asianms 0 Report post Posted December 26, 2008 WOW I just saw your reno costs and I'm really envious! I'm so glad things are going well for you and you found a great shifu!! Thanks pinkpetter I'm also envious of all of you with a much bigger renovation budget and able to create such fantastic looks for your homes. My home-to-be is cmfortable, but very basic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted December 27, 2008 Mine too. just that the home was in bad condition (unlike yours) so I'm forced to renovate. parents loved the place so we bought it for them. Put up before and after photos ok? I'd love to see how the upholstery turns out!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 It's been a very very long wait. I started my house search in Mar 2008, found this house in June, signed the OTP in July but was only submitted to HDB in Aug. 1st appointment in October, 2nd appt 28 Nov. By end of tomorrow, I should finally get the keys. My reno shifu also quite kan-cheong... there are loads of nice people out there who are v keen that I have a new home to celebrate CNY in... my reno shifu, May from MGL, Ice from J&S, Mdm Pang from Fuhua movers... Went to Universal union today to buy Joven JH25 heater, and ceiling-mount laundry hanger Then went to Shanghai Tong Lee to buy main door lock set. My son's choice. Cute, isn't it? Good thing I'm quite chin-chye, so let him make many of the choices. My moving day is 23 Jan, Fri. The next 12 days will be hectic... rushing over after work to see the progress of the reno, taking leave to wait for delivery people, cleaning up the house, as well as doing packing. I thot since I just moved into this rental place last June, I won't have a lot of stuff unpacked (since I knew I would be moving soon again), but that is so untrue Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Wah 12 days of excitement!!! What a rush! it'll be tiring for you! Rest well whenever you can ok? I'm excited for pictures! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 10, 2009 Wah 12 days of excitement!!! What a rush! it'll be tiring for you! Rest well whenever you can ok? adrenaline rush r u settled in yet? still waiting for your portfolio of live-in pix Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 11, 2009 Finally, I got my keys Here are some pictures of what the vacated house looks like: MBR View from MBR It's funny; today was the first time I realised that my unit looked over a school. I thought it looked out on a T-junction. Sort of brought to mind some forummer's concern that there will be a lot of noise from nearby schools. MBR toilet Common toilet Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 11, 2009 (edited) Kitchen cabinets are in good condition Laundry area - need to install retractable clothes hanger Woodframed doorways As promised, the house is in great condition. Everything is less shiny and a little worn out, but its to be expected, afterall, the previous owners lived here for 10 years. The bathroom mirrors are spotty with age, and some parts of the wood finishes on the built-in cabinets have rubbed off and whitened. Reno shifu said a coat of varnish will improve the look, but will not disguise the wornout wood veneer. It's ok lah. Not fussy. I think the before and after look will be very similar :-) Am more concerned with the large number of roach baits I found around the house. Could there be a problem? Edited January 11, 2009 by asianms Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2009 hmm I've been wanting to reply you for days... but haven't been successful.. House is still messy so cannot really take photos of the whole house to show off. haha I'll get it ready just before CNY. Your house really looks quite good. My house is near a school and though I cannot see the school from any of my windows, my mom claims is super noisy in the morning. But since we've lived along the main road all our lives we're used to noisiness. hehe Have you sourced for a retractable clothes hanger yet? Any good priced ones? I hope to get one for my mother... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Angel81 1 Report post Posted January 12, 2009 Wao, congrates on getting your keys! Hee.. so nice of you to let your son choose stuff for the house. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2009 (edited) Your house really looks quite good. My house is near a school and though I cannot see the school from any of my windows, my mom claims is super noisy in the morning. But since we've lived along the main road all our lives we're used to noisiness. hehe Have you sourced for a retractable clothes hanger yet? Any good priced ones? I hope to get one for my mother... I've ordered from Universal Union. They get their supply from TAME laundry system. 4 poles, length depends on the space available. $398 + GST. It uses a pulley system that has a string through it, so must have strength to pull. There are other models... one has individually controlled poles, so poles can be raised/lowered to different heights, but more expensive, and I figured quite tough to manage 4 strings for 4 poles. I don't think such systems are suitable for elderly folks. There's also a pneumatic system. I'm v lazy, I just check the different models online, then I go to one shop, look at it, and if it looks ok, buy. TAME will come and install this Friday. Will let you know more than if you are interested. Do you want one that can go in and out of the window? Mine won't be able to do that. The pneumatic one can. Wao, congrates on getting your keys! Hee.. so nice of you to let your son choose stuff for the house. He's the light of my life when he's not driving me up the wall. That's him in my ID pix Edited January 12, 2009 by asianms Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2009 I've ordered from Universal Union. They get their supply from TAME laundry system. 4 poles, length depends on the space available. $398 + GST. It uses a pulley system that has a string through it, so must have strength to pull. There are other models... one has individually controlled poles, so poles can be raised/lowered to different heights, but more expensive, and I figured quite tough to manage 4 strings for 4 poles. I don't think such systems are suitable for elderly folks. There's also a pneumatic system. I'm v lazy, I just check the different models online, then I go to one shop, look at it, and if it looks ok, buy. TAME will come and install this Friday. Will let you know more than if you are interested. Do you want one that can go in and out of the window? Mine won't be able to do that. The pneumatic one can. He's the light of my life when he's not driving me up the wall. That's him in my ID pix mmm $398 seems ok. I'm thinking of buying the recess area to let my mom install this retractable system so that things will be easier for her. I help her hang clothes most of the time but I dun have the strength to bring out the bamboo myself.. think in a couple of years time it'll be very hard for her. So trying to plan things to make it easier for her. You use liao then you tell me good or not ok? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2009 You use liao then you tell me good or not ok? I will do better than that, I offer you the opportunity of hands-on experience hanging up my laundry Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted January 12, 2009 Wahahhaa Good one! My mom always complains that I don't hang clothing properly. *no standard* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Pinklady 0 Report post Posted January 14, 2009 Went back to MGL today to confirm roller blind. May (staff)confirmed that they use spring mechanism, which makes their price much beter than J&S. Son's room using material at $6.50/ft Study/Entertainment room using material at $5.50/ft Hall area using material at $11/ft otal damage $1050 May was very nice; she tried to find cheaper alternatives similar to the material I had chosen for the hall. She was also very adamant that her staff must have the blinds ready before CNY, tho I told her after CNY was ok. Really appreciate her effort. I also went to MGL for my curtains since my hubby's colleagues have recommended. they are really cheap and provides good service. the person who served me is also May. anyway i am quite pleased at her recommendations as to how the whole look and feel have transformed my house into. But your house is really in very very good condition, althought its for 10 yrs. Can share how much u bought ur unit? and the COV? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asianms 0 Report post Posted January 14, 2009 hi Pinklady, Glad you liked MGL as well. For rollerblinds, it seems like its a standard range of materials available in all shops. But I'm still going toJ&S to do cushion covers, and maybe curtains for my MBR. I like the variety at J&S. Actually, the house is 23 years old this year! The previous owners bought & renovated 10 years ago. I had an interesting chat with my new neighbour, who told me the original price as about $88K, the previous owners bought for $340K 10 years ago. I paid $455K, inclusive of $40K COV, last year. Went to clean the windows today. Massive job; after 1 afternoon, only managed to clean the common corridor windows (with 10 years of dirt on them) & my son's room's windows. Son's room painted. Living & dining second coat done. Reno shifu says need 3rd coat. House looking very bright and airy. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites