pinkitsch

Using Ceramic Tiles For The Living Room, Anyone?

hi all

i'd been advised by one of the contractors to do overlay by using ceramic tiles for the living room because of time and $$$ savings but i'd heard of the problems that overlay might cause. Any advice from those who'd overlaid ceramic tiles in their living rooms? Any problems?

btw, he also suggests overlaying the kitchen and toilets floor and wall tiles. He says it's approved by HDB so worries wor. But I'm abit worried that it might pop or crack and hit someone or worse my own dotter. How? Help???

hi cloudy!

I'm actually thinking of laminate too but I'd heard it has more problems than the earlier mentioned like it will pop up on contact with water or leave a watermark. Are you using laminate for your flat? how is it? any problems so far?

thanks for your reply! :)

hi cloudy!

I'm actually thinking of laminate too but I'd heard it has more problems than the earlier mentioned like it will pop up on contact with water or leave a watermark. Are you using laminate for your flat? how is it? any problems so far?

thanks for your reply! :)

I am only using laminate for the rooms. to cut cost. However, in my current house, the rooms are also laminates from Supreme. So far so good, no issues with them. However, if there is water on them, you would need to wipe them off. Do not leave the pool of water overnight.

This is the same with some tiles too. especially those non stain resistant homogenous tiles.

Ceremic tiles usually come in 30x30. Which to me looks very old fashion in the living room area. If I had to cut cost, i would go for laminates instead of ceramic. Alternatively, go for 60x60 tiles that are in the range of 2+.

If you really put ceramic tiles you must make sure your ID soak them for about 2 days before laying le. otherwise they will pop easily. One of the reasons why people choose HOmo for the living.

I think if you dun have pets, Laminates are a good way to go.

Thanks cloudy! I'll discuss with my contractor on getting laminates instead.

Hi pinkpetter!

Did you mean overlaying with Homogeneous tiles? My contractor said cannot leh. I also wanted Homogeneous tiles but he said either ceramic or laminate. Help?

Thanks all!

I won't recommend you to overlay the toilet wall tiles. It will only make your toilet smaller and may have problem getting a correct size toilet bowl (as the wall will become much nearer to the toilet drainage). Also I'm not sure if overlaying the wall tiles onto the existing "smooth" tiles will be lasting.... just my thoughts...

eh? Living should be able to overlay with Homo tiles ba.... can what. got people do... esp since it's on the floor it's safer. But you must check now that the current tiles dun have hollow ones. If got next time the layer below pop then the upper layer will also spoil, no matter what it is.

mm I also agree that toilet wall dun overlay. Cos toilet moisture level very high, the tiles below usu not good liao then if you overlay on them.. your new tiles might suffer.