight?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted February 25, 2009 Hi asianms, Your curtains look lovely. May i know where is MGL located? Thanks. thanks xherion. but the curtains are not from MGK. Living room curtains are from J&S, Plaza Singapura. The bedroom curtains came with the house. The roller blinds are from MGL; 195, Lavender St #01-02. Eminent Plaza Singapore, 338758. Phone : 63920373. The staff there, May, is very helpful. Where to buy the window handles? I don't know leh... I asked my reno contractor to buy & change some of the bad condition ones when he was still doing my reno work... During changing of handles, he told me these things cost 90cts from his supplier... but if we go to those Home-fix stores, they will selling around $1.20 each. Your reno shifu might have the lobang, ask him what price he can get for you. Windows without handles how to close them tight?? A very good friend went to look around the 'wu jin' shops in Pasir Ris for me :-) She found them, $3 each. Even brought to my place to fix for me. I think I have reputation for being quite bo-chap Does it cost more because it is powder-coated? Her husband said they cost $3.40 at Tampines. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xherion 0 Report post Posted February 25, 2009 Oh ok Thanks a lot asianms! How is the pricing and available selection of MGL compared to the clementi curtain shop if you've been to both places? Thanks again, and really nice house. A lot of nice carpentry already done by previous owner, so can save money on reno Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted February 25, 2009 Oh ok Thanks a lot asianms! How is the pricing and available selection of MGL compared to the clementi curtain shop if you've been to both places? Thanks again, and really nice house. A lot of nice carpentry already done by previous owner, so can save money on reno Sorry, never gone to Clementi shop. I compared MGL with J&S and Showplace. MGL won hands-down. If you are doing rollerblinds, the range of materials quite standard, so can go for lowest quote. If you are on v tight budget, ask for ex-stock materials/fabrics. These are left overs from previous seasons, and usually limited in quantity. Can get good deals. I used it for my study room roller blinds, and it was a lot cheaper. If doing curtains, depends on taste, but I prefer the higher-end shops, cos they have fab fabrics in terms of colours and textures, but at high-end prices of course yah, v blessed to hv bought a house with so much carpentry done, and in good condition. From what I read in all the other reno blogs, it seems like carpentry these days v expensive. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 coffee table arived a few weeks ago... my living room is now complete, albeit a little cramped. Am still trying to decide whether I should leave the coffee table there, or put against a wall. Was looking for glassware. went to Crossroads garage sale at Cairnhill CC on Sat, and found these cute glasses $0.50/piece! Final addition to the house coming next Sat.. my dining table. Quite excited about it. Will host dinner for 10 once it arrives Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 mm i think the coffee table looks ok with sufficient walking space ard it... looking forward to your dining table... rem to take photos ok? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tiffanynip 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 IHMO ur coffe table looks ok... but is tat a cushion beside the tray? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 "is tat a cushion beside the tray? " - coffee table is convertible into a 2-seater, or I can turn over the two cushions to become 2 trays. wat u see in the pix is 1 tray, and 1 cushion is for me to put my feet up. I like open space, bought this coffee table because of its potential as a 2-seater. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 "is tat a cushion beside the tray? " - coffee table is convertible into a 2-seater, or I can turn over the two cushions to become 2 trays. wat u see in the pix is 1 tray, and 1 cushion is for me to put my feet up. I like open space, bought this coffee table because of its potential as a 2-seater. WAH what a nifty table! it's so cool with the turnover thing! Where did you get it?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 WAH what a nifty table! it's so cool with the turnover thing! Where did you get it?? bought from Barang Barang last year, waited 3 months for stock to arrive. It comes in 1-, 2-, and 3-seater. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2009 oo Barang Barang.. so is it expensive? really nice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 $380, after a 40% discount I think. had to add $50 for delivery. really wanted to buy something else to make delivery for worth it, but couldn't find anything else to add on. Is Barang Barang stuff expensive? they seem to be forever having big discounts of 40-50% Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2009 $380, after a 40% discount I think. had to add $50 for delivery. really wanted to buy something else to make delivery for worth it, but couldn't find anything else to add on. Is Barang Barang stuff expensive? they seem to be forever having big discounts of 40-50% ur stuff is very worth leh, becos barang barang r well known to be very ex. but the delivery is ex. cannot bargain huh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites