yokine9a 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2009 oic, I know where you are living now... my sister is living in your area too I like my current area, pretty quiet yet not far from TPY central... wah, really many people taking the bus just for a stop to go to the interchange? I have not take one so far, even during rainy days... I am on high floor but still cannot see fireworks leh... being blocked by neighbouring 20/30 storeys flats liao... but I can see those aeroplanes during NDP flying above Philips factory from my kitchen... not too bad lah. Well, the taste of a house is really up to individual owner... if they are willing to & can afford to redo everything, this is their decision... I would rather keep the $$ in my pocket to save for future... Whatever we spend on the reno can never recover when we sell the flat later on. As for the casement windows that slam shut with strong wind, you just need to tighten the screws... your reno shifu might know how to fix them, don't need to change lah. You should change that leaking water cistern, else you are just paying unnecessary water usage. It is good that your reno shifu seek your preference on what to use... my reno contractor didn't ask me what door handle I want for my stove/sink cabinet... in the end, I have a stainless steel frame glass door cabinet but ugly PLASTIC door handle!! I was quite pissed off by him... it was impossible to replace them unless he redo all the glass door... so I have to accept it Pls post more pic of your house Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2009 As for the casement windows that slam shut with strong wind, you just need to tighten the screws... your reno shifu might know how to fix them, don't need to change lah. You should change that leaking water cistern, else you are just paying unnecessary water usage. shifu managed to fix the leaky cistern, but he's clueless about windows. Don't think tightening the screws would help. There's just no catch for opening the casement windows at specific degrees. Nevermind lah, live with it first It is good that your reno shifu seek your preference on what to use... my reno contractor didn't ask me what door handle I want for my stove/sink cabinet... in the end, I have a stainless steel frame glass door cabinet but ugly PLASTIC door handle!! I was quite pissed off by him... it was impossible to replace them unless he redo all the glass door... so I have to accept it oh dear, isn't the handle screwed on? unless it is fused to the frame, I thot anything can be dismantled? Reno shifu quite cute... so far he’s had to replace two bedroom door handles cos the wind blew the door shut & and it locked on inside, and 1 downlight cos he damaged it while taking it down before painting. He said no charge, cos he’s has these spare items sitting around at home. He also replaced my bathroom hook with something he took from his home Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2009 (edited) I'm writing this in my new home Was up till 3am last night, and up again at 5.30 this morning, to do las minute packing. Last time I moved, I was still packing when the movers came; this time round, I has waiting for the movers with nothing to do. Movers came at 9.15am, took an hour to wrap stuff, and move 20 boxes, 1 piano, 1 dining table, 1 washing machine, 1 fridge, 2 TVs, chairs, 1 L-shape sofa, 2 bookcases, and assorted small items. While they took a short drive to my new place, I took a 20-minute walk, carrying a couple of breakables, and a plant. I really felt sorry for them, the boss, his wife, and their 2 local workers. They had to carry everything up 1 floor because my unit is not on lift level. They finished at about 12.15pm. Worked hard all afternoon to unpack. Think I'm about 70% done. It really helps that there is a lot of storage in the house, so things disappear behind doors. My house will only be fully done in March, when my coffee-table/seater, and my dining table, are delivered. Son's room My room Edited January 23, 2009 by asianms Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 24, 2009 WAH your room looks good! COMFY!!! Congrats on moving in! Show more!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 25, 2009 Changed bedcovers for the Lunar New Year! Son's room My room Silk quilt covers were from Hanoi. Living room Before After The sofa has followed me through 3 apartments (this is the third). It was just right for the first place, too big for the interim apartment, and now looks too small for my current place. But since I just paid $250 to do a foam cushion insert, and $690 for the fabric back cushion covers, it's good for another 2-3 years, so it'll stay. Sheer livinng room curtains were from previous apartment; I got MGL to alter the width to fit these windows. The length was a perfect fit! Happy lunar new year, everyone! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 25, 2009 too small? I think it's perfect! Happy Chinese New Year! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted February 3, 2009 wow asianms, your hse really looks very cosy indeed with all sofa, cupboards and beds. more pics pls. take some pics of your hallway, dining & toilets! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
flyingballoons 0 Report post Posted February 3, 2009 Very bright and cosy place! Really can't see the 20 boxes worth of stuff at all! You must be really good at packing Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted February 4, 2009 wow asianms, your hse really looks very cosy indeed with all sofa, cupboards and beds. more pics pls. take some pics of your hallway, dining & toilets! Thanks Pinklady you are very sharp, noticed that some pictures are missing . no pics of dining because my beloved dining table is not in Singapore yet. must wait till March. also, no pics of entertainment/study room cos my existing dining table will go in as study table. Right now, it only has 2 computer tables. It's the messiest room now cos there are a couple of leftover boxes that I'm not sure how to unpack. toilets no change at all. Am not a good photographer, find it very hard to take pix in small spaces & through doorways, cos can only capture a small section. Will try to gewt a cuople of decent pix that show more than jus the shower stall or the light. flyingballoon, I have a lot of built-in storage in the house. The bedrooms have full-height 4 door wardrobes, MBR has matching drawers set, entertainment/study has built in cupboard + shelving, I have 2-door full-height shoe cupboard, kitchen has a full wall of upper & lower cabinets; there's also a storeroom with shelving installed. Very easy to stash everything away of the 20 boxes, I think 8 boxes of small electrical items, crockery, & pans went into the kitchen, 4 boxes of books & old toys went into the storeroom! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted February 4, 2009 some pix to share... dining area music corner entertainment room common bathroom with 10-year old toilet bowl & seat! MBR bathroom... all fittings are 10 years old 12 yr-old fridge with my crockery cupboard (it's such a luxury to have a cupboard dedicated to crockery) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted February 4, 2009 wah really envious that your house is in good condition... the toilets also look good. I love the toilet doors. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2009 asianms, for a 10 year old house, that's already very good condition liao! now recession time, you can save quite a lotsa money on it. that's more impt. haha, but most impt you need to be comfortable there, becoz u r the one staying there. u finished packing? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2009 house is actually 23 this year. I'm the third owner. Still have 2 plastic boxes of things in the entertainment room. Son's things, don really know what to do with them... odds and ends like dictionaries, toys, stationery ... Have bought a carpet second hand, $50, to put in the entertainment room. Son drags schoolbag & chair back & forth over the parquet flooring, leaving all manner of scratches. Heart pain. Casement window handle broke the other day. Sigh... THINGS FALL APART Reno Cost Reno shifu took care of all things to do w electricity, paintjob, floor sanding & varnish, odd jobs $2388 Purchases 2 beds + bedlinen (Robinsons) $3500 Computer table IKEA $25 Dining table (XZQT) $1500 Coffee table/bench (Barang Barang) $420 Ikea Carpet (2nd hand) $50 Retractable laundry dryer (TAME/Universal Union) $398 25l Joven water heater tank (Universal Union) $240 Lights + Ceiling fan (Thomson Lighting & Light Vault) $1000 Maindoor lockset (Shanghai Tong Lee) $150 House move $400 + $150 (piano) Softfurnishings Roller blinds (MGL) $1050 Cushion covers (J&S) $690 Re-upholstery & foam inserts $650 Additional... think of changing... kitchen cabinet drawer pulls tarnished, bathroom mirrors has patchy discoloration, casement window handles loose & 1 has broken, toilet seats yellowed with age Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
yokine9a 1 Report post Posted February 13, 2009 Casement window handles are very cheap, 90cents only, just ask your reno shifu to buy for you... as for the toilet seat cover, not ex too, can buy those plain white colour design from NTUC, you should replace the old one liao... a toilet seat cover can last for 10 yrs is more than enough lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted February 13, 2009 Yokine9a, where to buy the window handle? So cheap? Actually, I'm very fuss-free (read as lazy). I thot aiyah, window can still open and close with or without handle, why bother? wait until all broken, then I do something. But good to know where to go to buy when all broken same for toilet seat, not broken wat. can use that's why 'thinking' only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites