Hi Everyone out there,

A few months ago I engaged City Design Edwin for my new house renovation as he was quite nice and patient when we discussed our plans with him. As I later realised that he charged too high for most of the items, I went to cancel the the agreement with them.

The ID promised that he can refund me the deposit of $1k in term of items of the same value after seeking his boss's agreement. So I went to their recommended shop to get those items. Later, but I was told by the shop that they could not contact the ID and the City Design is not willing to honor this agreement as they say this is between the ID and me.

The shop could not find this ID for a few months so decided to cancel my order.

Has anyone encountered similar situation before? I really need some advises on what to do next. Thanks in advance.

Obiwan

Most of the senior contractors or IDs who went expo frequently sure knows something abt City Design's history... They always have finance probs de...

Its better for u to small claims them...

i did post before during my id hunting...

A young lady from C*** Design insist on me committing to them before she can give me a quote ! ridiculous isn't it ?

also I was told for my requirement , it will be roughly 30-40K while others can quote around my budget of 20K

Thanks for the suggestion but Its verbal agreement on the refund so I guess there is nothing I can do if I can't prove it right?

They must have encountered this so many times that they made sure people like me can't claim small claims on them. Just my luck then.

I initially found it perculiar when they say the cannot even give me any drawings in hardcopy before I sign the contract with them. I can only see softcopy from the ID's laptop.

The price they quoted are very high on carpentry works. Its more than double. People out there looking for ID please beware of such cases and notice the signs!

Now they even delayed my reno works as now at the last minute, I have to go source for toilet bowls and toilet fittings all over again. :furious:

:unsure: think you cant blame the ID who quoted you so high as he is working in ID firm..he need to markup ???% inorder to earn commission ...Didnt you compare prices B4 commitment?? think there r some clause in the agreemnt tat protect them from being small claim by customer if they cancel.. :(

most of the ID firm dont give hardcopy of 3d drawings unless you commit with them and paid a certain $... they oso scared wait you get the drawing and went ard asking for quotations..

I went to citydesign, they keep quoting me high price and showing me all types of different materials. e.g. Homogenous Tiles got 2 types, one is normal wax type, and the other anti-stain homogenous tiles. Price different is $1.10 per pieces.

Even tiles for kitchen is expensive.. i am abit scared and I am meeting them on Tuesday.. just for my quotation.

The designer also show me people bank loan from RHB, they do the process for them. I was shocked..

HUH some firms process the loans la. but.. HE SHOW YOU people's loan... can you imagine next time he also show people your loan thing?

eeeee horrible la.

I was quoted to lay laminated flooring @ $3.40 psf for my bedroom after I told them that Expo Supreme Laminating Flooring charge $3.80 psf which is true. If laminated whole flooring including living hall, than they charge $3.60 psf.

Any ideas, is those anti-stain homogeneous tiles better than normal homogeneous tiles? I am confused as they are expensive by $1. The kitchen solid surface top, instead of using normal 40mm, I was qouted the 75mm which claim to be better.

nowadays those so called anti-stain homo tiles (high gloss series ) is better than the normal homo tiles as the layer of the tiles already laid with another layer of protection in order to prevent the stain dip into it..

pretty sure that it's much more expensive than normal tiles, normally u can find it at the range of 3.30 per sqft is considered a good quality homo..if u want, can drop by Soon Bee Huat behind IMM to have a look or u can direct deal with the tiles shop..u will save more money on it....pm me if you are interested regarding city..and recently there is a renovation firm at IMM called STILES DESENO just closed down last week...due to insufficient fund to pay for the rental and inproper of management.....just take note it...as i already posted in this forum to remind other ppl ...

Is it advisable to do the high gloss series for the living halls.

I cannot make decision at moment, whether to apply laminated flooring to living hall or homogeneous tiles...

I went Stiles last week.. and this lady named Clement, want to do quotation for me. But I forget to bring floorplan that day... hahhaa.. I even took the renovation package deal paper home for reference... 4rm, 16,888

Edited by kewin

Kewin, pls take note that i already posted a message at this forum to warm newbie that STILES DESENO INTERIORS PTE LTD is closed down last FRIDAY after the operation hours of IMM .if u sign up with them....u only lose your money.............now lots of ppl espcially house owners,suppliers and sub-cons is hunting for the boss. QUEK TIAN SENG ....heard that he is trying to set up a new company at WOODLANDS AREA. !!!!

i already posted in this forum but seems it is banned by the forumer in order to let other ppl aware of it.....

p/s i am not try to badmouthing STILES DESENO, IF YOU want to know, can check with others ID firms at IMM and u will get the answer there..................

I had been waiting for quotation for City Design. Still no received. This Mr. *** too busy. I call him, he promised to delivered today one.. no dun have. I somemore went to IMM on Tuesday to discuss layout.

Again put aeroplane ..

Hi all, its not tad i'm trying to bad mouth City Designs here...

Overall, their reputations is very well known among senior contractors for its numerous bad points... Especially it becums a hot topic in 'Singaporebrides' forum before...

Well, to point off again, a Company is jus the backing of sales done by its employee... Tad employee is the 1 who's dealing everything... Whether gd or bad, depends on him/she, indirectly, the company also can't get unblamed...

(i better stop here or gonna write essays again...)

U guys do the research bah....

Wait, there's 1 thing gd abt City Design... Their quotes r always 'attractive'!

But u really gotta study well, NO VERBAL PROMISES, Ask for black n white!

Edited by de_Pierre

Yes, I received the quotation dude. Was impressed but is there anyone in the forum recently signed up. But I was not happy that they keep telling me, and tried to show me and tell me, to borrow money from RHB bank. I saw IR*S M*nager (IC*) earn how much :P The fact, they show not disclosed customer details to me.