payretep 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 We are officially moving after our wedding next Sept, but I think once the reno is complete, we will start moving in and maybe stay a few nights a week bah.. Don't worry, will not be copying wholesale. My concept is slightly different from your design also. I like wood and natural stuff (i.e no plastics) alot. So naturally (no pun) country style attracts me loh. As for my wife to be, she likes cosy places, so I suppose country style attracts her as well. So i would say its a combination of both bah. But we want to keep things simple as well cos we lazy to maintain, plus it will take away precious nuaing time. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piggiedearz 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 another new couple hehe. ya many ppl while waiting for their wedding, also come stay over a few night a wk too. i've made quite a few friends in our estate already haha. ya me also don wan plastics/laminates haha. yea easy to maintain most impt. we're now sick of doing hse work lol. intially veri on.. now delay longer n longer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 Hahaha.. I can totally understand that even before we start the housework process. Even thinking of it makes me tired le.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TBS 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 We are officially moving after our wedding next Sept, but I think once the reno is complete, we will start moving in and maybe stay a few nights a week bah.. Don't worry, will not be copying wholesale. My concept is slightly different from your design also. I like wood and natural stuff (i.e no plastics) alot. So naturally (no pun) country style attracts me loh. As for my wife to be, she likes cosy places, so I suppose country style attracts her as well. So i would say its a combination of both bah. But we want to keep things simple as well cos we lazy to maintain, plus it will take away precious nuaing time. wah...you really plan ahead, next sept wedding now already got flat. My wedding is in 6 wks time yet my reno just started only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 wah...you really plan ahead, next sept wedding now already got flat. My wedding is in 6 wks time yet my reno just started only. Well, you can say that I'm a typical kiasu Singaporean bah. wahahaha! Congratulations for your upcoming wedding! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TBS 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 Well, you can say that I'm a typical kiasu Singaporean bah. wahahaha! Congratulations for your upcoming wedding! Thanks, I suppose I'm too laidback (nua)... I saw some of Loyd's design, very daring use of bright colors...especially the kitchen. I like the floor tiles which look like timber strips. Initially wanted to use those for my bedrooms but my budget disallow. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 Yeah, looking at his design, I feel that he is flexible and fresh loh. Something you don't normally see outside. I hope he won't go beyond my budget as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
77suns 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 country style-- remind me of a decade back when a taxi uncle turn designer in a week! Back then country was the in thing but i was doing minimalist already. My potential client said mine was too clean and show me a interesting kitchen floor design done by him. Well he actually took all his left over country tile, smash them to random size and lay them. It looks so aweful to me! i had a good laugh and told my client how it was done and went with me ha ha Do get some library books on country style, sure to find a lot of them around as reference. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 country style-- remind me of a decade back when a taxi uncle turn designer in a week! Ermmm.. don't really understand what you mean here. Yah, have been checking out books and magazines on the country theme already. Thanks for your advice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
77suns 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 Ermmm.. don't really understand what you mean here. Country style can be seen too easy for lots of contractor cos there are lots of edge and lines in design so need to be careful and chose good design detail. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 I see. Point taken. Thanks again for the advice. By the way, are you an ID? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
77suns 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 Yes, but now not doing ID a while now. taking a break but still learning ID on my own sweet pace Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted November 7, 2008 Wah so many posts to catch up on today... I just realised.. YOU NEED A CUCKOO CLOCK! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
payretep 0 Report post Posted November 8, 2008 Wah so many posts to catch up on today... I just realised.. YOU NEED A CUCKOO CLOCK! Yep, noted down already~ Concluded the rectification process today. Still have minor defects with the parquet, but we are too lazy to keep going down to the office and harass them anymore. At least they did a gd job of revarnishing the wooden skirting~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pinkpetter 0 Report post Posted November 8, 2008 I think Raffles City there there's a shop that sells wooden toys and they have cuckoo clocks but I think it's VERY expensive... sigh but a cuckoo clock will be so apt in a country house... and the rest of us ALL cannot put cos will look weird... pls pls have one lol I'll keep my eye open for you. hahaha Well at least your rectification is done. haiz I see other people so troublesome. Good for you! so can start reno liao? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites