martian55

Reasonable Quote For Tiling And Hacking?

Hope I can pick your brains on the quotation I received for tiling (masonry) and hacking work from my contractor. He has proposed using the big 800 x 800 mm homogenous tiles from White Horse for my living room and bedroom area, instead of the common 600 mm x 600 mm ones, and Malaysian tiles rather than the cheaper Chinese tiles. Each tile is some $30 each… so the damage is as follows:

- Hacking of all existing tiles

- Hacking of all my existing L-box in living room, false ceilings above dining room and bedroom corridor

- Hacking of existing study room

- Supply and laying of 800 x 800 mm homogenous tiles with skirting for living room and bedroom

- Supply and laying of 600 x 300 mm homogenous tiles for kitchen floor and walls

- Supply and laying of 600 x 300 mm homogenous tiles for toilet floor and walls

- Some other small works such as base for fridge and kitchen cabinet

Total $23K for my 5-room HDB flat (120 sqm) whereby the masonry cost $18K and hacking alone costs $4K.

Is this a reasonable quotation? Many thanks for your kind feedback in advance!

Hope I can pick your brains on the quotation I received for tiling (masonry) and hacking work from my contractor. He has proposed using the big 800 x 800 mm homogenous tiles from White Horse for my living room and bedroom area, instead of the common 600 mm x 600 mm ones, and Malaysian tiles rather than the cheaper Chinese tiles. Each tile is some $30 each… so the damage is as follows:

- Hacking of all existing tiles

- Hacking of all my existing L-box in living room, false ceilings above dining room and bedroom corridor

- Hacking of existing study room

- Supply and laying of 800 x 800 mm homogenous tiles with skirting for living room and bedroom

- Supply and laying of 600 x 300 mm homogenous tiles for kitchen floor and walls

- Supply and laying of 600 x 300 mm homogenous tiles for toilet floor and walls

- Some other small works such as base for fridge and kitchen cabinet

Total $23K for my 5-room HDB flat (120 sqm) whereby the masonry cost $18K and hacking alone costs $4K.

Is this a reasonable quotation? Many thanks for your kind feedback in advance!

i can't comment on de tiling part since as u mention ur tiles are of diff grade fr de usual ones used. but juz de hacking alone is pretty costly? i m doing alot more hacking including a few walls. n it's costing me only 2.5k.

hacking kitchen wall+floor, cabinet+sink support, living/dining floor, bedroom+storeroom floor, wall panel br2, wall panel btw mbr & store, bathroom wall+floor, bathroom+room+main door+doorframe, bathroom+kitchen sanitary, whole house unwanted furnitures, part o kitchen wall, unwanted aircon+light+window

hi martian55, do u have a breakdown list? Easier to see whether it is reasonable anot.

Tiling

1. But don't forget one thing. U choose white horse brand

(consider branded liao)

2. Definitely would be more expensive than other china tiles. Furthermore i didn't see any waterproofing and cement screed anywhere.

3. Are u sure u want to use homogenous tiles for kitchen and toilets floor and wall? Normally ppl use ceramic tiles for kitchen and toilet, easier to maintain.

kitchen cabinet

1. Then u are using back the original kitchen cabinet ah. Coz i didn't see any installation work or dismantling work for kitchen cabinet.

Doors

1.Your contractor very professional leh. No need to dismantle door also can do tiling for your toilet and kitchen.

L-Box

I see u mention abt hacking away the L-box.... Does your contractor rewire your whole house? Do they redo a new L-box for u? They does it FOC ah.